We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit to Vogur Country Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vogur Country Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Vogur Country Lodge to your Saves list
Vogur Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Fellsstrond, Budardalur 371, Iceland (Formerly Vogur Farmhouse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Second Visit to Vogur Country Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Once again my family and I were thrilled to be back staying at Vogur! We stayed two nights in comfort fitting a 5 Star Hotel in the U.S. The bathrooms are large and accommodating, the towels big and soft and the Hotel provides a bathrobe for your enjoyment. It was so nice wrapping up in the robe after the Hot Tub!

The bedding is comfy and the linens crisp and white! Hard to leave for the day when you are tucked in a down filled bed. We enjoyed two dinners at Vogur and the Chef Snorri prepared delicious traditional meals for us...one, a local Cod and the other a delicious lamb. Of course, the extensive breakfast buffet had us thinking about just staying around the Hotel all day...eating! The dining area is extensive and comfortable; a wonderful place to meet other travelers, read a good book or just sit and enjoy the beautiful views.

We will be back soon! Thank you Gudmundur and Solveig for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Rooms are available for families staying together, or couples desiring peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    13
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night in May 2013 and it was wonderful. It is located in the beautiful countryside with amazing views. The room was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was huge (which is hard to find!!) After arriving we enjoyed a bottle of wine in the hot tub and enjoyed the peaceful amazing views. The breakfast was delicious and the customer service was exceptional. The main lodge where breakfast is served is a comfortable large room that is another great spot go relax in. I would highly recommend this place and only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a lovely time at Vogur Country Lodge. The owner is extremely nice and gracious, and went out of his way to help us, whether it be recommendations on where to go or helping us when our car ran out of petrol.

The room and bathroom was very clean, modern and extremely spacious. I found myself missing our room at Vogur when we stayed in other hotels and B&Bs during the rest of our time in Iceland. The bed was huge and very comfortable, and the view outside of our window was gorgeous and a treat to wake up to every morning.

The breakfast is plentiful and delicious. Our dinner was also delicious and used produce from around the area.

I would definitely recommend Vogur Country Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Beautifull surroundings, silence, unforgettable arctic tranquility - it's a "Iceland standard" for farmhouses. The same we had in Vogur farmhouse. From the terrace You can enjoy Hvammsfjordur panorama with mountains behind it. From the backyard - hills with waterfall not far from the farmhouse.

Although the kitchen is surrounded by guest rooms, it is for stuff use only. It's not typical for Iceland and we don't expected it. The owner kindly makes us an exception and lets us make our meal there.

wi-fi internet is not available here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Vogur Farmhouse is a calming, quiet, relaxing place to stay. My husband and I stayed there for a couple of days and found it quite enjoyable. The hosts (Gummi and Solla) make you feel at home and have some wonderful ideas of what to fill your days with. The view from the guest quarters are absolutely fabulous. You have hills, creeks, fjords, and of course the beautiful nature itself. It is a great place to go walking, hiking, fishing, and the serenity of quietness. The rooms are nicely decorated, beds are very comfortable. I would absolutely refer anyone to this location if they seek beauty, rest, feeling of serenity, and the enjoyment of the outdoors. Compliments to the owners of this great Vogur Farmhouse..........We will come back again.

Cheri & Matt Ligocki
Keller Texas

Room Tip: always have a jacket with you, could be cool in the evenings. binoculars to see the wild life and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We have visited Vogur several times and each time it gets better and better. One is surrounded by the still beauty of nature, the peaceful waters of a fjord, the large hills behind the farm yielding lucious plump wild blueberries (during picking season in August) and of course, the gracious host spinning tales and sagas of the Vikings who once resided near here. Eric the Red was said to have hidden out on one of the little islands just off shore before launching his boat and discovering Greenland.

Our hosts provided the most comfortable beds and linen; especially enjoyable were the soft down filled comforters placed on our beds for the sometimes chilly evenings. Indeed we all felt so at home and made to feel so welcomed.

Long walks along the seaside or through the pastures during the day and sitting outdoors around our campfire watching the sunset in the evening was an adventure. This place is a magnet for unique waterfowl and birds of every shape and size....We even glimpsed eagles.

The vistas are remarkable here.Sheep graze among the green grasses, ewes nudging their small lambs out of the roadways, and horses roam freely in the hills, all adding to our pleasure. Nearby fishing is available and horseback riding on the small Icelandic ponies can also be arranged by the Host. Day trips to see the famous Geyser, the old Icelandic Parliament,Althing, the beautiful waterfalls, and even river rafting are all within a short distance from Vogur.

Both our Host Gummi and his lovely wife Solla are fluent in English and so gracious in helping make our vacation a memorable occasion. We will definately be returning soon; maybe next time during the horse round-up in Fall.

Our trip to Iceland was a wonderful experience and the people of this country so friendly and hospitable. Thank you, Gummi and Solla for making our vacation a truly magnificent memory!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almere-Stad, Flevoland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

We recently stayed 2 days at Vogur Guesthouse when visiting the west of Iceland.

We got a friendly welcome and felt right at home. The place just opened a few weeks ago, so everything there is new and fresh, and the beds were extremely confy. We almost missed a day staying in bed one day.
The landscape surrounding Vogur is overwhelming, with the mountains, sea, and little islands all around. We had some fantastic walks in this beautiful environment and finished off our day relaxing with a glass of wine in the outdoor hot-tub.

We truly loved our stay at Vogur and give it our best recommendations. Great location, friendly staff, with fantastic food and accommodation.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vogur Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vogur Country Lodge

Address: Fellsstrond, Budardalur 371, Iceland (Formerly Vogur Farmhouse)
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budardalur
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Budardalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vogur Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Snæfellsnes Glacier and Breidafjördur Bay, this converted farmhouse enjoys a peaceful, remote setting along Iceland’s north-western coast. It offers traditional Icelandic cuisine, free Wi-Fi and a free outdoor hot tub.Vogur Country Lodge’s bright, fresh rooms have simple décor and a private bathroom with shower.The restaurants specialities inclue salmon, lamb ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vogur Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vogur Country Lodge Iceland/Budardalur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vogur Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.