We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful location near Heathrow” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Guest House

Save Saved
You added The Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Cottage Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranford B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
“Peaceful location near Heathrow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I'm giving this guest house 4 stars because it was unexpectedly good. I was stuck in Heathrow overnight due to snow, found this guest house on last minute.com, booked then phoned to say I'd be late arriving, they sent a taxi to meet me, gave me a warm welcome and showed me to a warm, comfortable, large room off the courtyard which was absolutely spotless. In the morning, I had a quick breakfast in the bright breakfast room which overlooks the courtyard, whilst waiting for my cab which again they organised for me. This is not the sort of place I would ever look for but after this experience, I'd happily recommend it and would stay again. It's particularly handy for Terminal 1.

Room Tip: I think the rooms off the courtyard will be quieter than those in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
21
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Princeville, Hawaii
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed there for a night when traveling from Heathrow airport. It is just a few minutes away with a cab from the terminals. Nice, quiet and small place, perfect to have a rest and relax. The breakfast was good as in most B&Bs… Otherwise nothing special to offer.

Room Tip: Mine was right next to the reception and would not recommend it, as other guest might leave early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed over night before long flight and had a long drive to get there due to weather conditions so appreciated the friendly greeting. Room warm and clean with coffee making facilities and comfortable bed. Lovely gardens. Recommend The Queens Head opposite for a no nonsense home cooked evening meal. Typical London local. Meal for two including drinks under £20 !! Highly recommend. The Cottage is located behind other properties so tricky to find. It is between a row of terraced houses and a pub down a drive. Look for the metal gates!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cottage Guest House offered accommodation close to Heathrow airport. We also enjoyed the secure and complimentary parking offered. Had we had the opportunity to stay longer, the gardens looked quite lovely. The check out process was easy and convenient for our early departure to catch a flighlt. There is a great pub nearby to enjoy a meal.

It was a bit difficult to locate the Cottage Guest House as it is set back from the road. Additional signage might be beneficial. It would also have been nice to have some continental breakfast items available in the room as our very early departure did not allow us to enjoy the included breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice and quiet rooms, all facing a beautiful garden you can sit in with apple and plum trees. Top security, with locked gate (opened either with your key or the staff). Rooms are comfortable, with fridge, but windows are the kind that only open from bottom out and so the room was a little hot when we went to bed (cooled down as it cooled down outside, but I'd hate to be here on a hot summer's day).
Breakfast was good, but no selection of fruit other than a plate of bananas, and cereal is only corn flakes. Breakfast room is very bright and welcoming.
Reception gentleman was very friendly and check-in was fast.
Close to airport, but there's no bus to the B&B, so you have to order a taxi from West Hounslow station, which is a bit of a nuisance.
Rates were much cheaper booking through booking.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room was nice and clean, overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was rather big. Breakfast, served in a very nice conservatory overlooking the garden, was very nice. The manager was very kind and helpful. Definitely a handy place when you have to catch an early flight or arrive late at night.

On the negative side the map on Booking.com's website wasn't very clear, it appeared that the guesthouse was located in Hounslow, so we took the tube to Hounslow West, only to discover that it is infact in Cranford, which is a different place, so after asking a lot of people (even the Police) which bus we could take, and having received so many different answers, we ended up calling a taxi, so we spent a total of £ 18,60 to travel the few kilometres from Heathrow Airport. Anyway, it appears to us that this is Booking.com's fault rather than the guesthouse's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having had two previous 'disastrous' stop overs in Travelodge, this was so much better! The staff were very pleasant & welcoming, and the room was very nice, with a proper bed for our teenage son, not a sofa bed. The room & en-suite were very clean, nicely decorated & furnished, and had everything we needed. The beds were also comfortable, not sagging and worn out! Would definitely recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Guest House

Address: 150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Cranford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Guest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Guest House Hotel Cranford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.