We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay on Maronti bay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme to your Saves list
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maronti 43 | Maronti Beach, 80070 Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Barano d'Ischia
Rome, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy stay on Maronti bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I stayed at the Parco Smeraldo with a friend for one week last September/October, The hotel is in a quiet area of Ischia and has direct access to the largest beach of the island, i Maronti. I agree with other reviewers about the good service and hospitality of the staff. We had nice rooms with balconies and partial sea view, though I would not recommend these in particular, as they overlook a mobile home park. Other than that, the hotel is located in the middle of a beautifully landscaped garden and the sea view is quite stunning. The indoor and outdoor pools were very well kept and so was the spa. We always found plenty of clean towels at the spa, even when no one was around. The buffet breakfast had a good choice of dairy products, fruit and cold cuts, as well as grains and breads. We chose the ''mezza pensione'', sometimes we would have lunch, other times dinner at the hotel's restaurant and we were always pleased with the variety of the food. One minor issue, I guess, is that some evenings the waiters were in a bit of a hurry to serve and leave, so we learned to get to dinner as soon as the dining room opened. All in all it was a very good experience, I recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with full sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    58
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
81
71
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Parco Smeraldo last week and had a most enjoyable stay. In our opinion all the services and facilities of the hotel may be considered excellent. We were privileged to have the Junior Suite which has a very large terrace with a view over the swimming pool and the entire Maronti Bay. However the seaview rooms at the front of the hotel also enjoy this view too. All the staff were eager to please, helping effectively with travel arrangements between the hotel and the airport as well as trips around the island. I recommend using the hotel's transfer service to/from Naples airport if you have not made this journey before. Food and service in the restaurant was very good. We were on full-board, and the extra cost for this over half-board was really quite modest. The temperature of the water in both the indoor and outdoor pools was simply divine, and by using the built-in water jets one can give oneself quite a decent massage to the back, shoulders and legs, which I found quite therapeutic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostrava, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I would like to share our awsome experience with this place. The entire Ischia island is a very nice destination with wonderful nature, pleasant climate and healing waters. The Maronti beach forms the south strip of the island. The advantage of this location is that you get southern sun all the day long which you especially appreciate when you visit the Island towards the end of the season. I would never believe you can get sunburnt in the middle of October! Apart from a great location the hotel offers excellent service starting from very delicious food including fresh
vegetables, fruits and tasty desserts. The choice of food is plentiful, we stayed one week and enjoyed the food every single day. The room was spacious with comfortable beds. It was clean and equipped in the modern way. The atmosphere is very friendly, you feel like at home. I have been to many places all over the world, here you can feel the difference between the chain owned and family owned hotel. This place is not only an excellent spot for relaxation but also a good destination for active sport. The beach is a few steps from the hotel. It is nice to have a run on the beach in the morning and then have a dip in outdoor swimming pool which has a pleasant temparature or in the sea. We also enjoyed a lot the spa zone together with fitness. The only suggestion I have is to extend the opening hours of the indoor swimming pools. We would have loved to come back after the dinner. All in all it was very difficult to leave this nice place. We hope to return back this year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The best location on the whole island – right on the best sandy Maronti beach. The distance from open-air hotel’s thermal pool to the sea – just few steps. There is indoor thermal complex with wonderful pools too. Guests can get wardrobes and slippers. Food is delicious and excellent – biological and natural, vegetables and fruits -- from local family farm and garden. Atmosphere is very comfortable and warm – you feel yourself like a guest in your friend’s house – not like a customer or client.

The main thing – there is optimal amount of rooms in the hotel to keep such atmosphere and to control the quality in every sector of service every moment.

You can go to the Sant Angelo village by water taxi – 3 minutes and 3 euro. The place looks like mix of Santorini and Los Gigantos (Tenerife). 15 minutes by city bus you can reach magnificent Castello Aragonese in Ischia Ponte.

We had great vacation and now we have a dream – to go back to Parco Smeraldo Therme netx year.

Room Tip: The main reason to choose Parco Smeraldo Hotel -- it's location and thermal pools. So, even room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Generally, we were very disappointed with Parco Smeraldo Terme Hotel. This is family hotel - means that whole family works in this hotel, it is not bad but they are miserly and try to save everywhere is possible!!! I understand that it is hard to compare with for example hotel chains where the financial situation is a different question but this was too much.

Hotel:
The hotel is built in the seventies and you can see it right from the begining! Almost everything is old (exept from SPA which is completely new and superb). Hotel and surrounding is not very cleverly resolved.
The biggest advantage of this hotel is its position right on the beach and a new fantastic SPA but this is unfortunately all I can compliment.

Rooms:
Rooms are really so bad! We ordered 2 rooms without see view because see view is highly overpriced however we didn't expect something so horrible. First time we wanted to see our rooms - rooms which we were given had a balcony with terrible view to ugly mucky yard (It's a pity that I didn't take a picture of this). We didn't want these rooms so they offer to us 2 rooms without balcony with miniature window to yard to the middle of hotel - this option was better because view in room with balcony was just awful!
Air-condition in the rooms were old and didn't work very well.
TV was new with a lot of channels.
Bathroom was average, head of the shower was broken and taking shower with this was a little bit hard.

Sleep Quality:
Beds were terrible!!!
We were 4 and each of us had terrible back pain from mattresses!!!
Also pillows were bad...

Location:
Location of the hotel is the biggest advantage!
Without this location hotel would be under average and couldn't have such a high prices!!!

Service:
Service is also not very professional mainly in hotel restaurant.
I can't say that everybody was not kind and nice but some were.

Cleanliness:
Cleanliness was generally OK.

SPA:
SPA was just perfect, warm thermal water from 2 springs. Water jets in the pool.

Food:
Food was simply tragedy.
I have never seen such a poor breakfast. I think that they calculated every slice of cheese and salami (they checked unconspicuously what do you take - really - we were observing it!). Ham was during 14 days at maximum 4 times (it was too expensive to serve it every day I guess)
Fruit was just in fruit salad which was also everyday to dinner.

Value:
I can compare it with a lot of other hotels (also in Italy) and I have to say that Parco Smeraldo is ovepriced for what it can offer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola_Iacono, Proprietario at Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Mrs. Kristyna Z.,

I would like to answer to your comment as follows.

Hotel:
Our hotel management is traditionally run by the Iacono family, with a profound international gastronomic experience, and great devotion to our guests. We only work with highly qualified staff in all departments.
The Hotel was built in 1969, but has been continuously and lavishly renovated ever since. Floors are decorated with typical South Italian majolica tiles, giving the atmosphere an elegant and authentic touch. Bar and lounge area are equipped with fine Italian Designer furniture, combining local tradition and modern living. The panoramic location of the hotel is only 300m from our private beach: an easy, pleasant walk along well-groomed flower trees and nice beach restaurants.

Rooms:
All our rooms are styled in a light, elegant, mediterranean look, with majolica tiles and bedheads designed by an Italian artist. Rooms without seaview are offered without baconies, but all the windows have typical southern sizes. Our rooms facing the courtyard are very popular, as they are looking right into a rich garden, where Ficus Benjaminus, Regina and Bird of Paradise Flowers grow. We offered a choice of different rooms to the guest, among others a room with balcony facing the hills or the tennis court, finally she decided to choose a room towards the courtyard.
Our air condition is regularly checked and overtaken, working 24 hrs.
The shower head has been instantly replaced upon request. We'll do plan a modernization of the showers soon.

Sleep quality:
All beds do have a slatted frame, with orthopedic mattresses. We are always able to offer softer or harder matresses, same with orthopedic pillows, just as desired by the guest.

Location:
We are pleased to hear our guest liked the location of Maronti beach. The hotel has a very balanced cost-effectiveness, stated by many returning guests.

Service:
Our staff is our pride, highly qualified in all service departments.

SPA:
We are happy our guest appreciated our lavish well-being SPA area and the beneficial thermal spring water.

Food:
For all of our meals, guests can choose from a wide variety of dishes, always with a choice of repeat orders. High quality is essential to us. Breakfast consists of e.g. fresh bread from a wood-fired oven, a selection of fresh buns, croissants, brioches plus toast and whole-wheat-bread, homemade cake, our own jam produced from biological fruits, honey from own beekeeping, fresh Ricotta cheese, a selection of sausages, salami and cheese, Joghurt, different muesli choices, fresh fruit salad, along daily changing fresh fruits. We also offer some warm dishes as a variety of fresh eggs and fried sausages.
For dinner, we always offer a choice of fruits or fruit salad, apart from ice cream and homemade cakes or cheese, plus a daily changing desert from our patisserie, such as tartufo, profiteroles etc. Many of our products come from our own biological gardens near Maronti beach, e.g. supplying a daily vegetable buffet loved by many guests for it’s authentic and delicious taste.

Price:
Hotel Parco Smeraldo is not comparable to most hotels in Italy. No other hotel can offer SPA treatments right on the island’s most beautiful beach, with no hidden costs.

I hope, we could correct your impression of our hotel and would be pleased to welcome you again.

Birgit Buss-Iacono
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spend wonderful days at this hotel. Tle location is unique - just on the sandy beach. Hotel has two thermal swimming pools - outside and inside. The food is very tasty and variable. Plants and vegetables are produced here, on the island, by owners themselves, so they are ecological. Everthing is organized very reasonable, you get wardrobes and swimming shoes. The staff is very friendly and atmosphere is really domestic and cosy.

Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Excursions are organized specially for hotel quests. So we recommend this hotel for those who want spend nice days

Room Tip: It is better to choose rooms wits sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed five days at the hotel and had a great time. Very relaxing atmosphere. Maronti beach is the calm side of the Med. Sand is dark, volcanic, with tiny pebbles that soften your skin, and the hotel have cordoned off a part for hotel use only. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean, charming old fashioned layout giving a fmaily feel to the place, from the service (you're likely to be served by a distinguished elderly gentleman in the morning and find him turned gardener in the evening) to the furnishings of the rooms, the bar/smoking room and the dining room.

Thermal treatments are excellent -and free to hotel guests, with long working hours .They also have a range of other services: medical check-ups, massages, etc. Breakfast is great.

One word of note: when we went in September the hotel was filled with senior holiday makers, no one under sixty except perhaps for another couple. This worked out well for us since we wanted some peace and quiet, but might not be everyone's cup of tea.
Another word of note: the staff don't speak English well or in some cases, at all. Again, this didn't bother us but just to note.

If you're here for a beach or spa holiday, you really don't need to go anywhere else on the island.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme

Address: Via Maronti 43 | Maronti Beach, 80070 Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Barano d'Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#1 Spa Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#2 Family Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel located directly at Maronti Beach with private beach, indoor SPA center wit 2 thermal swimming pools, 1 outdoor thermal swimming pool, all of them in price included. Subtropical garden, recently refurbished rooms, restaurant with typical and genuine Mediterranean and Neapolitan food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parco Smeraldo Terme Hotel
Parco Smeraldo Terme Barano
Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Parco Smeraldo Terme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.