We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, unique, friendly, cosy hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn Beer

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Anchor Inn Beer to your Saves list
Anchor Inn Beer
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 Beer B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful, unique, friendly, cosy hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Absolutely LOVE this place! The location is amazing on the top of the approach to the beach. There are always interesting things to see and people to talk to. The hotel is so friendly and cosy (three real fires going when we were there over the weekend) and the food is superb with many wonderful fish dishes on the menu. The staff are friendly, courteous and efficient. The rooms are lovely with sea view and comfortable beds. Love it - have been coming here for forty five years but now it is the best it has ever been under new management. (For those who want to know: there is no swimming pool or children's entertainment but hey you have the beach and the great fresh air and nothing else is needed!) A little piece of heaven they call Beer but shhh don't tell everyone or they will all want to come!

Room Tip: The hotel is quite old so the stairs are very steep - there are two floors so if you have difficulty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful comments you posted on Trip advisor. The management and all the team are very grateful and it is with comments like these that inspire us here at the Anchor to make every guests stay memorable. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    48
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
21
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bromsgrove, England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had been waiting for some time for a special deal for B & B - and the wait was worthwhile. A good room (N° 7) at the end of the top floor..no noise from people going past late at night (outside or inside!) nor any noise from the downstairs bar and restaurant.

Staff on reception, in the restaurant and the bar all very friendly and helpful.

The view from the bedroom was as good as we had hoped for. A large comfortable bed, decent sized wordrobe and a good sized shower and w.c. No bath, but that was not a problem. There were two upholstered chairs and a table in the window area - ideal for watching the world go by.

Breakfast was excellent. Fresh fruit, yogurt, juices and cereals on a serve yourself basis. Then a wide choice of cooked items, including the expected "full English", but also kippers, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, eggs benedict etc etc. All freshly prepared.

We also used the restaurant in the evening and the quality of food was just as good.

I believe there is a new Management team here - congratulations all round!

Room Tip: Only seven rooms and I believe they all have sea views - so no need to worry about not getting a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind and detailed report on our hotel. You are correct there is a new management team in place and we are elated that you enjoyed your stay enough to comment on trip advisor. We have also given your feedback to the kitchen and they were most pleased. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Warm welcome on arrival, stayed in their feature room overlooking the sea, well appointed, clean and very comfortable (well worth the climb up the steep staircase. Unlike other Old English Inns this one went to great lengths to cook their own food taking advantage of the range of sea food available. Recommend the skate wings, the dessert menu was small but made up for minimal choice in size..........wished we had shared a pud! Whilst acknowledging the stay was "out of season" the room took on a cosy feel at night, and a good nights sleep was had with the ocassional sound of lapping sea water. Breakfast was cooked to order and was well presented. Staff very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble. We will return. Would also recommend the Devon Cream Team at the Captains Table just up above from the hotel.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have a harbour / sea view and are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Had just spent a week looking after an elderly relative in Cornwall and was looking for a nights stay to break up the journey home to London. Found the Anchor Inn on booking.com and thought that the price - £59.00 including breakfast - quite reasonable so booked it. On arrival very pleasantly surprised, the hotel was right on the front just before the jetty down to the beach where all the fishing boats were just coming in for the evening, added bonus, our room (number 7) had a lovely sea view which wasn't expected for the price paid. The room itself was quite spacious and had a lovely en-suite with a shower, all spotless. We didn't eat at the hotel that night but walked up the hill a little and ate in the Seafood Platter which was delicious. Breakfast next day (after looking out to sea for ages before going down) was spoilt for choice, as well as the usual help yourself buffet, the hot food menu was varied. Staff were vry friendly and welcoming and we will be looking to book another stay there soon. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel, but if I had one bit of advice to give, the stairs to the rooms are very steep so may not suit all,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back soon, maybe for a bite to eat this time too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llandrindod wells
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night trip to the Anchor Inn, Beer. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, good food and drink in the evenings were all enhanced by the fantastic collection of original art works decorating not only the public rooms but the bedrooms too. Owned by Beer's resident bard the artworks and his books of poetry are generously shared. The Anchor is ideally situated for walks along the coastal path in a village that has a lot to offer especially the art lover as there are two excellent galleries as well as the pictures already mentioned. We hope to visit again soon and would thoroughly recommend the Anchor Inn at Beer.

Room Tip: The sea view from room 1 on the first floor was great to watch the sun rise as we sipped our morning...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about the Anchor Inn.All the team try to give great service and as our guests send us these lovely comments it spurs us on to new hights.Also I told Michael our local bard about the the lovely comments and he was smiling like a Cheshire cat.I thank you on behalf of Michael and all the team look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a wonderful pub, hotel and restaurant we have visited here on many many ocasions and have no bad things to say so please give it a go whether it is Summer or Winter. In the summer the beer Garden is a lovely setting and their sandwiches are amazing and you have an amazing view of the sea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at Anchor Inn Beer, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
The team and I would thank you for your kind comments as this makes us proud of the Anchor Inn.It is with comments like these that motivate us all at the Anchor inn to deliver a fantastic experience for all our guests.We look forward to your next visit.
many kind regards Jim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linslade, Beds.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just spent four days at the Anchor Inn in Beer, Devon, our most favourite place in Devon to stay. The staff are so helpful and friendly, the room so comfortable and homely, the food so tasty and plentiful - what more can I say. Roll on next April for our next visit!!

Room Tip: Choose a sea view - the views are to die for!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anchor Inn Beer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn Beer

Address: Fore Street, Beer, Seaton EX12 3ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Seaton > Beer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Beer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anchor Inn Beer 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Anchor Inn Beer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Inn Beer Hotel Beer
Anchor Inn Beer Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn Beer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.