We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crewe Arms

The Crewe Arms
Sparrow Corner | Hinton In The Hedges, Brackley nn135nf, England
+44 1280 705801
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Brackley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This is a country pub with accomodation ( two rooms ) traditional fayre located near to silverstone and cotswolds
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great little pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We go here regularly and love the friendly bar staff, great selection of beers and ciders, excellent chef and the food is scrumptious. Our favourites are the bar snacks and for £3.50 for a snack after work is not bad in our opinion!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“steak sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

What a lovely pub, very welcoming staff, nice choice of beers and a simply awesome steak sandwich. Lunch specials and bar snacks are good value too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“What a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

You cannot help loving this pub/restaurant. We went here after a funeral and returned to have Sunday lunch a couple of weeks later. The food is outstanding, properly cooked to order, tastes wonderful and is prettily presented. The staff are cheerful and friendly and obviously like being there. The decor is fresh and rustic with lovely seasonal flowers and plants around the restaurant. The prices for food and drink are very reasonable and the background music is charming.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“First time at this pub”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just had our first experience of the Crewe Arms having tried a lot of local places in the Brackley area. We was a group of four people and walked past the main bar into the lounge area. We were met with a young blonde haired girl who just said "No service here go back to the main bar". She was corrected as we had booked a table. We were shown to our table and was served by another girl. We ordered the duck (looked like a childs portion), two rump steaks and fish. The food came out hot. Drinks were average prices except the house wine. When we got the bill we had been charged £16 for a bottle of house wine (a total rip off), the rump steaks were £16.50 (again way overpriced for a pub). The level of service wasn't that good but I think that was because the two girls were stretched and were constantly on the go, in fact too much. Will I be going back? In a word No. When I go to a pub for a meal I expect pub prices not Michelin restaurant prices. There are a lot more venues offering better value for money in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“best venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

great pub with plenty of character! there for a 25th wedding anniversary and what a place to have it!..great staff....go there, you will not be disappointed!!!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crewe Arms also viewed

Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 
Brackley, Northamptonshire
Brackley, Northamptonshire
 

Been to The Crewe Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crewe Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.