We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur to your Saves list
Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Budardalur 371, Iceland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budardalur
Barcelona, España
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great location and staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Staff was really helpful indicating directions, hikes in the vicinity and the local hot pots (right next door, but in the middle of nature, a real treat).
It is little expensive, though, but taking into account its secluded location I assume it is a question of difficulties to get supplies there.
A good stop over with nice restaurant and good rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Traveling with my wife and 2 children we rented 2 rooms for one night as rooms could not accommodate more than 2 persons. Staff was helpful and friendly, rooms were small but very clean and modern. Wifi with a charge was available in the lobby area only. Quite far from any town so there are no eating options beyond the in-house restaurant. The night that we stayed featured an enjoyable Icelandic singer who performed in the dining area for over an hour.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed here as part of our two week trip up to the West Fjords. It served as a useful mid point in our journey up from Reykjavik to our next stop in Drangsnes. We've stayed at Eddas before and are familiar with their type of accommodation. So, the usual shared facilities were fine enough, the room was fine enough (with great views though), but overall, there's always a sense that you're paying over the odds for something really rather average.

The food was very good, but it's restaurant standard and priced accordingly. We paid more for the food than we did for the room, which you may want to bear in mind when booking the reasonably priced room. There just aren't any other eating options in this location - unless you want to eat snacks in your room (having remembered to go to the supermarket en route helps...)

The hot pot was very good, lovely and warm and a great view over the valley.

But what cheesed us off was being woken up at 11pm by someone coming into our room. They had the right key and were thus convinced it was their room.As was their boyfriend about 15 minutes later. I suppose that the sight of us sleeping in the beds, with our clothes scattered about confused them. This is not what you expect from a hotel chain, and the fault lay clearly with reception, who seemed rather non plussed by our annoyance.

So, overall, nothing more than average, even with the very good food. Having stayed in 3 of them now, it does seem as though you're paying for the brand and not the quality. Given the scarcity of accommodation in some places, they may end up, like this one, as your only choice to avoid a longer drive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We stayed here for one night, which happened to be their opening night (they are only open in the summer). Our room was nice and spacious and very very clean. Most of the furniture looked fairly new. The staff was very nice and helpful.
Something I found exciting about the Edda hotel chain is that they were all former schools, so the layout of the hotel is a little odd (but fun). They had kept class pictures of former students up in the halls, and I found it charming.
I'm also pretty sure that this was the only hotel in Iceland that gave us shampoo, which was a bonus.
The breakfast was also nice and big.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur

Address: Budardalur 371, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Budardalur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Budardalur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Edda Laugar In Saelingsdalur Iceland/Budardalur

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edda Laugar in Saelingsdalur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.