We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality and spotless!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colebrooke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colebrooke House
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 9 Beer B&B and Inns
England
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality and spotless!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We wanted to have a night away for our anniversary and we were delighted that we chose Colebrooke House. The welcome from Dave was spontaneous and friendly. Rooms are spotless and well equipped with modern fittings and equipment. The house is well situated being on the Main Street leading down to the beach. Close to eateries and pubs and of course the shops. Big bonus is you get a free car park permit for the large pay and display car park nearby.

Breakfast was substantial and well cooked and from good fresh produce. Thank you Wendy and Dave for a delightfull B&B experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    15
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

fabulous stay at dave and wendys b/b couldnt fault it rooms are impeccable breakfast and hospitality really really great been a few times and beer is just like a picture postcard about 8 eating places to choose from and the food there is excellent too will definiately go back

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brakel, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We went the first time to Beer and were very lucky to stay at Wendy & Dave's small and cosy retreat. The hosts are very friendly and helpful in every respect, our room was tidy, clean and nicely furnished. We enjoyed it very much. The breakfast is great, it is freshly prepared according to individual likings. Free parking is available just around the corner. Our hosts know the town and surroundings very well and were able to give valuable hints as to where to go and what to see... We would indeed come back a second time and can very much recommend Colebrook House.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having tried other B&B's in the area over the last ten years we will definitely return to this one for our annual week in this lovely seaside village. Dave & Wendy, the owners, are lovely people. Dave takes the breakfast orders and gives us our daily weather forecast while Wendy toils away in the kitchen, producing great food at record breaking speed. Our room couldn't have been better - it was a super triple with a double bed for me and my husband and single bed for our friend which was tucked away around the corner so had a little privacy. The lovely fluffy towels are changed frequently and we loved the seagull and sailing boat ornaments. All in all, a brilliant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Second visit as good as the first. Hotel has a homely feel to it, rooms are of an excellent standard, cleaned daily and are spotless. Hosts made us feel very welcome, were helpful and went the extra mile when we had to leave early before normal breakfast start time. Amazing breakfast to set you up for the day. Convenient parking facilities. Other guests shared similar positive experiences of the hotel. Will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

After a last minute decision to have a few days away, not realising it was Regatta Week in Beer, we were very fortunate to find Colebrooke House. The owners had a cancellation just prior to my telephone call. We had a lovely room at the front of the house which was a very good size with en-suite, 2 leather armchairs and coffee table. It was so clean and immaculate we thought it had only just been decorated. Dave and Wendy were extremely good hosts and made us very welcome and there was a relaxed homely atmosphere. The breakfasts were well cooked and you could have as much or as little as you wanted. Well worth a visit - won't bother to try anywhere else when we go back to Beer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

After a long journey and no room at the inns,after yet another street of walking there was Dave watering his hanging baskets.we were expecting another no,but by chance a room was available.This was an amazing find,a little gem nestled in a beautiful village,only intended to stay one night but stayed on extra and will be returning.
Dave,wendy made you feel very welcome,both rooms we stayed in were the cleanest we have ever found on our travels even in so called top Hotels all the other guests we spoke to agreed.
This has to be down to all the staff at the COLEBROOKE,last but not least the breakfast was second to none,nothing was to much trouble,friendly advice was always at hand.
Thank you Dave and wendy and all the staff you dont see,that has made our stay an amazing one.

Room Tip: It did not mater to us
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colebrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colebrooke House

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family run,very clean & spacious B&B,with a relaxed atmosphere & close to the beach. Free parking & wi fi. A warm & friendly welcome awaits you at ColebrookeHouse where our aim is to give our guests an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colebrooke House Beer, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colebrooke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Colebrooke House to your Saves list