We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cool Italian pensione on the best beach of Ischia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Giorgio Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel San Giorgio Terme to your Saves list
Hotel San Giorgio Terme
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Maronti 42 | Spiaggia dei Maronti, 80070 Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Barano d'Ischia
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“cool Italian pensione on the best beach of Ischia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed in the hotel in August. The hotel is located on a small hill overlooking the beach and the village of san Angelo. The room had kind of a view and a very small balcony. Be specific with your view request when booking. Sea view means different options. The room was small but comfortable. The dinner was a treat: 20 different antipasti, pizza, pasta, main course, cheese fruit, ice cream..., all extremely fresh and tasty. Free access to the spa with hot springs. Mostly Italian customers. Great service.

Room Tip: Request a full sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    65
    26
    7
    4
See reviews for
57
100
20
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel, but not a 4 star level. Rooms are clean but cheap, the sea view is limited to a few rooms. 80% of the clients are old german couples. The spa is quite small and the beauty center is closed on sunday. Breakfast is good. In the evening you can take a taxi boat to sant'angelo (6€/pp/trip) , which is worth. Beach is ok although quite crowded.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

I was in this hotel in the begining of June. Personal is very kind :). Many thanks to them. There is no russian speaking managers. They speake English and Germane because there are many German visitors. But in the hotel is one man house keeper who is russian speaking and could help if you understand nothing.
I like to eat good. I was satisfied.
I had a single room with view on the mountains. Rooms are cleane. The hotel beach is clean and better then the beach which is more close to Sant Angelo because there are many boats at holidays.
Very good spa zone. I am regret that I did not made massages, because another person who stay with me in the hotel and have a problems with her back said that it was realy very good and professional.
Very quite hotel. It is for people who wants to find silence. Hotel has very good views.
It is placed at the Via Maronti. If you want to reach Barano d"Ischia you have to take the bus № 5 and arrive to the top of the hill. To go on foot I do not recomend because it is too far. Bus is not a problem. If you want to make shopping you have to go to Ischia Porto Via Roma. At Via Luigi Mazzella you could buy different memorabilia.
I wish to all visitors to have

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

I enjoyed my stay at this very welcoming hotel. The staff were so helpful and kind. The spa facilities were wonderful and very efficiently run. The food was some of the best I have ever eaten, I love fish and there was always a fish dish on the menue. The pasta was a delight especially the Fetticini Limone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2010

Went to this hotel with my Italian friend from Rome. As soon as staff knew we were not German we were treated like outcasts. We had booked a room with a seaview and were given a basic room on the second floor - no lift so a real problem carrying luggage up the stairs - im not very fit and no help offered by staff, they are very rude. The decor is dated, painted surfaces need renewing, blind was torn, window shutters are dangerous, I trapped my fingers but the staff did'nt care although we reported this twice. There were infestations of ants/bugs on the floor and around the fitted furniture. There were no robes in our room for use in the spa, we had to ask. The "double" room booked has twin beds pushed together, beds are hard, only one extra pillow. The breakfast was ok, buffet , but be quick, very limited times for eating. Same with dinner, you only have one hour, regimented, miserable atmosphere, nobody smiles, we felt uncomfortable and glad that they pushed us in a corner away from the German guests.
The food is good but fairly limited, there is always pineapple for desert if you want it!! The hotel has spectacular views and the thermal pools/spa are good - it is not 4 star by British standards - and on the room keys it says 3 star. There are some great beach restaurants where you can find excellent traditional Ischia cuisine. I wouldn't go to this hotel again unless I changed my nationality to German....if you go here, don't expect to have fun! On the positive side, the spa facilities are great....but don't expect to find a sunbed by the pool, unless you are German!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

Really fresh hotel- looks like it was recently renovated. Very clean, although there was a hair in my dinner one night. For an extra 10 euro a night we were able to upgrade to half board, which meant we had a 4 course dinner every night as well as breakfast- excellent value for money. I hated the old style shower curtains but loved the black out shutter in the room which ensured a great night's sleep. The staff were very attentive but not in your face. Biggest problem here is that all the hotel info and menues are in italian and german, with few people having much english at all. The location is idyllic, and even though it was late July was certainly not overrun with people. The hotel is very close to the beach (down some steps) and its great that the hotel has its own private section on the beach with free use of sun loungers with umbrellas. Please be warned that the area is extremely quiet- very little shops or things to do. If its rest and relaxtion you are after then its the right place for you. If you are into activities and shopping then don't stay here. Tip- we got a taxi from the port to the hotel and were charged 30 euro. On our way home we got the No. 5 bus at the entrance of the hotel (it goes every 20 minutes) and were taken to the port for €1.50!!

  • Liked — Great view
  • Disliked — lack of english information/speakers
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2007

i stayed at this hotel with my mother who has mobility problems.
we opted to get ourselves to and from the hotel as it cost 110 euros per person and that was too much for me. thanks to other the other trip advisor subscribers i knew about the Alibus - 3 euros each and then to the medmar ferry cost 9 euros each ,the trip lasting 90 mins. we docked in Ischia Porto and after a bit of a walk to the bus stn we caught the number 5 bus to maronti - we bought a ticket from the booth costing 1,20 euros to Maronti - this took 25 mins. lovely place right on the beach - well cliff... oh my word, when i saw the steep path up to the hotel, a cable car would not have gone amiss- my poor mum - half way up dragging 2 suitcases a lively young waiter sprung round the corner grabbing my cases - sadly he could not firemans lift my mum and led us to reception. there the manager took us to our room which was thankfully on the ground floor - no view but a pleasant patio and next to the restaurant and pool - good for mum - not sure if that was luck or because i'd called and mentioned mum's walking problem. though the staff spoke barely any english they were all warm and very professional - wouldn't even let you carry a coke to the pool ( and no expectation of tips either) silver service in the restaurant , but buffet salad bar , so 5 courses in all. i had to go to bed straight after - it was like christmas every meal - and i lost weight despite this and the ice cream , full cream lattes,cake etc - you could have as many puddings as you liked - the cheescake and brownies were fabulous. i have to say as a lover of veal it was a little too often served and as i do not like fish ate that but all heavenly - lots of food but well cooked and healthy. some people had full board i don't think i could have handled all the food. trips also organised by the hotel the beach is fabulous with its volcanic black sand asnd free sunbeds for the hotel guests. The Ischians don't seemed that well disposed to the British in general , maybe because we arent used to the thuggish way you get pushed around on the buses and CAN'T get off safely and mention it but the hotel staff were fantastic. lovely food along the beach clean loos. a lovely place to holiday . the hotel thermal pool fab - you can't drown you just float like a little water fairy - though everything hurts when you get out as your joints have been relieved of every burden and the sudden force of gravity hits you - a bit like the after effects of an alexander therapy session if you've ever had one. the hotel has a sister hotel on the beach the smeraldo - its grounds are diving with 3 pools - more expensive i gather and still a walk for access to the bus but better if your legs are dodgy. may do that is i go back with mum - well done to the italians for preserving their country and customs though i am sad that the whole world has lost it manners when travelling - a fact that is invading the uk too - all for the sake of getting ones posterior onto a seat people seem willing to maim - what has happened to people? go to Ischia and enjoy

  • Liked — great staff and food and sea views
  • Disliked — the cleaners not changing the sheets, steep path to hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Giorgio Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Giorgio Terme

Address: Via Maronti 42 | Spiaggia dei Maronti, 80070 Barano d'Ischia, Isola d'Ischia, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Province of Naples > Isola d'Ischia > Barano d'Ischia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
#6 Family Hotel in Barano d'Ischia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel San Giorgio Terme 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel San Giorgio Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Giorgio Terme Isola D'Ischia, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Giorgio Terme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.