We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Marina Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Agia Marina
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best holiday in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

On booking this hotel for an all inclusive week long holiday we were very excited as the pictures looked amazing, the reviews were pretty much the same, and when we arrived we were not disappointed!! The pool view room was perfect, clean, comfortable and with a lovely yet private view, the food was really good, better than some all inclusive holidays we have been on where the majority of food is pasta and chips! The staff were amazing, they really went above and beyond to make our stay perfect.
The only thing we didn't like was that the pool bar was not open everyday and so you had to walk under the road to get to the main hotel to get a drink (the staff on regular basis did walk over to take drink orders, but we were always in the pool when they came around),
Overall this was a brilliant holiday and will hopefully be staying here again in the future!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Ellie89,
Thank you very much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor.

We are really happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our Santa Marina Beach Hotel. The management and the staff of our hotel, always do their best in order to provide you the highest level of services.

We would like to thank you for the sharing photos. They are great.

Finally, we would like to notice that it will be our pleasure to welcoming you again at our Hotel in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    118
    39
    16
    9
See reviews for
85
116
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

As we have been to crete many times,we know well the resort areas.
aghia Marina is a nice area with a beatiful beach and santa marina is located at the best point of the area.
the hotel is fully renavated,with beatiful gardens and a fantastic beach in front of it.
The food is excellent and although we were on half board basis we tried two times the a la carte beach front restaurant which is really worth going.
Very kind staff,clean rooms and smiling faces everywhere.
excellent choice.

Room Tip: Beach front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mario b
Thank you very much for you excellent scoring on Tripadvisor!
The opinion of our guests is very important to us and it helps a lot on improving our services.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

The hotel is below average and only a small part is on the beach! STREET divides hotel into two parts, and that part which is not on the beach is much larger, and that can not be seen on any of the pictures in their presentation on the web site! Double rooms sold as a family, so watch out for it because they do not say it to you in your agency. For that money can definitely be better. The advantage is the beautiful sandy beaches and decent quality food, but not much variety. Even if you take the half-board you will pay up the water in the evening at dinner. They are robbing you at every step. The staff is very unprofessional, not even knock when entering the room. Wifi is catastrophic even if you pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear kolle_86,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.
As you correctly notice on your comments the Santa Marina each hotel is separated into two structures. The first one is located on the beach side, and the second one is located at the opposite side of the street. These two structures are connected with a private underground tunnel. All of our guests can use this tunnel in order to come from the one structure to another with safety. All these information are already published on every description of our Hotel.
The Double Rooms and the Family Rooms are two different types. The analytical descriptions of all of the available types of rooms are on official web site, so anyone is welcome to read the differences.
In accordance with your notice about the water charge at dinner, we would like to inform you that the terms of the Half-board package are available to every Tour Operator or Travel agent. We consider that you should have been informed in advance that any consumption of drinks such as the mineral water in your case, are charged during meals. The terms are also stated on our official website and they are being explained to every guest upon arrival.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The cleaners were lovely ladies very friendly and cleaned well the sheets were fresh n made every day and the towels were changed when we left them in the shower (which is good rather than washing them if unnecessary) .. didnt find the service well at meal times we went all inc and in october last week of season and the servers were rude ignored us even tho we tipped!!Although the staff at the night bar were lovely and had goos banter and the ladies on reception was very helpful to!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear rebeccabluedavey,

Thank you very much for your comment on tripadvisor.

In relation to your notice about the service at the restaurant during your stay, we would like to inform you that our effort is to maintain a high level of service in every department regardless the time of the season. Obviously, we did not succeed to achieve our target in this case; however be rest assured that it is rather rare that we do not provide the highest level of service in the restaurant.
We would like to take the chance and apologize on behalf of our restaurant staff and assure you that the management and the staff of our Santa Marina Beach have already been noted and informed about your complain in order to correct, maintain and even improve the quality of the service to the best possible level at all times.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I did write a review I thought.... some time ago, but as its not coming up I wanted to share my experience for anyone who knows me knows I'm pretty fussy lol. We drove to the hotel, and we were very late in the season, in fact this hotel closed the day we left, and we were invited to the closing party which was lots of fun. We were glad we hired a car as the Harbour and some of the nightlife is not walking distance, although we only went to the centre twice as we had teenagers in tow. We were greeted and told we could eat as we had arrived late and we were really greeted with the most lovely welcome, we literally just dropped our suitcases and went to the restaurant. There are two sides to the hotel, and you really want to be on the beach side, the sea view is really one of the most beautiful I have experienced. The restaurant has an inside and outside space to dine and they have some friendly dogs that are very sweet even my bf who doesn't much like dogs seemed taken by them. The beach is on your doorstep a beautiful long white sandy beach and you can walk for miles if you wish. The hotel food was good, the rooms were constantly cleaned I just can't fault it, perhaps the only fault was going when everything was shut so not much life in the area, and no entertainment at the hotel, except for on our last day. The pool side didn't seem quite so amazing, so maybe they are the people who didn't have such a great time. I'm not certain if they have entertainment in the high season; but other than that this is a great 4 star hotel and we got a great deal. If you like a nice clean room with an amazing sea view, sea air, and a lovely beach, you wont be dissapointed; we were really pleased with the whole experience. We were half board and did wish we had all inclusive mainly because like I said everything was shut in the area even the other hotels so finding lunch wasn't that easy. We drove around the Island and I looked at the other hotels in the area too, and I was more than happy with our choice, if I'd been in Chania to look and choose I couldn't have chosen better. I guess it depends on what you are looking for.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view most of the beach side rooms have a sea view and its really worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear salsadancer1970,

Thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that you are really happy for choosing our Hotel.
The management and the staff of our Santa Marina Beach Hotel always do their best in order to provide the highest level of services to all of our guests.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel on your next visit at Crete.
Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyngby, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed a week, 2 adults and 2 teenagers. Udsides are friendly staff, nice food, nice sandy beach and cosy surroundings. Downside? Be aware that the hotel is located next to the main coast road. We took half board which is nice and easy. Hotel is recommendable for a relaxing family beach variation with good opportunities for tours e.g. to Chania.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Christensen25,

Thank you very much for taking time to comment on Tripadvisor.
We are really happy to hear that you enjoy your stay in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

-Good location,
-sandy beach,
-tasty food and a lot of it,
-staff speaks good English,
-the reception is very helpful
-clean rooms,
-great atmosphere by the bar, if there is a stool than take a seat. If you have the luck to be served by Eftihis and Stavros don't move anywhere and you will surely have a great and funny evening.
-opposite the hotel a bus stop,
-hotel cooperates with a car rental company (the cheapest one we found)
-lot of shops around
-in the evenings it is a quiet place, but when someone starts to dance they immediately make room for the dance floor, dim the lights and turn up the music,
-plenty of friendly cats around,
-near the air port,
-15 minutes by bus to Chania

Room Tip: The best are the rooms on the second and above floors with the view of the sea. Although the rooms b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Jarek Z

Thank you very much for your excellent scoring review on Tripadvisor.

Your review is great and you describe plainly your experience of your stay in our Santa Marina Beach Hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel in the future.

Best regards

The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Marina Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Beach Hotel

Address: Aghia Marina Beach, Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#6 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Santa Marina Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Marina Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Beach Chania
Santa Marina Beach Hotel Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.