We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the rest of Sicily” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Scaduto Residence

Save Saved
You added Villa Scaduto Residence to your Saves list
Villa Scaduto Residence
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Scaduto Residence
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Baldassare Scaduto, 9/11, 90011 Bagheria, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bagheria
West Sussex
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Let down by the rest of Sicily”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel itself is clean and tidy and very good value.

The breakfasts are, I guess, more traditionally Italian with the focus on pastries and bread and no focus at all on sausage, eggs and bacon.

The hotel had secure off-road parking and free wireless internet plus the room has a reasonably well equipped kitchenette and a supermarket just around the corner. Which, after five weeks of paying 70 Euros a pop for four very average main courses and a couple of bottles of water, was a welcome opportunity to save a few quid.

The hotel is only 200 metres or so from the railway station the carpark of which looked to be doubling as a land-fill site. Garbage all over the place. It's like somebody had looted several bags of clothes from Oxfam's doorstep and tossed them all over the shop. Last Christmas.

Anyway off we went on the train to Palermo.

If you ever get the opportunity to visit Palermo then make a polite excuse and decline. A noisy, dirty dump. We had planned to spend the entire day but after an hour and a half we pulled the pin and left - never to return - except for the ferry to Genoa.

There are some nice spots nearby. The cathedral at Monreale is well worth a visit - the Normans were kicking the Arabs up and down the pitch before they came to England to do the same in 1066 - who knew? And the beaches look half decent but were totally packed. Plus there are fantastically preserved greco-roman ruins all over the shop provided you have a car to access them.

The owners were very helpful although with limited English and I had to feel sorry for them trying to make a go of things on an island that has so much of its housing and factories in such a state of neglect and disrepair and so much garbage just lying all over the place that it appears to have given up the will to live.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

After almost two weeks of eating out in restaurants, we loved the possibility to cook our own meals in the kitchenette we got with our large room. The room itself was nice, lots of space and quite clean. Good clean bathroom as well. Free Wi-Fi and TV with decoder and quite a few channels. It looked as if the kitchenette had been better equipped in earlier days, but we asked for some glasses and some pots and pans and got them right away. Grocery store next door, so easy to find something to cook. Friendly staff and no problem with an early check in. Average breakfast, but no problem getting a second cup of excellent cafe latte in the morning. Not quite sure why they are classified as four stars, but we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2011

Nothing extravagant, but for the price, you won't find much better anywhere. Bagheria is a cute city, and is less than a half hour drive from Palermo, if you're interested in staying outside of Palermo. The hotel is a couple minutes' walk from the train station, if you would prefer that. Downtown Bagheria is about a 5 minutes walk from the hotel, with the city center about 15 minutes away by foot. Do not miss the pizza place down the street, right next to the train tracks. Neapolitan style, and among the best pizza to be found anywhere (including Napoli).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

cute place great price nice staff close to Palermo i would stay here again. there are also 2 great pizza places on this street. one right before the train tracks and one further down in the opposite direction. sooo goooood.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

Located in a residential area, away from the town, convenient to the the seaside retauraurants of Aspra Mare, we found the Villa Scaduto more than satisfactory for our first night in Sicily. Locked, free parking. The owner and his son were very warm and willing to answer all of our questions. Although there was no TV in the room, we felt comfortable watching the World Cup in the lobby with the owner.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Scaduto Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Scaduto Residence

Address: Corso Baldassare Scaduto, 9/11, 90011 Bagheria, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Bagheria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Bagheria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Scaduto Residence 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Villa Scaduto Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Scaduto Residence Bagheria, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Scaduto Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.