We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quinta do Barranco da Estrada

Save Saved
You added Quinta do Barranco da Estrada to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Quinta do Barranco da Estrada
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Quinta do Barranco da Estrada, Santa Clara a Velha 7665-880, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Brechin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“this is it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

What a find. Just what we were looking for.My husband and I found PARADISE by chance.Everything we were looking for.Good accomadation , activieties ,good company, be as active or as lazy as you like in your own space. A big thank you to Frank and Daniela for sharing your home and family with us, not forgetting our four legged friends.
We will return soon.Jim and Valerie.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    13
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
37
99
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brackley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

The first glimpse of the view as you approach the Quinta is -literally- breathtaking with views over forest, hills and the lake. When you arrive you find a small hotel built by the owner's own hands from local materials with stunning terraced gardens leading down to the lake. Miles from a tarmac road and sheltered by the hills - the Quinta is is peaceful with a capital P. Frank and Daniella - and their family - make you very welcome and join you and other guests for dinner around a large dining table. Frank is a naturalist and when we were there the other guest were bird watchers who, with Frank's help, notched up an impressive tally of sightings in their trips around the region. This is also great walking country and Frank thoughtfully supplies a range of dogs that are more than happy to keep you company. This may not be high style boutique living but for sheer genuine comfort and relaxation you need to go a long way to beat it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had an amazing 3 night stay at Quinta do Barranco da Estrada. It does exactly what it says on the tin - Paradise in Portugal. Don’t be daunted by the long dirt track to reach it - once you arrive it is definitely worth it. When we got there Daniela greeted us with lunch and Frank pleasantly informed us that we had been upgraded to the honeymoon suite. Excellent start!

Once we’d finished lunch it was down to the reservoir (and it’s where we spent most of our time for the rest of the holiday too!). It was very hot when we arrived, about 35C, so we spent our time between chilling on the sunbeds whilst reading our books, admiring the stunning views, and swimming in the reservoir to cool back down again! There’s a few little row boats and pedaloes if you fancy being a bit more active. We took the kayak out a couple of times, and were even joined on one occasion by one of the dogs who swam the whole way with us! We were slightly concerned that Peshka looked like she was about to drown at any given moment, but judging by the lack of heavy breathing once she hit dry land, she’s fitter than we are!

One of the mornings was a bit cooler and cloudier, so Daniela asked us what we wanted to do and we ended up going for a nice walk in one of the valleys. They had selection of local walks with full directions set out on a laminated card. Frank recommended us one not far away and we had an enjoyable morning ambling through the countryside.

The owners Frank and Daniela really couldn’t do enough for you, and really completed the whole place. Not only were they welcoming and helpful but they were also great fun and very good company in the evenings over dinner – and along with their three children, 1 parrot and 4 dogs, it certainly made for an interesting dinner time! It also helped that Daniela is a very good cook!

The whole place was just magical and so very peaceful. I’d recommend this to anyone who wants to escape from the world (no TV, no phone signal) and just switch off. We’ll definitely be going back again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

“Paradise” is hardly an exaggeration; the Quinta really is a blissful place to be. Over 13 years, we’ve spent a total of four weeks there and we long to return. The atmosphere is unusually informal, inviting and warm – always relaxed, often zany, and sometimes gently riotous though just as often it’s unexpectedly profound. Frank and Daniella - plus three lovely children, sweet and hard-working helpers, four incredibly amiable and well-behaved dogs, one cheeky parrot, etc - ensure that all ages and many species feel most welcome and at home. The accommodation is very comfortable, simple, homely and clean. The garden – with many secluded niches - is wonderful, as is the lake it leads to. Along with the views, the swimming is perfect, and there’s ample splashing and floating space and a bit of boating and fishing too – leaving aside the bird and wild life, which Frank knows backwards and for which the region is renowned. The only possible drawback (for some) is an inevitable consequence of the tranquillity and relative isolation. Especially if you are car-less, you’ll be 13km from the nearest village and other places to explore and eat. You’ll most likely be well content with the Quinta food and the company, though you might want a change if you’re staying for a week or more, and their high season meal and bar prices are pretty robust … the underlying (and arguably rather unfair) point being that you don’t want to even think about money in a lovely place like this. Having said that, don’t lose sight of the big picture: this is indeed a very special place. The adage, “they don’t make them like this any more” emphatically applies to Frank & Company and to their remarkable creation. We would certainly recommend it – though only to our very best friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

A beautiful spot, a convivial atmosphere, an absolute treat. Third time now in ten years and it just seems to get better each time. Top marks to Frank and Daniela, you’ve found a winning formula.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2010

We were looking for a place to chill out before starting our holiday.
Usually the first days of your seasonal holiday you are so tired and stressed that you barely enjoy the place where you are. I also find tiring to have to plan what to see the day after, where to go and what to eat. For this reason we have chosen to spend the first week of our holiday by Quinta do Barranco.
The good thing is that, if you want, you can just stay there, read your book in the shadow of the beautiful garden or swim in the lake or take one of the canoes or small boats and get to the middle of the lake.
You can take the day as it comes and really cool down after a stressful year at work.
After a couple of days, we were enough relaxed to take the car and go exploring the west coast of Portugal. It is feasible but if you want to stay at the beach I would rather recommend you to take a house by the beach because the journey is about 1,5 hour and you don’t want to do it everyday, especially because to get to the main road there are about 4km of unpaved road, a spectacular landscape but not very friendly.
Quinta is perfect as first stop of your holiday or if you plan to stay there, not much as base camp for sightseeing Portugal. For this reason I think 3-4 days are perfect because you don’t feel the need to go out and explore the surroundings, you are happy just where you are.
By the way, the surroundings are definitely impressive if you like bird watching. The owner is an expert guide and can bring you out for a full day. Eventually we did not do it but I think it was a pity. People that were there with us took a trip out with him and were enthusiastic with the experience, which was the second time for them. This is very common at la Quinta; in the week we have been there more then half of the guests have been already there several times in the 24 years the place exists. People keep on coming back. The location is spectacular but also the atmosphere is something very special; very personal and warm, almost like being part of a big family, but only in the nice way because you still can do what you want when you want.
I did not mention the food. I am Italian and you don’t mess around with Italians when it comes to food, it is a very serious business!
Our experience there: delicious!
Every meal is made with love; the food is simple in the sense that you taste the natural ingredients without all those sauces that are sometimes used to cover the flavour of mild food. The variety is excellent; every day 3 courses lunch and dinner, every time different and also breakfast is very good.
The meals are another special part of your stay because you eat with the owners and the other guest so you always have nice chats with people of different nationalities and with a glass of wine and the view of the lake, a lovely evening is guaranteed.
We had about 40 degrees in Portugal that week so most afternoons and nights very quite warm to sleep without airco but we asked for a fan in our room and that was refreshing enough.
Our room was Abertada, spacious and with a big bath. The structure is a bit old but furnished with taste and well cleaned every day. Ah, I forgot to mentioned: fresh flowers and herbs in little cute vases, both in the bedroom and in the bathroom, like you see in those country magazines: I loved that!
I can see now why so many people come back to la Quinta: it is one of those places that you will probably remember all your life.
There is no way it can blur in your memory like many other hotels or apartments you slept in during your holidays: it will stay in your memory, because it is a special place.
Manuela & Pim

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

I went there with my wife one week ago. Everything was perfect, with a amazing view on the lake. Room was nice, clean, with a large bathroom. We slept with windows open. The others customers were very nice also.
Food was perfect and Franck and Daniella, the owners, are very very sympathics.
I do recommand this place for short, long week end, and for holydays also.
Really, it is the Paradis in Portugal. Go there and enjoy...!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quinta do Barranco da Estrada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinta do Barranco da Estrada

Address: Quinta do Barranco da Estrada, Santa Clara a Velha 7665-880, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Alentejo > Beja District > Santa Clara a Velha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara a Velha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quinta do Barranco da Estrada 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The essence of the Quinta is a small, intimate, holiday retreat for peace and relaxation. It boasts a blend of traditional hospitality, "International home-cooking" cuisine and a friendly atmosphere with excellent, friendly service.Set in a beautiful lakeside location, the Quinta is surrounded by unspoiled countryside with a wide variety of wildlife and rare birds in its gardens and surrounding countryside. In short it's Paradise in Portugal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Quinta do Barranco da Estrada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quinta Do Barranco Da Estrada Hotel Santa Clara a Velha
Quinta Do Barranco Da Estrada Santa Clara a Velha, Portugal - Alentejo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quinta do Barranco da Estrada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.