We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Restaurant (Crown Hotel)

Crown Restaurant (Crown Hotel)
20 Market Place, Brackley, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 32 Restaurants in Brackley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed for one night and I suppose it was value for money at £55 for the room and bed and breakfast for two. However, although staff were friendly and helpful, the room was cold (until we requested an electric heater and although the bathroom suite was clean the tiled walls were not around the toilet. Saying this, the breakfast was good and it was in an ideal location for what we wanted to do.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    9
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good value pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

Three generations for an unexpected pub lunch. Good portions, good choice and good value. Service friendly and bar and restaurant welcoming on a cold, January Saturday lunchtime.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced Christmas dinner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We dined here on Christmas day (eight adults and two children under ten), we were the second group in the Dining room, we were quickly asked what drinks we required, before they had arrived the starters were served, eventually the drinks arrived minus one gin and tonic (which after mentioning to one of the three serving staff, turned up nearly half an hour later).

The starters were ok but nothing special, the main course was advertised as turkey and all the trimmings, when it arrived sometime later we had Turkey, three roast potatoes, brussel sprouts, a mixture of roasted parsnips and carrots, there was no stuffing, pigs in blankets or even cranberry sauce,

As the Dining room filled the service got worse and we must have waited almost half an hour for the desserts, There were mince pies that had been placed on the table prior to our arrival which were to be served with coffee after the desert, again at least half an hour passed and no sign of coffee.

We begrudgingly paid the bill at almost £55 per head(including full price for the children)

Would i go back?

NO WAY!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Flys all on the food!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just eaten a carvery it was ok, how ever as it was not busy food was left out. Big blue bottle flys we're all on the food, when I told the waitress it must be covered she just rolled her eyes and said that the doors were open. I asked her again to cover the meat which was crawling in flys and she ignored me. I asked her why she was ignoring me and she walked away. This is terrible will never go back be warned!Not happy

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a choice between the dinner menu for the restaurant or the bar menu. The dinner menu is more expensive and has some more, shall we say, gourmet, choices. The bar menu is your standard pub grub fair. We chose the bar menu: steak and chips and a piri-piri chicken with chips and coleslaw. The portions were huge and the chips were lovely, but there was just too much.

The biggest problem was the staff did not have fantastic English and when you asked for something you did have to ask for it twice. I can imagine this might annoy some people - especially if you have issues with foreign workers as some people do seem to in the current political climate. But the staff were very helpful, polite and accommodating.

Nice quality, basic food with very generous portions. Not as cheap as some of the 'chain' pubs, so slightly more expensive, but not too bad if you are staying here or passing through as there aren't really any chains in the village anyway.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Restaurant (Crown Hotel) also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to Crown Restaurant (Crown Hotel)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Restaurant (Crown Hotel), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.