We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive for too little” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Nitrodi Hot Springs

Nitrodi Hot Springs
Pendio Nitrodi - con accesso dalla Statale 270, Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
081990528
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Park of the Spring of Nitrodi offers a hydro-aromatherapy trail which thanks to the direct contact with aromatic and officinal plants boosts the effects of the water. After having drunk the water and taken a shower, visitors can go for a walk in the Park and stop in the specially organised hydro-aromatherapy areas.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very expensive for too little”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The people running this place should be ashamed of themselves. They demand 13 euros for shower water. In the past it was much more affordable but since it has been privatized the new owners charge what they want and of course the prices have inflated to horrible levels. The owners even make sure nobody bets a chance to try the magnificent water by padlocking every free fountain. Shame on you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDiMe, Direttore at Nitrodi Hot Springs, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
kind sir, I believe that you should be ashamed at first, because you does not have the slightest idea of ​​what our facility and secondly because write a review basing everything on the price without knowing what you're talking about is a sign of rudeness and poor culture.
I will not dwell further we would only like to point out that our rates have remained unchanged since the 2011 period in which the management was still the town of Barano d'Ischia and no change was made later.
All in all it is fortunate that people like you thanks to our rates are not attending the park because basically not appreciate anything and would spend a day thinking all the time about money ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    13
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ogden,Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not really a HOT spring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This very lovely place is not a hot spring exactly. People have been coming here since ancient times to "take" the waters which ,when combined with all the healing plants that border the walkways, are meant to cure skin conditions. The showers, not baths, come out of the rocks along the hillside. You get wet, in tepid water, rub your hands on various plants, and dry in the sun. There are lounges and chairs on the natural terraces. Bring a snack, take the day to relax.
We took the bus from Ischia Porto, the CS, get off at the stop after the town. Ask the driver to tell you. It is the stop after you cross the bridge, heading to S'ant Angelo. Then you walk down steps to the Terme. If you get off in town it would be a very long walk, unless a local gives you a lift, which is what happened to us, neat lady.
Good experience, but not a soak in a hot springs, which is what we thought it was. Wonderful view.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A day at Nitrodi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

The springs have been around since roman times and are now enclosed in a park. These waters are believed to cure different skin ailments, one walks along bushes of fragrant herbs (rosemary laurel etc) to arrive to different springs/showers. We were told by the staff to shower and then let the sun dry us... not so easy because it was windy, but we followed the advice, though we were a bit skeptical. The benefits from the waters were not obvious at first, but when we returned to the hotel a few hours later we noticed our skin was incredibly smooth and our hair shiny -- apparently the locals were right!.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Thought that they were free”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We traveller by bus to these springs under the impression that they were in a natural environment and freely accessible. Imagine our surprise to find a new spa centre! We spoke to a friend from Ischia after our attempted visit and she told us that the springs are actually open freely to the public in the evenings but only locals know about it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giuseppe d, Direttore at Nitrodi Hot Springs, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
dear sir,
we have to inform you that Nitrodi Spa is open sinc I sec. A.C.
Some marble bas-reliefs, dating from the first
century BC to the second century AD, were donated as votive offerings to the
Nymphs that guarded the spring of Nitrodi and to the Greek god Apollo by doctors
and patients who went to the spring and were healed by its water. The eleven slabs
and the small altar were found in 1757 near the spring; today they are kept in the
National Archaeological Museum of Naples (Italy) and one of these is kept in The State
Hermitage Museum, St. Petersburg (Russia).
Today the management direction offers the possibility to shower when the Spa is closed respecting the tradition leaving free the drainpipe (outside the Park) of the Spring (situated into the park).
i'm sorry that probably you didn't visit our park so you can't see the spring.
Many people (included people that live in Ischia Island) don't know where is situated the real spring made visible from 2010 and think that the spring is located where is the drainpipe....but that tube is only a drainpipe of the Spring.
best regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not what expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Perhaps our view of this attraction is skewed by the rain and cooler weather... But didn't think it was worth 12 euro for the outside showers and sun beds on side of the hill. Skin did feel great afterwards tho so there must be something good/healing in the water. Go on a sunny day is my advice!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nitrodi Hot Springs also viewed

Ischia, Isola d'Ischia
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 
Forio, Isola d'Ischia
Isola d'Ischia, Province of Naples
 

Been to Nitrodi Hot Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nitrodi Hot Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.