We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colebrooke House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Beer
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Colebrooke House
Save
You added Colebrooke House to your Saves list
Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Beer B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cannot fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have stayed at Colebrooke House several times and cannot fault it. There's always a warm, friendly welcome from Wendy and Dave, the rooms are spacious, comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean and Wendy's breakfasts are delicious and beautifully cooked.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    17
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
poole
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We called in by chance last year whilst visiting Beer and we thought it was a nice place to stay. Our visit this year did not let us down. Wendy and Dave and the staff were superb. The room was spotless and comfortable, all that it said it would be. The breakfast was served hot and plenty of it with lashings of coffee. Can't wait to revisit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a weekend away in Beer and stayed at Colebrooke house and it is one of the nicest b&bs we've found.

Our room was clean and spacious, well decorated and the bed was so comfortable and snuggly it really was quite tricky getting up in the morning!

Thankfully breakfast was worth it, very tasty, and the owners were chatty and helpful without being overpowering.

I can't fault this B&B. I would recommend it. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We have stayed here a couple of times when we were unable to book into the Anchor. The hosts are friendly, welcoming and professional. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is excellent. On top of this, there is free parking, which is a bonus in Beer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had 5 nights at Colebrooke House this month and the accomodation(room 6) was spotless. A nice room at the front of the house with a new ensuite bathroom.

Tea and coffee and biscuits replenished daily, rooms serviced daily and clean towels daily if required.

The breakfast was good Engish traditional Bacon and eggs etc. Fruit juice, cereals grapefruit etc in a pleasant dining area.(MAYBE SOME BACKGROUND MUSIC WOULD HAVE BEEN A BONUS AT BREAKFAST)

The hosts were keen to give local info as needed

Beer is a lovely little village and has everything you need for a mini break including choices of places to dine for evenings out. Good pubs serving decent food . An indian Restuarant, Pizza and Italian Restuarant and a Bistro(Steamers)

A FEW MINUTES WALK FROM THE PEBBLED BEACH

Vey pleasant to step outside B & B and have this range of choices to dine without getting the car out!

(FREE CAR PARKING PASS IS PROVIDED IN THIS B & B WHICH IS A BONUS AS ON STREET PARKING ISNT ALLOWED)CAR PARK 2 MINUTES FROM B & B)

Will look forward to returning for another short break next year

M and S(Studley Warwickshire)

Room Tip: Faces on to the Main Road..We stayed half term week and no noise late evenings
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were impressed with our welcome and rooms, very clean and comfortable.
Dave was very helpful as we needed to leave early the next morning and nothing
was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, good choice and cooked to order.
We would definitely return, beautiful house, location and run by a friendly couple.
I would recommend Colebrooke House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife & I stayed at the Colebrook Guest House in August and we were impressed with the cleanliness and decor from the moment we arrived, there was a warm and friendly feeling throughout. Our room was smart and spotless, the bed was comfortable, the linen, furnishings and fittings were tasteful. There was a seating area with 2 lounge chairs and a coffee table. It also had coffee & tea making facility with biscuits, a nice touch. The modern separate en suite had a walk in shower complete with large fluffy towels. In the spacious Dining Room the tableware was of a good quality and guests have their own table. At breakfast, cereals and juices were self service and pots of tea and coffee for each table. The breakfasts were cooked to order and to our taste, we thought they were, surely, the best we have experienced. We found the owners Dave & Wendy very welcoming, they have a warm comfortable and friendly guest house furnished to an exceptional standard. Colebrooke Guest House is now our first choice for accommodation in this lovely part of the Devon coast

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colebrooke House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colebrooke House

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3JL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local family run,very clean & spacious B&B,with a relaxed atmosphere & close to the beach. Free parking & wi fi. A warm & friendly welcome awaits you at ColebrookeHouse where our aim is to give our guests an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Colebrooke House Beer, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colebrooke House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.