We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Craigdene

Save Saved
You added Craigdene to your Saves list
Craigdene
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Craigdene
20 Main St, Colinsburgh KY9 1LR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Colinsburgh B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I couldn't rate this lovely b and b highly enough- the rooms were beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and the breakfasts were delicious. There was a lovely atmosphere and it was a brilliant bargain for the quality and standard of the service and surroundings. I would happily go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
27
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Have just returned from a delightful 2 night stay at Craigdene and wanted to spread the word on this excellent little B&B. Fiona was very warm, welcoming and friendly and the breakfasts were fantastic. The pristine Georgian bedrooms and lounge were charming and very relaxing and overall, we were very happy with our stay.

We would definitely recommend Craigdene to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fife
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

craigdene is a lovely place to stay in with great rooms that are full of character and comfort. The breakfast was very good! I was staying with my son and my parents they enjoyed the well earned rest. I will definitely recomend craigdene to my friends and workmates.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

We arrived at Fiona's late for a 3 day break due to a breakdown she greeted us like an old friends, our room was beauitfull and clean, the breakfast was very filling as we were up for a wedding it saw us through till the wedding breakfast. Craigdene is situitated in a wonderful spot for travelling around fife only 20mins from St Andrews and 10mins from the coast, you couldn't
ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scrumsh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

We stayed with Fiona for a couple of days, while I revisited some childhood memories of holidays in Elie. Fiona made us instantly at home, lent us a windbreak and picnic blankets for the beach, and made us feel very comfortable.
Breakfasts were wonderful and on the rainy day, when we weren't quite sure what to do, Fiona directed us to the most wonderful chocolate shop (cocoa tree) in Pittenweem. We later a very enjoyable afternoon playing monopoly in the comfortable and cosy lounge while the rain fell outside.
We will definitely be back and I would recommend this B&B to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sutton coldfield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

A n excellent good value base for exploring the East Neuk. This is a lovely period home which is also pet friendly, something of a rarity in the area. Fiona is very welcoming and knowledgable about the region and we look forward to our return.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

My sister and my husband and I spent 2 nights at Craigdene as we were up for a family wedding in Elie, nearby. We were bowled over by the beautiful rooms, the cleanliness and the wonderful warm welcome Fiona Macnab gave us. The breafkast was delicious - Fiona thought of everything to make us feel comfortable and at home. She offered us internet access so that we could check in for our flights online which was very helpful. The surrounding area is great - we had some beautiful walks along the coast and swam in the sea at Ruby Bay. We will definitely be back as soon as we can think of an excuse to get away!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Craigdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Craigdene

Address: 20 Main St, Colinsburgh KY9 1LR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > Colinsburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Colinsburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast at Craigdene offers luxury double rooms with private facilities in a recently renovated Georgian town house. Close to blue flag beaches at Elie and St Andrews golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Craigdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Craigdene, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.