We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet with lovely gardens” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cottage Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Cottage Guest House to your Saves list
The Cottage Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cranford B&B and Inns
Stafford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet with lovely gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Stayed over night before long flight and had a long drive to get there due to weather conditions so appreciated the friendly greeting. Room warm and clean with coffee making facilities and comfortable bed. Lovely gardens. Recommend The Queens Head opposite for a no nonsense home cooked evening meal. Typical London local. Meal for two including drinks under £20 !! Highly recommend. The Cottage is located behind other properties so tricky to find. It is between a row of terraced houses and a pub down a drive. Look for the metal gates!

Room Tip: We stayed in the annex. Nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    26
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
21
8
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Cottage Guest House offered accommodation close to Heathrow airport. We also enjoyed the secure and complimentary parking offered. Had we had the opportunity to stay longer, the gardens looked quite lovely. The check out process was easy and convenient for our early departure to catch a flighlt. There is a great pub nearby to enjoy a meal.

It was a bit difficult to locate the Cottage Guest House as it is set back from the road. Additional signage might be beneficial. It would also have been nice to have some continental breakfast items available in the room as our very early departure did not allow us to enjoy the included breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Nice and quiet rooms, all facing a beautiful garden you can sit in with apple and plum trees. Top security, with locked gate (opened either with your key or the staff). Rooms are comfortable, with fridge, but windows are the kind that only open from bottom out and so the room was a little hot when we went to bed (cooled down as it cooled down outside, but I'd hate to be here on a hot summer's day).
Breakfast was good, but no selection of fruit other than a plate of bananas, and cereal is only corn flakes. Breakfast room is very bright and welcoming.
Reception gentleman was very friendly and check-in was fast.
Close to airport, but there's no bus to the B&B, so you have to order a taxi from West Hounslow station, which is a bit of a nuisance.
Rates were much cheaper booking through booking.com

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The room was nice and clean, overlooking the garden, and the bathroom was rather big. Breakfast, served in a very nice conservatory overlooking the garden, was very nice. The manager was very kind and helpful. Definitely a handy place when you have to catch an early flight or arrive late at night.

On the negative side the map on Booking.com's website wasn't very clear, it appeared that the guesthouse was located in Hounslow, so we took the tube to Hounslow West, only to discover that it is infact in Cranford, which is a different place, so after asking a lot of people (even the Police) which bus we could take, and having received so many different answers, we ended up calling a taxi, so we spent a total of £ 18,60 to travel the few kilometres from Heathrow Airport. Anyway, it appears to us that this is Booking.com's fault rather than the guesthouse's.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having had two previous 'disastrous' stop overs in Travelodge, this was so much better! The staff were very pleasant & welcoming, and the room was very nice, with a proper bed for our teenage son, not a sofa bed. The room & en-suite were very clean, nicely decorated & furnished, and had everything we needed. The beds were also comfortable, not sagging and worn out! Would definitely recommend this Guest House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Arrived about 9.30 in the evening and was greeted in a friendly manner by a chap who was efficient and helpful. Slightly put off by the strong cooking smells that pervaded the corridors and my room. Room itself (in the main building) was a reasonably sized single with a small but serviceable en-suite shower room. The room was equipped with TV and fridge and was clean if somewhat dated. Only problem was that the dividing wall to the next door room was very thin. I could hear virtually everything going on which was a bit alarming! Breakfast is served to you rather than being a buffet, which takes a little longer but does mean that the food is freshly prepared and the quality is just about OK. It was very reasonable compared to the major chains and has good parking facilities. Noise from the nearby airport is not a problem. My bedroom window was double glazed and I was not disturbed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed over one night en-route to Goodwood Festical of Speed, needed somewhere not too fat off the main roads and this was perfect. Close to heathrow but didnt hear the planes at all.
Secure gated parking was reassuring, and on arrive was greeted by the owner (I believe) who was lovely, friendly and helpful. Checked in, showed to our room which was just across the garden which was absolutely beautiful. Wish we had been able to stay longer to enjoy the tranquility of it. Our double room was more than spacious with a comfy bed (slept soundly through the whole night which is unusual in a hotel!) Tea and coffee, milk and biscuits on a tray with two bottles of cold water in the fridge. Hair dryer, iron and ironing board all made life easier and we actually left in un-creased clothes! Large immaculately clean bathroom with shower (spent too long enjoying that) along with complimentary shower gel, shampoo etc.
Breakfast was a choice of continental or cooked and despite needing to leave early, we decided to have cooked - all made to order and piping hot. Excellent service and lovely views from the dining conservatory over the gardens.
The staff are spot on, very consciencious with regard to their work and we left impressed and ready for a busy day ahead.
Would certainly recommend for staying and will keep the card for next time!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cottage Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Guest House

Address: 150-152 High Street, Cranford TW5 9WB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Cranford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cottage Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Cottage Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage Guest House Hotel Cranford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cottage Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.