We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sunday lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dolphin Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Beer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dolphin Hotel
Save
You added The Dolphin Hotel to your Saves list
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Certificate of Excellence 2014
west midlands
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

have been to the sunday carvery a few times when in devon it is always very good, so when i return this weekend thats where i will be for my sunday lunch, just wished that i lived nearer. cannot comment on the hotel part but i'm sure it would be good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoy eating with us when you come down to Devon and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    73
    28
    9
    16
See reviews for
49
89
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

we have stayed here with our little dog many times ,the bedrooms are very clean and plenty of room to move about and loads of draws and hanging space .we have never eaten here so can not say what food is like but breakfast is good and lots of it ,will be back again soon i hope

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Thank you for the comments about the breakfast I will pass them onto the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent place to stay clean rooms well maintained, wonderful staff, very friendly staff and welcoming , good excellent would recommend and will go back recommend by a friend who's stayed here numerous times

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We can honestly say this was the worst carvery we have ever had (Sunday 8/6/14). The beef was so tough we couldnt chew it, so had to leave it, the yorkshire pudding so dry had difficulty cutting ,and the food was barely warm. A huge disappointment and would not recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Dolphin Hotel, we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us. Please note that we have passed on all of your comments and be ensured this will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

You cant fault the staff here they are very pleasant and helpful, hotel is clean and tidy, nice size room. We were offered three price options and went for the most expensive which was good value and in a nice quiet part of the hotel. I believe the cheaper rooms are above the bar but to be honest its not that noisy in there anyway unless of course theres a function on.

The town of Beer and other parts of Devon have very bad 3G signal so if you need to work or surf good luck, the hotel has WIFI but its poor and cant get it in the rooms, this is a basic need nowdays so hopefully they will sort it in the near future.

Only one gripe really and its not important but breakfast, full English was very nice (as was most of the food) but come on guys you have great local farms etc round you and you serve the cheapest nastiest frozen sausages, spend 50p more or even put the price up and get a decent quality.

Will be going back but might pass on the sausages :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your trip down to devon and stay with us. All of your comments have been passed on to the relevant people and we hope to sort them as soon as possible. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

On a Sunday the Dolphin Hotel has a carvery. Based on the recommendation of some locals we decided to give it a go. The price was very reasonable @£8.75 and the quality was very good. Our choice was beef and pork with all the usual trimmings... Sat outside in the sun and really enjoyed our Sunday lunch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Dolphin Hotel, we are pleased that you enjoyed your Sunday carvery with us and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, Uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We visited friends who were staying here and had a meal in the evening. The food was very tasty and kids meals were of a good size - just thought the prices were maybe a little expensive. Ended up booking our family of five into a room for the next night. They accommodated us very well, put two extra z beds in the room and apologised that they thought it would be cramped. They needn't have worried as the room was still very spacious and lovely comfy beds. It was fantastic value at £105 for all five of us including breakfast. We were apparently over the bar, but weren't bothered by any noise. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the standard of cooked breakfast was superb! Thank you Dolphin Hotel for a extremely pleasant stay with our friends. We shall be returning.

Room Tip: Room 3 accepts dogs and the hotel is dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dolphinhotelbeer, Front Office Manager at The Dolphin Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Dolphin Hotel, We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal enough that you came and stayed with us and we hope to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dolphin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dolphin Hotel

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3EQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dolphin Hotel is an impressive historic Hotel situated in the beautiful fishing village of Beer on the Jurassic Coast. We have 22 bedrooms, a Restaurant, 2 Public Bars and a Function Room. We specialise in hearty portions of local seafood and home cooked meals. We have our OWN CAR PARK! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dolphin Hotel Beer
The Dolphin Hotel Beer, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dolphin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.