We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solitude, and nature” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brigand Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anse La Raye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brigand Hill
Save
You added Brigand Hill to your Saves list
Anse Galet 9 South of Anse La Rayeo, Anse La Raye, St. Lucia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Solitude, and nature”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

We just returned from a week at this villa, with four adults and three children (all under seven).

Firstly, the location - while it is a way out of everything, it was everything we were seeking. A former plantation, it is situated in a verdant green valley with a small river below it that empties into a lovely beach. While the beach is rocky in parts, it is predominantly private because of its location. The sign for the villa is missing, so take care to keep a lookout for it if you come by yourself.

It is located on the relatively calmer Caribbean side of the island, about midway between the two major cities of Castries and Soufriere.

You are helped by four staff, of whom one, George (the caretaker) lives on premises. The is a cook (Bertilla) and a housekeeper (Vera). Once you settle on your menu, they create a grocery list that you can shop for, or they can shop for you (for a charge). There is a grocery store at Marigot Bay, and a larger IGA supermarket about 30 mins away, next to the gas station. Since some of us were vegetarian, and some had allergies - we had no issues.

George is the keeper of a whole lot of information, about St Lucia but more surprisingly about the stars that glitter above your head at night. He can also arrange for a local car hire, or a boat if you wish to explore the island by sea. There are two resident cats (keep the mice away), and a guard dog (chained) at the villa. The kids loved playing with them.

The villa itself is perched above the river, midway through the hill. This creates quite the ambience at night when the critters of the valley chirp away. Though we were expecting mosquitos, we were not that harrassed.

The kids had a great time at the villa, splashing in the pool (which has rainwater that is saved and reused). There is a master bedroom with an attached bathroom upstairs, a second set of bedrooms with attached bathrooms downstairs, and a separate cottage with another set of bathrooms next to the pool.

The villa has marvellous wireless internet access.

We had rented a vehicle from the airport, and so used the villa as a base to explore Soufriere, and Castries. We also rented a boat to go to Sugar beach, and for a spectacular view of the Pitons. We also explored the La Sikwi Sugar Mill near the village of Anse La Raye. The village also hosts a fish fry on Friday evening.

I can see this as a secluded getaway for couples too.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just got back from a fantastic family vacation at Brigand Hill! My parents, my brother and his girlfriend, my husband, daughter and I all stayed at the villa and had an absolute blast. Even with a difference in ages of 60+ years, everyone - from the 2 year-old to the grandparents absolutely loved the trip. The amenities at Brigand Hill are top-notch! The staff are wonderful and their absolute best to make sure your every need is met. Bertillia cooked exceptional meals for us every night (and even managed our slightly difficult food needs - one veggie, one peanut allergy!). George helped us make plans and arrangements for activities each day we were there. We rode horses on the beach, we snorkeled, we went deep sea fishing, we hiked, we explored the botanical gardens and local ruins, we visited the open-air market, we ate at the local fish-fry, we played by the pool and we even managed to squeeze in some relaxing time too! I cannot express how fantastic a vacation this was for our family! I would highly recommend Brigand Hill to anyone looking for a unique place to stay where you can really experience all the best things St. Lucia has to offer!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We spent Christmas at Brigand Hill and it was fantastic. The villa itself was a beautiful combination of inside and outside, and perfect place to read and relax. The staff at the house is fabulous, George helped us out with absolutely everything we needed - from telling us all we needed to know about the island to hiking the up the piton with us to bringing by new fruit every day. Having Bertillia cook us dinner most every night was supremely relaxing, and the dinners that she made were healthy and delicious. Vera took great care of the house every day. We were 5 adults and 2 kids and the pool was great rain or shine. Driving was a little tricky until you got the hang of it - George was helpful with driving as well. I would come back to Brigand Hill in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was a great place to stay in St Lucia. If you are looking for privacy, this is a must. The staff treated us like family from Christie and Bertillia's cooking (excellent), Vera's housekeeping and last but not least, George's hospitality. George is very knowledgeable about the island and knows everything there is to do there. George will take you for a little tour of the property which you can see and pick mangos, sour sop, star fruit, pineapple, limes, grapefruit, coconuts and many more. He treated us like family and can set up local excursions and set up transportation if needed . I would recommend renting a car, as my aunt did, because there is so much to see and do around this place. Also it is good to do so because you will need to make trips to the supermarket to get food. All in all this was a great place and I couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This Villa is incredible! Sleeping in the Master Suite is like sleeping in a tree house with the sounds of the jungle all around you. We loved the secludedness of the property and the lovely beach down the hill, and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.
The staff was so friendly and totally pampered us. Bertilla's cooking is off-the-hook, and the two times we had Christie's was delicious as well. They were both great at accommodating Colette's gluten allergy. We went to Michelle Elliot's Pink Plantation for dinner, and while we enjoyed the atmosphere and the food, it was nowhere near as good as Bertilla's and Christie's. Vera is such a sweet lady and was happy to hang dry some of Colette's clothes. And George, well he is just plain the best! He made us feel like family, showed us the Island, took us snorkeling at Ti Kaye and the Jalousie Plantation, and provided us with tons of fresh fruit from the estate. He also made us some local treats and cocoa tea. You are so lucky to have the staff that you do, and we can't rave enough about them.
We hope to be able to visit again someday, as this was our favorite vacation ever!

Room Tip: There is a Master Suite upstairs in the main house, two bedrooms with two baths on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Our party of 9 spent a week at Brigand Hill in St Lucia this March . It is a modern villa with the charm of the old West Indies.The master bedroom has a 4
poster bed that faces jalousied windows that open to a valley with a view of the Southern cross at night. All the windows are louvered so the breeze from the sea
cools the house.My niece saw a parrot fly by on the first day.
The house has a pool,gardens, a long
porch overlooking a lush valley and mountains that are totally undeveloped.
The staff is very good.George ,the caretaker who lives on the property,knows everything about St. Lucia and he was wonderful to us. He set up several excursions including a climb up Gros Piton (he came too)
and a tour of the island by boat.He baked coconut pastries for us and regalled us with local lore. We had a masseuse come in for several massages.
There is a cook who we used for dinners only.She made very good West Indian food.Dirty clothes that went in the hamper appeared on the bed the following day clean and neatly folded.
You need a car unless you are content to relax totally and stay put.There is a beach
10 minutes away on foot or TeKaye resort is 1 mile in a car.The driving is slow .Even so we visited Jalousie Plantation , Le Sport and Castries.
St Lucia is exotic and dramatic but very relaxing.
The boat was actually the most pleasant way to travel.Seeing the Pitons from the water is very impressive.
Our group loved this vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

The review provided by ApexZach is spot on! I wholeheartedly agree. If you are looking for an escape, St. Lucia and Brigand Hill are the ideal destination. Scenic views abound and there isn't a shortage of things to do-- from fishing, to renting a catamaran or just taking in some local haunts-- St. Lucia has it all. Brigand Hill provides the perfect setting for a relaxing getaway. At times, it was hard to motivate to leave the house because it truly has everything one would need-- a beautiful pool/lounge area, patio dining, equipped kitchen and abundant surroundings (rain forest with hiking trails, lemon trees, avocado trees, mango trees, etc). A great time all around--I will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anse La Raye
0.0 mi away
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
Boucan by Hotel Chocolat
#5 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 12 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 400 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
0.0 mi away
Villa C'est la Vie
Villa C'est la Vie
#2 of 17 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigand Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigand Hill

Address: Anse Galet 9 South of Anse La Rayeo, Anse La Raye, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Anse la Raye Quarter > Anse La Raye
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Anse La Raye
Number of rooms: 7

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brigand Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.