We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as a base!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow

Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   745 Bath Road, Cranford TW5 9QE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cranford
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great as a base!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in December as a base to travel from. We were travelling to Twikenham for the rugby, and again into the centre of London to see the lights! The hotel is very easy to find, after following the signs for Heathrow, and has plenty of charged car parking. The lobby is very well presented, and there is a coffee bar area which looked inviting. You are given a warm cookie after checking in, complementary, and this is a nice touch. The room was easy to get to from the elevator, and was very pleasant inside. The bed was very large and comfy, the room was elegantly decorated, and the bathroom had a good sized comfy bath!

the public transport links into the centre of london from the hotel are okay, but not the best. There is a bus service which takes you past the Tube station (about 15 minute walk along a busy road), and will also take you into Hounslow centre if you need to. The main-line station (which you need to get to for Twickenham) is a mission to get to, but a taxi ride is about £6-7 from the hotel. Nice and easy to get to the rugby stadium from Hounslow Central, so this is a big plus! Getting to the centre of London will take about 20 mins on the Tube.

Obviously, being so close to Heathrow, there are plenty of services going that way from the opposite side of the road from the hotel.

Also opposite the hotel are a dominoes pizza and a selection of indian/chinese takeaways, which seemed to be open all night!

All in all, this is a very good hotel, and for the rates on offer it makes it quite a bargain. We would definitely stay at this hotel again, and would reccomend it for anybody looking for a good cheap hotel relatively close to Twikenham, and is a no-brainer for anybody looking for somewhere to stay before/after a long flight!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.I'm glad you found the complimentary cookie to be a nice touch and that the lobby and room was comfy and inviting. I'm also pleased that you could use us as a base to go to Twickenham and generally this worked well for you. We do have lots of convenient stores and food outlets very near the hotel which can be useful for guests, especially long stays. It's fantastic that you would so highly recommend us and stay with us again, therefore I look forward to inviting you back. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    315
    96
    33
    19
See reviews for
121
221
83
211
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel has improved significantly since becoming part of Doubletree/Hilton.

Staff are helpful and courteous

Rooms are Ok size, beds very comfortable and the sound proofing excellent as traffic and plane noise was negligable.

Bathrooms are standard but clean and shower pressure very good.

Wifi had been installed in all bedrooms the day i stayed and was working fine

Local shops across the road for provisions and take away food, plus ATM.

Least convenient for T4 and T5 as at the complete other side of the airport (shuttle bus takes c25mins to T5), but pretty good for T1/2/3

No gym facilities which should be rectified.

Some good rates to be had on-line.

Overall a good and comfortable stop-over hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm really pleased you have noticed an improvement within the hotel and that you could make use of the newly installed Wifi. We are planning on installing a fitness room this year and are excited to be able to offer this facility to our guests in the future. It's great you found the water pressure to be good in the bathroom, and that the staff were helpful and courteous. I hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Heathrow. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel - will definitely stay again next time we pass through heathrow. Super friendly and polite staff. Easy to get to with airport shuttle. Excellent value for money. Lovely clean rooms. Shops and retaurants over the road from the hotel are very convenient. Free wifi in the public areas. Fantastic welcome with a yummy cookie! Shame we were only there for a few hours as we arrived late off one flight and then had a very early flight the next day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, which was a pleasure to read. It is lovely to know that the staff were so friendly and polite and could give you such a fantastic welcome! I hope we can welcome you back in the future where I'm sure you will continue to find great value for money and excellent service. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Initially we were a little worried about the neighborhood but once we were out and about we realized that there was nothing to worry about. The hotel had just switched to Doubletree from Ramada. What a great surprise. We were extremely happy with our stay. Great clean room, large bathroom. The staff was always willing to help. Even when we arrived after breakfast had ended, they graciously got us breakfast. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to know that you were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the hotel, and that we could still offer you breakfast after closing time. I look forward to welcoming you back again. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed only 1 night on a stopover, very convenient from Terminal 1 on the Local Hotel Hoppa Bus. Our room was quite big overlooking the busy street below, which I taught Ah No (noise) but the room surprisingly was sound proof, even the planes overhead which are quite low when landing didn't disturb our sleep. The bed is amazingly comfortable and quite large it may be a King size, Bathroom was extremely clean, bath, shower and the usual hotel accessories.
We had lunch in the hotel itself, but it was only average. Breakfast however was a buffet style including an array of pastries, yoghurt, bread and a full English and was lovely.
There are plenty of fast food places across the road, and an ATM just at Tesco, if you don't want to eat in the hotel. Nice courteous staff at reception and we really enjoyed our welcome chocolate cookie. Perfect for a stopover but long term its just too far from anything else. Would definitely stay again should we be stopping over on our next holiday.

Room Tip: Corner rooms at then end of the building are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's really great that you found the bed so comfortable and couldn't hear any noise from the planes landing. I'm also glad the breakfast was lovely and will pass your comments on to my Head Chef, along with the lunch quality. I look forward to welcoming you back for your next holiday stop over, where I'm sure our staff will be just as courteous and welcoming. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed one night on our transit throught Heathrow and totally enjoyed our spacious room. The staff was very courteous and helpful and the breakfast was delicious. It takes an hour to go to central London but it's not a problem if you don't base your activities downtown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. It's lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much and that the staff did everything they could to make you feel welcome. I hope we can see you next time you are in the Heathrow area. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We checked in and booked 5:55 taxi for my husband early flight. When my husband went downstairs ask for his taxi was told the system did not show he had taxi booked. then called a taxi firm again, taxi could not arrive at the promised time only result in no way my husband will be able to get through security. We booked double tree on its reputation. This is a HUGE disappointment!

Room Tip: Don't rely on them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DoubleTreeLHRAirport, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies that the taxi was not booked for you. It was then unfortunate that we could not arrange another taxi quickly enough to enable your husband to still catch his flight. I can assure you that this is certianly not our usual standard of service and the Receptionist who made this error is truly sorry for their mistake. As a result of your feedback, our taxi booking procedure has been reviewed and all team members have been re trained in the process. I am aware that we have also received your complaint directly at the hotel and have worked with our Head Office to resolve this matter for you. Thank you once again for your feedback, and I hope we can be of service to you in the future, where I am confident you will receive the level of hospitality you have come to expect from the DoubleTree brand. Suzie Riddell, Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow

Also Known As:
Ramada London Heathrow Hotel
Ramada London Heathrow Hotel Cranford
Ramada Hotel London Heathrow
Ramada Hotel Cranford
Hounslow Ramada
Ramada Hounslow
Address: 745 Bath Road, Cranford TW5 9QE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Middlesex > Cranford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Cranford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a warm welcome, stylish contemporary comfort and a convenient location just ten minutes from London Heathrow Airport, check-in to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London Heathrow Airport hotel. Enjoy a famous DoubleTree cookie on arrival at this Cranford hotel. Catch-up with friends or colleagues over a drink in the bar, or order a meal in The Brasserie where fresh produce is showcased in innovative dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton London Heathrow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.