We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Educational, informative and plenty to amuse” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Observatory Science Centre

The Observatory Science Centre
Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN27 1RN, England
01323 832731
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Science Museums
Attraction Details
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Educational, informative and plenty to amuse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Having been in Eastbourne over the weekend, we took the short trip to the Observatory today really on a whim. But I am very glad we did. Three of us (a difficult to please 13 year old plus parents) all thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very warm and friendly. Luke in particular was really helpful, enthusiastic and knowledgeable as he gave talks in the observatories themselves then made himself available for questions around the centre. Loads to do- lots of interactive games, not just 'space' related but also science and a brilliant electronics section where you can spend a good hour or so getting various shocks and sparks! I really enjoyed that! A great activity centre for kids, super water-themed games for all ages- I really don't understand why a couple of people said this is only for young kids. You don't need to be a space-fanatic to enjoy this centre. Oh and take a look at the fish in the pond- very impressive!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joharris5, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic review. We aim to offer something for everyone, including the 'difficult to please' teenagers (!). The koi carp and spectacular water lilies are appreciated by many and we are endeavouring to plant our beds, borders and pots with plants to attract pollinators, adding another dimension of science to The Centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Worthing
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Grandchildren with Curiosity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

If you are a budding Astronomer Royal or want to be at the edge of Astrophysics then get on a plane to the Azores or Chile.
If you have a collection of grandchildren / children who need entertaining and stimulation of the curiosity gene this is the place for you. Having said this there are also events for the more senior people with various courses / events.
The venue is science based so don't expect a pure experience based on astronomy. Most of the 'learning' is hands on for young people, There are short lectures on the telescopes but as this country seems to be getting devoid of budding astronomers prepared to learn the basics on old equipment with less than perfect weather, (wimps) the telescopes are now only used for 'recreational' viewing and receive no funding other than the income from visitors.
Our visit was great, the staff are knowledgeable and very helpful. The Gift shop is not overpriced and has some interesting material.
If ratings were given on the sight of happy and engaged children this has to be 15/10.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joharris5, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Wow! 15/10.... Thank you for your rating.
We aim to offer many aspects of science, alongside our strong astronomy emphasis.
We hope you will have the opportunity to visit on an open evening and actually view through the historic telescopes as the astronomers once did.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Herstmonceaux Science Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We went, as a family, to the open day at Herstmonceaux Science Park. There were outside activities for the children to explore and do experiments with. Inside there were even more science experiments and information about how the earth was formed, etc. As it got dark the observatories were opened. Most had displays about astronomy, telescopes and more. At one the telescope was centred on Saturn and its rings and we could observe this. We were lucky that the international space station went overhead on that evening as well. The little shop was full of exciting things to buy and most at a very reasonable fee. There was a small cafe at which we could buy hot and cold drinks and something to eat. Everyone was very welcoming and we had a great time. We plan to come for the whole day next time there is an open day!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joharris5, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
We are pleased you had a good visit and enjoyed clear skies for viewing Saturn. The rings are a truly amazing sight, especially for first 'viewers'.
The Centre is open daily from the beginning of February to end of November, plus a few winter weekends and many open evenings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

A really good day was spent here, during the summer holidays there are special shows laid on, for children so if you are looking for a place to take the kids (best for ages 5 onwards although there were adults couples like us, who had a great time too!!) try this.
There is a little cafe there or lots of places for picnics if weather permits, indoor & outdoor things to do, lots of hands on.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joharris5, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. We present Spectacular Science Shows during each school holiday, and aim to offer different topics throuighout the year, so we hope you can visit again for more scince fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good for children and adults alike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a rather wet day, but there's plenty to do inside and the children had fun outside even in the rain. There's s good variety of exhibitions and themed interactive exhibits, we enjoyed the one on light the most as well as the puzzles.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joharris5, Manager at The Observatory Science Centre, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments. The Centre is fortunate to have both indoor and outdoor spaces, so there really is something for everyone- no matter what the weather!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Observatory Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Observatory Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Observatory Science Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Observatory Science Centre to your Saves list