We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Crown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crown Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Brackley
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Crown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night and overall had a very pleasant experience. The accomodation was very clean and tidy and very reasonable for the price we paid. The only complaint would be that the room was very cold when we first got in there. The food was very reasonable for the price and was nice to eat in a cosy bar area with open fire. The staff were very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    23
    30
    57
See reviews for
30
59
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for two nights from 30th November 2012 - room was absolutely freezing on arrival, I visited reception and they said the heating would come on in an hour or so. Considering it was minus 2 or 3 that weekend it was very unwelcoming. We had to leave the Hotel for a couple of hours to visit a relative who thankfully lived nearby. Went back to our room in the attic to find the radiator was on but literally just managed to take the chill out of the air. Complained again and got an oil filled radiator which we had to leave on all night. Still woke up cold. Left radiator on in the room whilst out shopping to find on our return it had been turned off and room cold again. Complained again on check-out before paying but would not give discount. Staff are all foreign and do not engage in conversation or come across as particularly friendly. I would NOT recommend this Hotel in the Winter. The good points: Cosy bar with open fire, clean rooms.

Room Tip: Choose a low room as hopefully the heat from the open fire downstairs will keep your room warmer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed here on our way back from the NEC Bike Show, the postcode given took us to the rear of the hotel where they share a carpark with Waitrose, on our arrival the staff were friendly and helpful even when one of us turned up wearing a plastercast, the accommodations were tidy and clean even though they are beginning to show their age, if you're looking for the Ritz, its not but comfortable, functional it is, the only complaint we have is Why wasn't the room heating turned on before our arrival because one of the rooms was a little chilly. Also if you are staying ask for a room at the back if you're a light sleeper, the noise from the late night revellers can be a little loud but the secondary glazing takes away some of the noise.
We didn't use the restaurant but decided to have our evening meals in the bar alongside the open fire, we had a varied selection from the menu and no-one in the party had any issue with any of the food, So Well Done to the chef and the service was quick and attentive. We are aware of the austerity of the times especially in the catering industry but only one gas fire in the breakfast room with zero temperatures outside? a liitle chilly, the service at breakfast was a little rushed and the waitress showed a little inexperience by bringing out hot food to the table whilst the guests were still eating the cold course, not a big issue but needs addressing.
Would we use the Hotel again? Yes if the minor issues are addressed, Thanks The Roadwerx Crew

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the front of the building if you're a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, UK
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Called in for a drink. The draught beer was off, and we had to wait for the barrel to be changed and the building was under heated. I'd need a very good reason to go again. The staff seemed uninterested as well unfortunately.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Overall quite poor accommodation, poor food along with poor service.
Our room was very old, tired, shabby, musty and a little dirty.
To be honest, the hotel could do with the following...
1. A makeover and upgrading with a fresher look
2. A good clean
3. New managers
However, we did get upgraded to a Superior roomwhich overlooked the square...It was warm and the bed was comfy but again it was very old, tired, quite dirty and worn looking...
Wont be returning!
Something needs to be done about this hotel before it gets closed down!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

If you are looking for a placev to stay with NO understaning of customer care, NO resonable wi-fi NO standard of service then stay here.

Never will I just go by the hotels website or internet booking agents coments, the place needs to look at the managment and start to consider bthe needs of its guest.

i was told on calling the hotel that all rooms had wi-fi, what aload of rubish, the signal strength was so weak that it never rached the rooms.

Unless your desperate ...Stay away.

Room Tip: Consider the carpark first
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesex United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Should read reveiws before, looked ok from pictures. Room was clean the front of house was poor had to wait for Manager for a while he had no personanlity looked like Lurch from the Adams family. Lights went off in the morning no heating on in the room after 8.30.or in the morning and it was the end of October.No lift so not very disability friendly. Bed very uncomfortable and could feel the springs. No choice in the cooked breakfast, tea was cold waiter did not understand. No atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: 20 Market Place | Brackley, Brackley NN13 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Northamptonshire > Brackley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Brackley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Brackley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.