We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pit-stop on the Cateran Trail” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkmichael Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kirkmichael Hotel to your Saves list
Kirkmichael Hotel
Main Street, Kirkmichael PH10 7NT, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Excellent pit-stop on the Cateran Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My partner and I walked the Cateran Trail and this was our first overnight stop, after walking 16 tough miles from Blairgowrie. We had booked dinner at the hotel but unfortunately got delayed on the way, as the soles of my partner's walking boots fell off en route (saved temporarily by superglue bought in the tiny shop in the Bridge of Cally!) so we were an hour behind schedule. The lovely owners were a bit worried and phoned us a few times to check we were ok, and on hearing our plight, kept the kitchens open so we could eat dinner. I've never experienced such genuinely warm and caring service before at a hotel! Upon arrival, we were shown to lovely modern room, spotlessly clean with all mod cons and Arran Aromatics toiletries in the bathroom. The dinner was divine - a very talented chef who presented the food beautifully. Nice atmosphere, with a mix of locals and tourists. Fantastic belgium beer on tap, can't remember the name of it as it was a new one, but a pint of that after a long day of walking tasted amazing!

The next day, breakfast was ample - you helped yourself to cereals and then a very tasty and generously portioned full Scottish breakfast (or the veggie option) was served.

It became clear my partners's walking boots weren't going to last another leg of the Trail, so the owner very kindly dropped him back to Blairgowrie, where he was able to buy a new pair.

The couple who run this are genuinely lovely people and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    35
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
25
52
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

we booked in to the kirky for 3 nights the rooms were great and very comfy the food is out of this world fantastic I asked the owner if they had Gordon ramsey working in the kitchen nice people looked after us well recommended

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed our stay at the Kirkmichael Hotel it was peaceful and relaxing just what we needed. Rooms were big and clean, bed was really comfy and the food was lovely and tasty, Christine was a lovely lady who made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saundersfoot
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I made the booking direct with the hotel to extend our Scottish trip! Being Friday and Saturday nights, Christine suggested we have a quiet room at the rear ......job done....off we went from the East Neuk Fife to Pitlochry!
Our check in went smoothly with offers to assist with luggage...useful information about the area ...info regarding dining.... which we booked for a bar meal....all whilst being accompanied to room 4.....lovely.....clean and crisp and spacious....looking out onto the rear garden area....and with a large bathroom!
The surrounding village area was quaint and with a river walk under the belt we tidied ourselves up and headed for our evening meal! Having had sufficient fish and chips on the Fife Coast, we both opted for the gammon......could not fault it one bit! Consequently, we ate in the bar the following night and both chose the burger .....again....wonderful!
The bar is patronised by the local community as is to be expected and the atmosphere was pleasant with many diners and several drinkers....this did not encroach on our dining experience either night !
An adequate cereal choice with Juice and toasting facility was provided and the cooked breakfast was done to order....and everything on the plate was tasty!
Danny and Christine were constantly on hand throughout our short stay if needed and were pleasant and helpful and sociable and we will happily stay again when in the area!

Room Tip: We had no disturbance either weekend night and slept very well and can only suggest room 4 for the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We had a delightful stay at the hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The proprietors were extremely friendly and welcoming. The food was of a high standard - not your average pub grub. The atmosphere with the locals in the pub was also very pleasant. Breakfast was fine as well. We would certainly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

After reading reasonable reviews we decided to stay here and were truly disappointed. The surrounding area is beautiful but the hotel itself is in need of updating and general repair. The breakfast was mainly a "do it yourself " with minimal effort made in dark unfriendly surroundings. The family room although large had the safety catch missing on the window. For a family room on the second floor you would expect this as standard. We therefore could not relax in the room at all.
Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Eight ladies walking the Cateran Trail. We had booked the Kirkmichael Hotel for two nights while walking from Kirkmichael to Glenisla. When we arrived Danny had already carried all our suitcases upstairs!
Christina and Danny are perfect hosts. They collected us at the end of the first day from Spittal of Glenshee and took us back the following morning to resume our walk. Nothing was too much trouble and they seem to be running a very happy bar for the locals.
The hotel was clean, roomy and comfortable. The evening meals and breakfasts were excellent.
Kirkmichael is charming with a locally run store serving teas and coffees and a garage specialising in restoring vintage cars.
We had a great time there and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkmichael Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkmichael Hotel

Address: Main Street, Kirkmichael PH10 7NT, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kirkmichael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Kirkmichael Hotel. The Kirkmichael Hotel is a charming former roadside coaching inn set in the village of Kirkmichael, nestled in the Strathardle Glen in Highland Perthshire, overlooking the River Ardle. The comfortable and tastefully decorated interior offers a warm welcome all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kirkmichael Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirkmichael Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkmichael Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.