We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Not Return” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Burnhouse Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Burnhouse Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Burnhouse by Beith, Burnhouse KA15 1LJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnhouse
Glasgow
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Will Not Return”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Went here for afternoon tea bought with a Groupon Voucher for £14. I am glad I hadn't paid any more. Everything about it was poor from the service to the presentation of the cake stand to the tea. The bread for the sandwiches was not fresh and the sandwiches were large not what you would expect for afternoon tea. The scones were poor as we're the cakes. The tea was even poor quality. The hotel itself could do with a facelift. I will not return.

Room Tip: Did not stay over.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    48
    21
    29
    50
See reviews for
59
67
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
stewarton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Went to the burnhouse manor for afternoon tea.bought on groupon for £14 .was supposed to be £31.didnt think it was up to much scones where a bit doughy meringues where tiny .also so where the strawberry tarts.sandwiches ok but nothing special.place is in need of a good refurbishment a bit shabby if u ask me. The service was also poor had to wait for our tea.a couple arrived at the front door and stood for at least a good 10 minutes before any1 came to see to them.i went for afternoon tea at marks & spencer the week before.SUPERB.would put this place to shame.So wont be back here ever ever ...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Burnhouse hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

There was no heating in the room. Staff did not inform me when checking in perhaps they thought I would not notice!! It was all down hill from there.
bed sheet so thread bare I could read make mattress maker clearly through it.
Mattress looked it had been there since the war. with a huge depression.
Duvet thin and dirty. with hair from goodness knows where !!
Room generally dirty and very very run down.
The whole place looks very very tired.
Decided that I could not even spend night in this hideous excuse for a hotel. Even though I had prepaid.
spent 10 minutes in the room (5 minutes googling an alternative hotel in the area)

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstone, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Arrived at the burnhouse manor for my brothers wedding reception, the front, bar and dining area are very nice but when we arrived at the "family room" it was very cold, no curtains on windows with only a small electric heater in the corner of the room. On going in to the bathroom the towels where all stained and the bath was full of pubic hair. On pulling out my sons sofa bed there was numerous cigarette burn on it and also badly stained. On saying to a member of staff about no hot water to run a bath for my 3yr old son her advice was to just shower him or use the shower to fill the bath. Wedding reception venue was fantastic but as a hotel it was terrible. Everyone who had a room at the wedding was complaining and on seeing other room our was not the worst. Would not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. No part refund was offered.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock, scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

4 of us went for Groupon afternoon tea deal, firstly the glass of bubbly was like Lambrini? and the room was cold. Our selection of sandwiches all arrived on white bread which was disappointing as on looking around other tables they had wholemeal(we had wrongly assumed they would come assorted) although on asking the waiter he brought another round on wholemeal + advised us our waitress should have given us the choice? The menu said unlimited tea + a bottomless pot of coffee, but we had to attract passing staff to fill these up + the milk! We were asked how everything was + mentioned that we would be fighting over the 2 "infamous" Strawberry tarts, she acknowledged this but never returned with any more! Talking of these Strawberry tarts-they would be much better if they had more than quarter of a strawberry on them?!-another disappointment.(Other tables of 2 appeared to have the same selection of cakes that we had for 4?) Would not like to pay full price + would not recommend or return, Sorry.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My Granny used to say you could tell a good place if the steps and entrance was clean !! how right, from the outside this place was clearly run down ,deep holes in the car park .
Inside was extremely tired, ceilings peeling could do with a complete makeover.
Staff seemed polite enough [it's only redeeming feature] the coffee arrived on a tray that was dirty ,cups could have done with a hot soapy wash ,sandwiches and cakes arrived by this time I could not eat anything ,sipped some weak coffee , had a scone .and left !!
Certainly will never be back

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I received a groupon voucher as a Xmas present and what a lovely afternoon my mother and I have had. We had sandwiches, cream & jam scones & pancakes and then a choice of freshly baked cakes - along with champagne and as much coffee and tea you wanted. The staff were very attentive and we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Burnhouse Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnhouse Manor Hotel

Address: Burnhouse by Beith, Burnhouse KA15 1LJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Burnhouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Burnhouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Burnhouse Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort is the primary goal at Burnhouse Manor, with comfortable beds, good showers and relaxing baths, to ensure your stay is a pleasant one. Brambles at Burnhouse restaurant is also located within the hotel serving breakfast, lunch and dinner, throughout the day, 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Burnhouse Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnhouse Manor Hotel Ayrshire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnhouse Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.