We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good standard of communal areas but rooms not overly special for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyboston Lakes Hotel to your Saves list
Wyboston Lakes Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very good standard of communal areas but rooms not overly special for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just a short notice overnight stay. For £10 more than a chain motorway place the room didn't seem overly special and we didn't get a good night guarantee after the room above us had an early start and disturbed us. The bathroom fan was also noisy. On the plus side the spa sounded good so we might go back and try that if the right deal came along.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    169
    79
    29
    20
See reviews for
36
127
20
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for the weekend while at a conference. It is a huge complex l was staying in the training centre, very clean comfortable room with a very good desktop, plenty of plugs and comfy office chair very useful for continuing to work in the evening if you need to. the food in reataurant average the staff not trained in clearing plates. I was told the willows restaurant was better, also the bar in the willows really nice compared to the very basic bar in the training centre.
Tea and coffee machines supplied hot drinks free throughout the day and early evening which was appreciated.
On arrival when approaching entrance from the roundabout look out for the traffic lights immediately to your left that is the entrance l missed it and had to go a couple of miles and turn around at next roundabout. On departure make sure you are in the right lane depending where you are going .I would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations, Conference & Training at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and you found your bedroom to your satisfaction. Your comments regarding restaurant food and plate clearing have been passed to our General Manager at the Training Centre for action. You mention that you were told the Willows Restaurant was much better... I think you are referring to our AA rosette rated restaurant within the Hotel called the Waterfront Restaurant and Bar.
We do hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We Stayed for a two day spa break, and as a previous rewiewer has commented the outside was not up to much and when we pulled up I was abit worried.
But once inside that all changed to good.
Room was nice and clean had every thing you would expect .
The Y spa was brilliant the staff Where so friendly, the actual spa was amazing especially the outside heated hydro pool, we was so well looked after and service is clearly top of their agenda, everything about it was brilliant, the treatments we had Where great, and the cafe in the spa was a welcome break, the different steam rooms Where great I especially liked the salty.
The hotel staff Where also great and I was very impressed considering they all seem to be a young team.
Food was okay, only thing I would mention at Breakfast orange juice was not fresh juice tasted like diluted, there seemed to be to much breakfast out (buffet) for the amount of people, sausages where dry and toast was french toast, I had a better Breakfast at the bar today.
Well done for great service it was very refreshing.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Don't be put off by the way the hotel looks from the outside! Once inside it is a totally different experience. We stayed for a spa break last weekend and were really impressed. The spa, reception area and bar/restaurants have all been updated and are very nice. The bedrooms are fine - not the greatest although the wifi is probably amongst the fastest we've had in a hotel room. Bathrooms a bit dated... The spa itself is excellent - we both had treatments and, again, these were great. The only wrinkle with the spa is that even if you are staying in the hotel you have to pay to use it. We thought the hotel website was a little misleading on this as it says all leisure facilities are included. Clearly, the spa is not a leisure facility! We ate in the restaurant in the evening and thought the food to be really good quality and value. The staff were also all very helpful and positive. All in all, a really good value spa break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed over here for a stay spa, the spa was lovely but the room vey disappointing. The supposed double bed was actually two single beds which were very uncomfortable. When we were checking out, We told the receptionist how uncomfortable the beds were but she couldn't be bothered. Very bad customer service and won't be returning

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent visit. I am delighted to hear that you had a lovely time in our new Spa facility, which we are all very proud of.

It is disappointing that you felt that your comments regarding your bed were not taken seriously, we can assure you that this would never be the intention of any of our staff and we would not want any of our guests to leave us having that impression. We will be revisiting training for our reception team specifically in the area of proactive handling of customer comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked a chillax break at Wyboston. When we arrive we were impressed that our room was ready as it was only 11.30 and check in was 3pm...so good start. Room was on the small side but clean. We settled in and decided to go use the spa facilities as I had a facial booked for 1.45 and I wanted to use the facilities before my treatment. I checked with the lady at the Y spa reception that my treatment was all booked and she confirmed and then said we could go over to Harpers (which is the swimming pool, sauna and steam, that is not the Y spa) Not knowing any different we went over and ask for our robes that we're supposed to be provided. The young girl looked puzzled and said they didn't supply robes, so my partner walked back over to the hotel reception who gave him towels. Once in Harpers, I thought this isn't what is advertised and what I have booked. The steam room was small, dingy and had a horrible smell. it wasn't until I started talking to a couple of ladies in there that I realised this wasnt the Y spa. So wet and unhappy we got dressed and went back over to the main reception.The young girl who had checked us in said "oh you are meant to be in the Y Spa!" Because of the time now, I only had 15 mins until my treatment. The lady on Y Spa reception said that it would fine to go into the steam, sauna etc after my treatment but I wasnt convinced as I was having a acid peel facial. The therapist confirmed that you shouldn't go into steam etc after this treatment, so they put the treatment back to the next day at 2.15. We went into the Y spa and used the facilities which were fabulous, the outdoor infinity pool was amazing!! We asked for a late check out on the Friday as my treatment was put back and they kindly arranged this which was really appreciated. Overall was a nice stay, Y spa was the best bit...pity about the mix up which in fairness to them was sorted.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your recent stay with us. It is clear that there was a mix up in communication on your arrival at the YSpa Reception. Spa Break customers do have access to all the facilities in the YSpa and we apologise for this mix up. We will be communicating to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Visited here on a business trip and stayed over for a couple of nights. From the outside I was not to sure what to expect, first the long drive way past several other buildings to finally find the hotel, looking slightly dated from the outside.
On walking in it was different, it is clearly well looked after and the staff are top notch., booking in was simple and efficient. The room was ok, not high end but better than many I have been to,, the bed was big and comftable, flat screen telly with all the channels and free wifi made it all the better. Breakfast was plentiful with lots of choose of both hot and cold fodder, they even make the toast for you not one of those silly toasters you normally get! We did go to the restaurant and again great staff, food was a little slow in comming but worth the wait and not bad value. If I was to be critical the check out was a bit of a pain, only one receptionist at eight o clock did lead to quite a queue! Overall a good stay, would not complain if I was sent there again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSWybo, Director of Operations (Hotel, Spa & Leisure) at Wyboston Lakes Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments regarding delays at check out have been passed to our Front of House Manager for action. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyboston Lakes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyboston Lakes Hotel

Address: Great North Road, Wyboston MK44 3AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Bedfordshire > Wyboston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wyboston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyboston Lakes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyboston Lakes Hotel is set in 365 acres of countryside, midway between Cambridge and Milton Keynes. It is home to the Waterfront Restaurant which enjoys stunning views of the lake and golf course. The Hotel has 103 furnished ensuite bedrooms with all the amenities you would expect from when you are away from home. It provides a perfect setting for private dining or special occasions, with dining areas and party rooms overlooking the lake. Wyboston Lakes Hotel makes the perfect destination for visitors to the area of Milton Keynes, Bedford, Cambridge or Peterborough. As well as lots to do in the region, there are a wide range of activities for you to enjoy and the flexibility to have your stay just as you want it. Enjoy time at Y Spa, our stunning spa facility, providing relaxation, rejuvenation and pleasure. Y Spa offers wonderful therapies to take you away and revive tired bodies and minds. Incorporating stunning therapy rooms, steam and salt rooms, Rasul, water beds and relax areas. A signature feature is the external hydro-pool and kelo sauna, which is connected internally to the thermal suite with an open fireplace and loungers poolside. The 18 hole golf course is beautifully set with great views and challenging play. We offer a residents golf rate of £14 per person mid-week, or £25 per person at the weekend. In addition we also have a Golf Driving Range. The Wyboston Lakes Health & Leisure Club is a great place to work-out and guests of Wyboston Lakes Hotel can use this facility for a £7 per person charge. Guests staying at the Hotel can also enjoy FREE Wi-Fi across the hotel as well as in the bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Wyboston Lakes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Lakes Hotel Wyboston
Wyboston Lakes Hotel Bedfordshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyboston Lakes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.