We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 15th century house.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cleavers Lyng

Save Saved
You added Cleavers Lyng to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cleavers Lyng
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN271QJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Herstmonceux B&B and Inns
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely 15th century house.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The owner was very helpful and we had a room overlooking the beautiful countryside. We only wish that it had been summer as the rooms get rather cold at night. The breakfast was the best we have ever received in either a B&B or hotel. As someone else said it was like staying in a home, there was plenty of room to sit and have a chat and drink in front of a log fire. The bedding and towels were a very good quality. Beware the sat nav's take you down some very narrow and dirty lanes.

Room Tip: "Sunny" room has a good view with a king size bed but the shower room is rather small. Ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Cleavers Lyng.
The Sunny Room is our smallest double room, however it does have a king size bed and beautiful views. Hence why this room is the cheapest in our price range. WE have very many people coming back to this room year after year so do not be put off by the small shower room. The bedroom is not actually that small either.
My concern is that you felt cold during the night, once we get to the cold season or cooler temperature we leave the heating on all night, the rooms get rather hot which is why we have thermostatic control on the radiators. I cannot remember when you came to stay but I can only apologize if we failed to turn on the night time heating for you, please always tell us if you are feeling a little chilly, we can always provide extra heating if necessary. We close here anyhow during the worst of the winter months , December, Jan and February and sometimes during November. I do hope we get to meet you again and this time keep you toasty warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    18
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
10
72
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This place was superb. My initial and continuing feeling was that we had just walked into someone's house (I know that is actually the case but bear with me!), we had a very warm welcome by the owner and entered into a stunning dining area. Now the reason I say it felt like someone's home is that the only things to hint that it was a B&B were some local event leaflets on a windowsill and a TripAdvisor certificate on a display cabinet. Apart from that, there was no indication that this was a B&B and in my opinion; that is great! It was like we had be welcomed into someone's home rather than them just receiving our custom.

We we told honest information about the local places to eat and visit and in the room was a big binder with further information on places.
The room was gorgeous (and now the other half wants a Four Poster bed) and well stocked with "niceties" (toiletries, tea, coffee, biscuits, mints, bottled water).
The house itself is stunning and outside has a lovely little seating area to stare out over the fields.
Would definitely recommend and if we ever stay in the area again, we will be staying there!

Room Tip: The Four Poster bed is lush!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your nice review, thank goodness we at least get some reviews with 5 stars, we get hundreds of people staying each year and raving about Cleavers Lyng and do not write a review so it is good to see one that ticks all the boxes. We hope to see you again one of these days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed for two nights and enjoyed the location and found the room comfortable and breakfast generous. However, two little niggles maybe worth a mention......As soon as we arrived we were asked to settle up which we thought a little strange. The lady owner appeared rather cold towards us and kept the conversation at breakfast as brief as possible! Otherwise a very nice place to relax and unwind in a lovely setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleaverslyng11, Owner at Cleavers Lyng, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am sorry that you found me lukewarm in my welcome, I find this strange since I thought I gave the same welcome to everybody and when you read our guest book , nearly every comment is very friendly hosts etc. etc. I often have very long chats with guests and always welcome a good conversation with all of the interesting people we get here at Cleavers Lyng.
I am beginning to think that I need to do a song and dance act now on customers arrival to make it that little more special !Breakfast is a especially busy time and I do not always have the time to have long chats, and a lot of people prefer to relax at breakfast without being disturbed. But seriously if this is the way I made you feel I am really very very sorry for this, believe me I have had many a sleepless night because of your review, and it has taken me time to respond to it, because I have been really upset by it, it is never nice to have something written about yourself on a so very public forum.
As far as the payment is concerned , this always a problem whichever way we do it, some Hotels, B&Bs charge in advance of the guests arrival, some at the end of the stay and we have found that charging on arrival is the best way, the reason being is that our busiest night is normally a Saturday and most time guests check out on a Sunday morning, the busiest breakfast day, some people like to eat breakfast early and then leave early, this can often be at the same time as we are trying to serve breakfasts, the guests waiting for breakfast to be served get impatient waiting for guest checking out and the guests wanting to check out feel awkward paying in front of people eating especially if their card gets rejected (which happens a lot) or if there is a query with the bill, so we now charge at the beginning of the stay so that the guests gets privacy when paying, can have time to digest the bill and on leaving has not got the problem of paying with other guests around. I hope that this explanation helps you to understand why we do it this way.
Other then that I am pleased that everything else was to your liking. I do hope we can meet again to that I can redeem myself in your eyes - I hope !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Spouse and I stayed here for one night to visit nearby Herstmonceux Observatories, where we had a good visit too. Thought it a little costly for the night we spent but we did enjoy the tranquil garden and unusual house.
We had a little difficulty finding our way here with our ancient SatNav.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Cleavers Lyng for 2 nights and it was a wonderful experience. Before entering the house, first thing you will notice is the beautiful garden and wonderful English country scene! The bed is very comfortable, and the breakfast is very tasty. It is just next to the Hertsmonceux castle. There is also an old church within walking distance to visit. The hosts are friendly and helpful, and their dogs are very very cute! The house was built in 16th century, so it is old and may not be that updated. But I think this is actually the unique part about it. The roof could be low for tall people, and occasionally you will find some spot with some dust or spider web, but overall, for a hundreds-year old building, I would say it is fairly clean and well maintained. The only thing made me a bit uncomfortable is the long mirror just outside our bathroom in the hall way. It was a bit dusty and foggy, plus the fact that the house is so old, sometimes it did make me nervous...but I assume that is just because I am not a brave girl. And no, we checked, there is no ghost in this old house. ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Beautiful house and gardens, very tranquil with amazing views. Nicely presented rooms and excellent breakfast cooked to order, delicious. The pet dogs are delightful. Paying cash results in 5%discount.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel have great views over rolling countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

A realy tranquil setting with views across the Pevensey Levels. Our room (The Sunny Room) had a double aspect so was indeed sunny and airy.
Breakfasts were excellent with a choice of fruit, ceraeals, juices and pastries including home made banan loaf to start follwed by FEB,continental hams and cheeses, smoked salmon & scrambled egg or omelette.
Very dog friendly (the owners have three small terriers) but standards of comfort and cleanlines were much more than you would expect.
Helpful hints as to what is on offer locally which was faultless.
Quiete and unobtrussive a real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cleavers Lyng? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleavers Lyng

Address: Church Road, Herstmonceux, Hailsham BN271QJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Hailsham > Herstmonceux
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Herstmonceux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cleavers Lyng 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cleavers Lyng is a unique grade II listed luxury country house of considerable charm and character dating back to 1577. A 4 star recommended AA property, privately owned and operated. The house is situated in a quiet country lane, a 5 min walk to Herstmonceux Castle or 1.5 miles from Herstmonceux Village and benefits from panoramic uninterrupted views over the Pevensey flats towards the South Downs. We are an ideal location for the Sussex Weald. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Cleavers Lyng reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleavers Lyng Herstmonceux, England, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cleavers Lyng, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.