We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The White Horse Inn
Main Road, Brough HU15 2UP, England
01768779883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 20 restaurants in Brough
Price range: $34 - $69
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

we have had lunch here a few times and if you register on line they send you discount meals and drinks

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

58% Recommend
    3
    7
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
flint hill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“from past to present”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Amazing to enjoy a traditional English breakfast in such a historic place that now has WiFi!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice food & atmosphere; pity no Taylors though”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Went at lunchtime when there were around a dozen customers in the pub. Cordial atmosphere, nice bar snack sanwiches, although I was disappointed they'd run out of Timothy Taylor's landlord (my favourite tipple). The alternative local bitter was good though I've forgotten its name. Average price for the beer & food.
The building itself is a very old one in a small village which is esentially based along one main road, with a side road up to the manor house overlooking the surrounding countryside. A stroll (approx. 1 mile) away is the RSPB's Fairburn Ings reserve & there's some nice walks nearby too.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Real disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

Having stumbled upon this lovelly period building we decided to call in for a spot of lunch and were pleasantly surprised by the decor and quality of the menu. However it went downhill from there!

The menu on offer had been severely reduced due to the meat delivery not arriving (fair enough we thought, give them the benefit of the doubt). As the menu was reduced rather than the Venison and Pork belly we were looking forward to, we decided on 2 rib eye steaks "with all the trimmings" (£16 each) one medium-rare, one medium, and a basket of bread.
We were given a choice of sauces for the steaks, we chose red wine and Diane, only to be told 2 mins later that there were no sauces (not sure what that has to do with the meat delivery...)

The steaks arrived (eventually, as service was rather slow), one raw, one burnt to a crisp. "All the trimmings" turned out to be 3 cherry tomatoes and some over salted mushrooms. No one came to ask if the food was OK (perhaps they knew it wasnt!).

When we came to pay (at the bar as we were bored of waiting for our waitress), we still weren't asked if the food was OK, so my partner made it known that the steaks were sub par. We were told that they could knock off the price of the bread basket (which was the best part of the meal!!), this appeared to be like a red rag to a bull, as rather than an appology, we were given a brush off, we eventually were offered the small glass of wine and pint to be taken off the bill (we would rather have paid for all that and not one of the steaks on principal, as it seems unfair that on their books that the meals are coming through without a problem).

We suspect (HOPE!) that the regular chef was away rather than a missing meat delivery, and would rather have been told that. If the meals were from a 2-4-1 chain at around £7 we would have expected to get what we paid for - at their prices we expected something a lot better.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse Inn also viewed

Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
Brough, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to The White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.