We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and nice spa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Save Saved
You added Wyboston Lakes Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wyboston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“lovely hotel and nice spa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for one night in march with access to the spa and it was a lovely stay. we spent the day in the spa which was lovely and relaxing with some great facilities, we didn't have any treatments because it was fully booked but the outdoor pool was lovely and warm and the saunas were really nice. it was very clean amd the staff were very friendly. The hotel itself was very nice, the beds are so comfortable and the bathroom was lovely and clean with a nice deep bath in it. The only down side was the powercut the next morning which meant we couldn't have certain things for breakfast but the staff did all they could to get us what they could. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations, Hotel, Spa & Leisure at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    146
    65
    22
    16
See reviews for
29
112
18
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I do have very high standards when it comes to hotels and I must admit I am swayed by looks of a hotel but due to the fab spa break deal we got I ignored the fact this hotel didn't look so great! I have to say we were more that pleasantly surprised and the hotel exceeded our expectations.

Upon arrival we checked in and were given our room. We were very very impressed with the decor of the hotel and the effort obviously gone to modernise the building. We did think a little cladding or similar could finish the exterior off to this standard (especially when lying in the hydrotherapy pool!) Unfortunately the room we were given had a distinct smell of smoke but the receptionist swiftly reallocated us.

Our room was well equiped with a proper hair dryer and iron. The bed was large and comfy. We had a very peaceful nights sleep.

We were very impressed that the spa could be used on the day of arrival from 15.00 at until 18.00 the next day, a lot of spas don't let you use the facilities that long. The staff were very friendly and helpful which was something the hotel should be proud of. The spa was amazing! We have visited lot of spas and this is comparable to the best out there. The changing rooms were large and nicely laid out. The spa itself was great. The rooms were varied and enough to keep you occupied! The hydrotherapy pool was delightful to relax in. Little touches such a blankets were lovely. The time out room was fab with water beds and pods to relax in. A few suggestions - more hooks for gowns and towels as we had to put ours on the floor most of the two days. The attendant said they suggest not taking the gowns into the spa which didn't make sense. Towels are free flowing which we were surprised at. It was only on leaving we saw people taking blankets and bubbly to the outside seating area - perhaps this could be promoted as we would have done this.

We had lunch and an afternoon treat in the spa cafe - the chocolate moose was to die for!! Dinner was very impressive. The three course meal was all delicious. Staff were friendly and skilled. One little suggestion -some proper veg with the main course would have been nice! Breakfast offered a wide selection of fresh hot and cold food. Our only small grumble here was that the juice didnt seem fresh and tasted very artificial.

A 5 star trip and we will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations, Hotel, Spa & Leisure at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed our new Spa facility. We are certainly very proud of it.
Your comments about slight improvements have been noted by our Spa Management. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I went Wyboston Lakes for their Chillax and Stay package on the Mothers Day weekend and I have to say we had a BRILLIANT time! The spa in particular was great- the staff were really friendly and the facilities were excellent. Being Mothers Day I thought it would be really busy and staff told me it was a 'busy day' but what was really nice is it didn't feel like it. There was plenty of space in the changing room and the pool and most of the time we had the sauna/steam rooms to ourself. We had a three course meal in the evening and the food in the restaurant was lovely. The bedroom was comfortable and clean. We also went to the gym as it was all included in the price and again, I had a great time. I would highly recommend a spa weekend here- we're hoping to go back again soon!

Room Tip: The Y Spa is a must it really is excellent! It's actually so good, I don't think you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked the "Chillax Sunday Stay" here for my mum's mothers day present and we have no complaints. The deal was £56.50 per person and included one night in the hotel, use of the thermal spa for both days, a three course dinner and breakfast. Though the outside of the hotel is slightly dated inside the decor is really lovely, the room included. The beds were amazing, both were 3/4 singles and super comfy! The hotel was clean and the service at reception and at dinner and breakfast was great.

The spa was also amazing, happily spent a day using the facilities and reading in the chill out area. However, the spa cafe could have done to have more food options as going down to the main restaurant for lunch in a dressing gown was not on option! Other than this, we had a thoroughly lovely couple of days here.

Room Tip: Make sure when booking that the room is where you want, our room block was opposite the main recepti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel overnight with three female friends after using the spa facilities. The hotel does not really look like a hotel from the outside, but once instead the decor is lovely. The spa is devine and we will be returning in the future. We had both lunch and dinner in the main restaurant. The food was reasonably priced, wonderfully presented and tasted great. The service was quick. The rooms although compact were not too bad a size. The shower room was a good size. The spare towels are kept in the bottom drawer in the bedroom. There are three mirrors in the room, including a full length one, with good lighting for doing your makeup. I would suggest that more teabags are provided although I'm sure they could be obtained from reception with no hassle. I would like to highlight that the willow suites are separate from the main building and so you will have to walk/drive between the buildings if you plan to dine in the main building. It's not far a 1min drive or a 5min walk. It's not far but worth bearing in mind when wearing heels. The staff are all very professional and nothing was too much for them. We had a lovely stay and will return in the future. Regarding g location it's not far from the a1. Although not far from St Neots or Bedford there doesn't appear to be much in the immediate vicinity and transport will be required to get you to the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Fab girlie spa break. Exceptional service made to feel very special. Large group dealt with very well. Food was faultless great quality and choice. Will be returning. Great value for money. Staff are amazing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Spa Director at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I am delighted that you had such a lovely time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A large group attended for our work conference for one evening. On arrival my room was not ready so the reception staff put our baggage in a lockable room and we headed for coffee. At lunch, the rooms were still not ready. Lunch was very good, a selection of hot or cold meals and puddings. Nice fresh bread as well. Around the hotel there were a couple of areas where you could get a proper coffee or hot chocolate from a machine which was a nice touch. Mid afternoon and our rooms were still not ready so at the end of the day activities we checked in. As the main part of the hotel was full we were in the conference training centre which we discovered is a 15 minute walk! It was cold, sleeting and windy which did not help. Once there, the rooms did not have an iron and were very clean but basic. What upset us most was we then had to walk back again for dinner which for the ladies in the party with high heels, dresses and nicely done hair is not good in freezing temperatures and winds. There is no courtesy busses or even golf buggies and in the dark you were walking along a poorly lit road. Fine going as a group but is this safe for a single lady? Evening meal was very good and tasty. Then a further 15 minute walk again home in sleet was not helpful. Not once were we told what time breakfast was served til the next day so by 9 am the majority of the group in the conference centre were refused anything to eat which is very poor for a business hotel. Of the 9 of us in our little group only 4 managed to get food and two just made it at 9 am. The others were ten minutes later and too late. Then some of the group had another 15 minute walk again to see if they could have breakfast in the main hotel but were too late there as well so all in all we got some exercise, were left very cold and the set up of the rooms very basic if you were not in the main hotel. The need to invest in a minibus or something and light up the pathways better plus better signage from one area to the conference room.

Room Tip: Stay in the main hotel and if they put you in the conference suite take a coat and your walking boot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations, Conference & Training at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Your conference was a large group and the details and arrangements of room allocations, etc., were all as directed by the conference organisers. We did make vehicles available on site to transfer people too and from centres, but unfortunately this was not utilised. I have taken on board your comments regarding lighting on the pathway and this will be passed to our Facilities Manager. With regard to breakfast times, I am sorry that this was not communicated to you, it absolutely should have been. Information Packs are provided in all of our bedrooms and I apologise if this was not available to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Address: Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 350 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the award-winning Waterfront Restaurant, overlooking the lake and golf course. It has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home.It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake.Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning new spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure.The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend.The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out or attend one of the many classes. Guests can also enjoy the heated indoor pool.Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi as well as access to our golf driving range.Now open is the fabulous Y Spa facility at Wyboston Lakes Hotel. Y Spa is about health, rejuvenation and pleasure! Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, mud Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Bedfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyboston Lakes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.