We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinetree Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkmichael
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pinetree Lodge
Save
You added Pinetree Lodge to your Saves list
Glen Derby, Kirkmichael PH10 7NY, Scotland (Formerly Nae Limits Log Cabin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Forfar, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have just returned from a two night break and we had a fantastic time. The staff are wonderful and work very hard...warm and friendly. We had a good couple of nights in the bar and met some really nice people...think we finished off the white wine!!! Our children loved it and enjoyed meeting new friends....very kiddie friendly!!! The only down sides for us were the uncomfy beds and everything needs a bit of an upgrade....Also the food was limited but think was a supplier issue...but the lovely staff made sure everyone was fed and accommodated our needs. It is what it says...a log cabin hotel...and to be honest yes the walls are thin but we were never disturbed....we would definetly return!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    75
    37
    22
    20
See reviews for
69
72
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Booked the nae limits log cabin as a package deal with 2 activities during the day, dinner and stay in the evening.

All the nae limits staff throughout the day were incredible. Staff at log cabin were exceptionally helpful and knew how to deal with boys on a stag do! Even getting involved as much as they could in the night.

Although the cabin is a bit out the way, we all had cars and had spent the day up there already, the food was good, the drinks were reasonable and the facilities are excellent to cater for a stag do.

The information that was sent out beforehand could maybe have made one or two things clearer but in no was was any of it misleading.

All in all, myself, and all in our party had a great day/night, thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Just want to thank all the staff for being so helpful from the very beginning!

I first emailed the cabin about a year ago to start planning my sisters hen weekend and booked it in December 2013. At every single point every member of staff I spoke to were polite and incredibly understanding of the difficult task I faced with organising a Hen for 23 (my previous organising skills were limited to childrens birthday parties). We were no easy group to cater for and Nae Limits Log Cabin achieved this with ease!

During our stay we were greeted by happy smiling faces more than happy to help! The Lounge/bar area was perfect to host a group of our size whilst remaining cosy and almost private, the bar is reasonably priced and offers a good range of drinks. Meals were spot on apart from Curry Night which didn't suit a group of hens, however perfect for a stag! This was quickly sorted and other options offered.

Rooms were cute, cosy and the hens loved the rooms with bunkbeds! Overall the rooms were very comfortable and clean.

Thanks Again Nae Limits Log Cabin - hopefully see you again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visited the Log Cabin for a friend's stag do.
All I can say is I was very impressed. The location was excellent, if a bit hard to find, there was ample parking and the staff on reception were very helpful.
The bar is not cheap, but by no means extortionate, around the same as you'd pay in your average city bar.
The staff put up with our drunken nonsense, and even provided us with a late breakfast, after we slept through the allocated breakfast time.
Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I booked this hotel along with adventure tubing for my boyfriends 18th. Although The Nae Limits website has since been updated, it was very unclear to how far away the log cabin and activities center was from one another when I first booked it in December 2013. We therefore arrived in Pitlochry by train and were disappointed to find the log cabin was actually a £30 taxi ride away.

The log cabin itself was not what we expected at all. The door to our room was very difficult to shut and had a broken lock still attached, as well as a newer lock underneath it. Although the rooms are spacious and clean, they are terribly designed with the room next door to ours bathroom poking into ours. The thin walls mean you can hear absolutely everything around you (including people next door going for showers at 12 o'clock at night)!!! However the bathroom and towels were both spotless.

The food in the restaurant was freshly made and piping hot. We paid a reasonable price for what we got as the food was very basic. The restaurant itself had a lovely view but is in need of decoration.

There was one staff member on our whole stay, she showed us right to the door of our room and explained what to do in the case of a fire. She was very friendly and gave us 3 free chips to use on the jukebox. She was also helpful in offering to phone us a taxi the next morning.

Although the stay was not everything we expected we still had a nice night away in the country. However would not consider returning to this particular log cabin in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invergordon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I went there with my partner and two sons the room was very clean spacious and comfortable the staff were very friendly helpful and a good laugh the breakfast was fantastic a good choice and the staff were willing to go out of there way if you wanted something different,I would definitely stay again my sons enjoyed it and both said they would come again thank you for making the trip fantastic look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Most probably the worst experience I have had to date. Definitely not the log cabin experience we were expecting, the set up is very much a room which you can hear every single noise through the thin walls. Shower area was disgusting, unhygienic and dirty. Staff were very unhelpful and rude and after emailing complaints, rudeness still continued. If you want a hostel type accommodation as mentioned in previous reviews, then yes this is exactly what to go for. If you are looking for a clean and relaxing stay, don't book. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, General Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
I would like to thank you for your review and seek an opportunity to investigate your claims. However you already know that this has been done and our responses have highlighted the claims you make are untrue. Not only this but you have carried out a threat/blackmailing attempt of using TripAdvisor to try to gain unfounded refunds. Finally we will be seeking to have this review removed as you were not the person who actually visited our business and therefore have no right to pass comment on second hand information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kirkmichael hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinetree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetree Lodge

Address: Glen Derby, Kirkmichael PH10 7NY, Scotland (Formerly Nae Limits Log Cabin)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kirkmichael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Log Cabin accommodation near Pitlochry set high in the picturesque hills of Highland Perthshire, Scotland. Perfectly situated for a weekend of activity and/or relaxation with double, twin, triple & family en-suite rooms available on a B&B or Dinner B&B basis. Pitlochry - a bustling town, is just a 20 minute scenic drive away through the beauty of Moulin Moor with sheep relaxing by the roadside. The ski fields of Glenshee are also 20 minutes away. The Log Cabin is reached by the main A9 trunk road and major rail links into Pitlochry or Perth. The Log Cabin itself is set in secluded woodland where you can often spot local wildlife such as red squirrels, deer, pheasants, rabbits and buzzards from your bedroom windows. However there are 2 bars for you to wind away the hours, relaxing round the open fire on our sofas and comfy armchairs. From the front bar, guests can enjoy stunning views down the glen and local countryside with food cooked using local ingredients such as venison, sirloin steaks and even local honey from the resident beekeeper.The Log Cabin is dog friendly and family friendly, with a special kids' menu and a play area. The Log Cabin is an ideal spot for adventure, with beautiful walking & cycling routes on the doorstep and lots of fantastic adventure activities offered nearby, such as whitewater rafting, canyoning, mountain biking, quad biking and bungee jumping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Log Hotel Blairgowrie
Pinetree Lodge Kirkmichael, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinetree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.