We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Itison night away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinetree Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pinetree Lodge to your Saves list
Pinetree Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glen Derby, Kirkmichael PH10 7NY, Scotland (Formerly Nae Limits Log Cabin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
A TripAdvisor Member
“Itison night away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Really enjoyed the night away. It was cheap and cheerful. Loved the chilled out lounge area and the fire etc. nice friendly staff. Lovely walks surrounding. Room basic but nice and en suite. :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    85
    37
    22
    20
See reviews for
75
81
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

The cabin complex itself is nice, if actually a bit difficult to find. But there are a series of problems: cold rooms, rusty water, no shower (bath tub only), wifi only in the main area, pretty horrible food (I know, this is Scotland, but still), and you have to pay for "extras" like soap and shampoo. And while less expensive than other options, it's still not exactly cheap.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, General Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Thank you for your response. We are sorry you found elements if your stay unsatisfactory. We would be grateful of any direct feedback regarding the service you alluded to and food as we are not aware of any direct concerns raised with our staff. Please would you be kind enough to email me directly on these points - kate@naelimits.co.uk

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just had a 2 night stay at Nae Limits and all in all we enjoyed our stay. It is not the easiest of places to find, we did rely on our sat nav to get us there. We were not sure what to expect and it is different. The overall feeling I would describe as 'rustic', nice with a few rough edges. Our room was basic but clean with a comfortable bed, obviously not intended for a long stay. The public area has comfortable sofas and chairs but we felt happy to take our dog in with us and let him lie on the floor beside us. The bar man, Neil was friendly and helpful, nothing was to much trouble. The evening meal has a very limited choice of basic cafe type food. Breakfast was ok, fruit juice, toast, cereal (2 types) and a cooked breakfast to follow. As other reviewers have comented noise can be a problem due to the wooden structure of the building. The first night was fine, all was quiet by the back of 10. On our second night there was a group of teenagers in on an outdoor trip, inevitably it was a lot noisier. We would consider going back the next time we are in the area.

Breakfast was ok with fruit juice, toast and cereal (2 types)

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaeLimits, Public Relations Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Nae Limits Log Cabin. We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and that you took the time to appreciate the rustic charm of the Log Cabin. We hope you will visit again - and don't forget to take advantage of your returning customer discount!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

What can i say about this place, the accommodation is great although a couple of extra showers wouldnt go amiss, Tina the Chef, Neil the barman & Sarah the dogs body (joke) were all fantastic, their commitment to keeping the customers happy went way beyond any thing anyone could of expected from them. Having to put up with our stag party as well as another 2 stag parties must of pushed them to their absolute limits, but never once did any of us feel we were being rushed or ignored, for such a small group of people to achieve what they did is very impressive if almost verging on the impossible.

We all had a fantastic time and met some fantastic people, Sarah, Neil & Tina Thankyou for making our fantastic weekend all the better.

Hopefully see you again in the not to distant future.

Paul.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaeLimits, Public Relations Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for your fantastic review Paul. We are delighted that your group had an amazing weekend with us! We hope to see you all again soon for the next stag do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have had an absolutely fantastic weekend. Staff are spot on and mingle with the customers giving help and advice when needed. Sarah and Tina were two of the staff that we deliver with the majority of the time and I couldn't ask for two nicer people to deal with. Our room was brilliant and I was told by the rest of the guys that there rooms were equally as good. The only thing I was disappointed with is that my room, whom was shared by 5 guys didn't have a shower, so we had to use the other rooms for a shower. Whilst we were there, there was another stag party there and the atmosphere was fantastic, no bad vibes whatsoever. I would probably revisit, but is very unlikely, not because of anything bad, just the fact it took us 6 hours drive too get there, but I would seriously recommend others too do so, and if you do decide to visit, go quad biking and river Tummel rafting, you won't be disappointed. And too finish, a little note to Sarah, remember the secret knock! Ha ha ha ha x

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaeLimits, General Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Hi Chris
Thank you so much for your positive response. The Cabin staff all enjoyed the company of your group very much and hope you will all return soon. Sarah passes on her regards and since it was her first weekend with us, is over the moon to hear good reviews.

If you are passing again, you know where we are !
Best regards
The Nae Limits and Log Cabin team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

My wife and I are both registered disabled , aged 74 & 73 resp. It was a beautiful day when we were driving up to Nae Limits and my wife said she was looking forward to sitting outside our cabin to enjoy the sun. We, like another 2 couples, were under the impression that we were to be in an individual log cabin. Sad to say the accomodation consists of one large log cabin with rooms for visitors. The name of the accomodation is The Log Cabin and is no use unless you are of the fit set. although there is no transport to the activities. There is no chair in the bedroom nor any wardrobe to hang clothes up ( we left everything in our case ). On entering the bathroom we were shocked to find no glass or plastic tumble nor soap to wash our hands only a notice itemising the prices of toiletries etc. if we wished to purchase anything. On going for an evening meal we found the table to be sticky, the napkins stuck to the table and the place-mat had to be prised from its position. We had paid £25 for the meal which was just palatable ( we were told later that we should have been given a dessert which was not offered, nor was any dessert cutlery laid out.) Lights in the bar area were damaged and the pine wood was seriously marked needing work done. We were told that the water was off the hills not to drink it but there was bottled water in the bar. The bedroom had a funny smell and was in neglect. If your order said you were going to Nae Limits Log Cabin would you not expect to be in your own log cabin ? The company are now stating that the accomodation is classed as 3* Activity Centre . Nowhere was this stated in any of our correspondence or we as disabled people would not have attended . We had booked for 2 nights but as this total break was well below our standards we left after 1 night.

Room Tip: Book elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaeLimits, General Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry the Cabin did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately there have been only a few customers in the past that have made the assumption that these are individual cabins. We have analysed our marketing/advertising on many occasions and can find nothing that implies we have individual cabin's for rent. In fact we make it very clear that there is a bistro and bar in the building and clearly we could not do that in self catering Cabins. The cabin has been "As you pointed out" regraded by ourselves as Activity Accommodation to reflect the fact that it is NOT a hotel with fully serviced rooms but more akin to a high end bunk house, adventure lodge.

We rely on our customers doing their due diligence before arrival and cannot be held responsible if the make the wrong assumptions and consequently disappoint themselves.

This building services the accommodation side of our adventure activity customers as well as providing a cosy, shabby chic stop over for the more active outdoor type and families.

The deal that you bought had a £12.50 allocation for the food element for the two people, this does not include a desert I'm afraid. The point you have raised ref the tables: We have investigated this and it would appear this is correct, the new chemical applied to sterilise the tables has reacted with the varnish and caused it to turn tacky. Unfortunately this gives the impression that the tables have not been cleaned but we can assure you they have.

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay, I am afraid that the deal you were on for £35 per night we feel fairly reflects a stay in our Cabin. We apologise that it was not as you expected but can assure you that we carefully market to customers that the cabin is cosy and Activity Graded and sadly feel it is unfair that your views on Trip Advisor are so scathing when 90% of our customers have a great time.

If you feel you would like to contact me directly, please do so : kate@naelimits.co.uk

Regards
Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were given an it is on voucher as a gift and picked glorious weather to have our two night stay. There are some definite plus points the location is great, fabulous for walking, and central to glenshee, Pitlochry and even Aberfeldy. The bed was clean and comfy enough, the views from restaurant are lovely, the hotel is very dog friendly even serving breakfast in the bar area if you had a dog, as they are not allowed in the restaurant. All the staff we dealt with were friendly and helpful, we had one evening meal and although a limited menu, off peak I expect, it was hot tasty and good portions. Breakfast was the same good, hot and tasty, and bacon that tasted like bacon- yes it really is worth a mention!
Drawbacks as mentioned elsewhere the room did smell damp - I am suspecting due to the shower area I. The ensuite being wood which did have water staining and damp etched into it, now don't get me wrong it wasn't impossible to deal with and we left the with does open when we went out for the day and it was much better the 2nd night. And our 2nd prob, which really can't be the hotels fault, our neighbors on the 2nd night snored for Britain, so much so, that despite having had a glass or two of wine, we were both wakened by the grunts and snorts of next doors snoring and it actually was so loud it was high impossible to get back to sleep! As I say not really the hotels fault though!
So in summary good food, great staff, fabulous location, a bit musty, thin walls made of wood which resonate sound, ideal base for walkers and outdoors folks, dog friendly

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaeLimits, Public Relations Manager at Pinetree Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Nae Limits Log Cabin. We are pleased to hear that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. We are aware of the issues you have pointed out and are looking into solutions - ear plugs being the main one. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pinetree Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinetree Lodge

Address: Glen Derby, Kirkmichael PH10 7NY, Scotland (Formerly Nae Limits Log Cabin)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kirkmichael
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kirkmichael
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinetree Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable Log Cabin accommodation near Pitlochry set high in the picturesque hills of Highland Perthshire, Scotland. Perfectly situated for a weekend of activity and/or relaxation with double, twin, triple & family en-suite rooms available on a B&B or Dinner B&B basis. Pitlochry - a bustling town, is just a 20 minute scenic drive away through the beauty of Moulin Moor with sheep relaxing by the roadside. The ski fields of Glenshee are also 20 minutes away. The Log Cabin is reached by the main A9 trunk road and major rail links into Pitlochry or Perth. The Log Cabin itself is set in secluded woodland where you can often spot local wildlife such as red squirrels, deer, pheasants, rabbits and buzzards from your bedroom windows. However there are 2 bars for you to wind away the hours, relaxing round the open fire on our sofas and comfy armchairs. From the front bar, guests can enjoy stunning views down the glen and local countryside with food cooked using local ingredients such as venison, sirloin steaks and even local honey from the resident beekeeper.The Log Cabin is dog friendly and family friendly, with a special kids' menu and a play area. The Log Cabin is an ideal spot for adventure, with beautiful walking & cycling routes on the doorstep and lots of fantastic adventure activities offered nearby, such as whitewater rafting, canyoning, mountain biking, quad biking and bungee jumping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pinetree Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Log Hotel Blairgowrie
Pinetree Lodge Kirkmichael, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinetree Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.