We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Ciclope

Ristorante Il Ciclope
Via San Francesco, 23 | strada per MURA POLIGONALI, 03033 Arpino, Italy
0776848809
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Arpino
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Pizza, Vegetarian, Grill, Organic, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Description: Situated in the hills of the famous CIOCIARIA, the country guesthouse & restaurant IL CICLOPE of Arpino is one of the most known restaurants in the whole province of Frosinone. The typical homemade food and its personal country style makes this place very successful. The staff will make you feel part of the family and for this reason many of our guests meet every year at the CICLOPE. It's a place to relax, where you can take it easy, where animals and nature will surround you.A place to spend lovely weekends (even wedding weekends) with your whole family or just with a special person. Many activities are organized- just call or write!
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited whilst staying a friends family who live nearby . It was a strange but enjoyable experience . My travelling companions spoke Italian so after some discussion with the owner our food appeared and it was a joy . We had antipasti to start and a deep fried bread followed by homemade pasta with beans . We could have gone on but were very full after the pasta . Wine was served in carafes and was very drinkable and so cheap. The family and staff sat down to a meal at the same time we did which added to the atmosphere. I only say it was strange because I did not have a menu to look at so don't really know what else was on offer . I guess my friends knew what to choose. It was dark and cold when we went but I imagine in the summer it will be glorious to eat outside. As I didn't pay or see the menu I can't comment on prices

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    38
    8
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“an amazing Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I have been going to Il Ciclope over the past 20 years and have some of the best eating experiences of my life there.
the food is simple ,unpretentious and always delicious.
There is never a menu....just plate after plate of delicious traditional local cuisine.
The family who own and run it are always warm and welcoming
The produce is always local and gives you a real taste of traditional Ciociaria hospitality.
the countryside around is beautiful and the panoramas to be seen from the terraces are just stunning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A great undiscovered hotel and location highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Myself and my partner stayed in the Ciclope Hotel in Arpino Frosinone on 16th October for one week. Upon our arrival we were greeted by Sandra the hotel owner and her family, gave us a very warm welcome. Sandra had spent 12 years of her childhood in Toronto Canada and speaks perfect English. Her family help run the hotel and made us feel very comfortable.

The restaurant is very good and is frequented by local Italians and is renowned for first class fresh dishes and local wines.

We found the hotel was spotlessly clean and outside a traditional wood oven provided fresh pizza and bread that was a real treat. The hotel is a short walk from the historic mountain village of Arpino and, the fresh mountain air and olives groves along the roadside made us relax. As always the sun was shining and the whole experience made us feel revatalised.

The historic acropolis of Civittavecia was a short walk from the hotel and has 3000 years of history including information on the famous orator and poet cicerone.

The hotel accommodation was very reasonably priced , also the food and wine was modestly priced and high in quality. At times the table service was sometimes delayed but what came out of the kitchen was worth waiting for.

The fabulous dishes with local produce, the family atmosphere superb wines provided one of the best holidays we have experienced and we are seasoned world travellers and have been guests in some of the best hotels in the mediterean . This hotel is a fraction of the price compared to Rome and other resorts and cities elsewhere in Europe.

The hotel is an undisclosed Gem located in the Italian mountains in the real Italy, and we cannot wait to revisit the Hotel Ciclope next October to see Sandra and the family, and sit in the 23 degrees of sunshine to sample the local hospitality and wines.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best food we had in Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We traveled through Italy for 3 weeks, and Il Ciclope in Arpino was by far our best experience: the most incredible food, in a warm intimate setting. Our waitress was knowledgeable, helpful, enthusiastic, and utterly charming. Although everything we ordered was delicious and plentiful, we also craved the amazing dishes we saw at the other tables, particularly the wood oven pizzas. The home-made bread was wonderful too, as was their wine. They even created a made-to-order pasta puttanesca (not on the menu) for my husband. And the prices were reasonable, and cheaper than many places we'd tried. If we'd been able to stay longer, we would have returned every night.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tex and Eileen Ireland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just had a fantastic couple of weeks at this beautiful hotel and we had a wonderful time, one of the best holidays we have ever had, if your thinking of visiting this hotel don't hesitate just book it. The family that run it are so lovely, we felt like one big happy family, the food was all fresh they bake there own bread and make there own pasta, the smell made your mouth water, they had a great sense of humour, and nothing was to much trouble. The rooms were so comfortable. and the location was great easy access to everywhere, people call it a hidden gem and they are right

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Ciclope also viewed

Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
 
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
Arpino, Province of Frosinone
 

Been to Ristorante Il Ciclope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Ciclope, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.