We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such Fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Little Fun Train

The Little Fun Train
Agia Marina, Crete, Greece
+30.28210.60817
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Oxted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Such Fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went on a Fun Train trip from the Atlantica Kalliston hotel (Nea Kydonia) almost by accident as Thomson (TUI) did the dirty on us and cancelled an excursion last minute the night before. The train isn't so well advertised at this end of the line. To find it, step out of the Kalliston and turn right and walk for 5-10 minutes down the road. You can book tickets in the Golden Wheel car-rental store on the other side. The guy there will call the train company and make sure they pick you up.

The Pleasures of Crete was a great choice. Half the enjoyment is the novelty of being on the "train", rattling along quite close to the road, with a cooling breeze. It makes you feel much closer to the surroundings than you would in an air-conditioned coach. As detailed by other reviewers, this trip takes in viewpoints, a monastery, a small village and an olive-oil processing facility. But as well as all this itinerary you get a scenic trip away from the coast up into the hills.

A great half-day out but can be a bit of a bone-shaker in places. However, the driver always slows down when there are any serious pot-holes or cracks in the road. We paid 17 euros a head for the trip which we didn't think unreasonable and was much cheaper than full-on coach based excursions.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    29
    10
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
1 review
“Sometimes slowness is good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The tour SOUTHERN COMFORT passed through green and fine nature with many olive-trees and orange- trees, flowers and beautiful views. We saw historical sites and stoped at two nice coffee-shops. It was only to choose one of them.
At the eveningtour WESTERN ADVENTURE we visited the Church of Saint John, which is inside a cave. Interesting.
Next stop was at the presumably oldest olive-tree in the World. In the next houses there are
olive oil museum.
At last we could learn about how people produce raki, and taste if we wanted.
This is a good way to see villages outside the touristareas. The nice guide Andreas told us
interesting things about places we passed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Pleasures of Crete Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We took the Pleasures of Crete tour from Maleme. Brought our tickets from the beach front counter. It was a lot of euros but it's the sort of thing you have to do on holiday, so we didn't mind. We come to Crete every year to stay with Expat family, and keep meaning to do this. Our five year old finally wore us down! We picked this particular tour as it seemed to have the more interesting things for a child to look at.

The train took us up the peninsula to the Gonia Monastery where we could have a look around for an extra fee (2 euros per adult, children under 8 free) Women were not allowed in if they were wearing shorts (my cropped trousers were fine) but they had massive sarongs that you could use. You could not take photographs inside the monastery but there was a balcony where you could take pictures of the fantastic view outside. There was also a short photo stop a few minutes before you arrived so you could take photos from a distance of the outside of the building. There are toilets (a hole in the ground!) and a water fountain to refill your bottles.

We then travelled to the very top (great views) to a village where there was a gift shop and a couple of tavernas where you could have a trip and toilet break. (proper WCs!)

We then travelled back down the hill on a different route to the olive oil factory where we had a tour of where they press the olives, and then had some olive oil and raki tasting, and a chance to buy olive oil. We came home with a small bottle of local oil.

We had an enjoyable time. Wouldn't want to do a second trip on this particular holiday, but we will definitely do a different tour on our next visit to Crete. We went to places off the main tourist route that we wouldn't have gone to and saw some fantastic views and sights.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“The little fun train, Platanias”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Took the 7 villages tour. 17 Euros for adults. Duration approx. 3,5 hours. Nice tour through 7 small villages in the uphills of Platanias. One Taverna stop approx. 1/2 hour, 2 other stops for Raki and honey tasting, as well as olive oil sales. Nice views. Seats on train quite narrow,which can give som backpain on some of the roads as suspension could be better on the train. Guiding on some of the route. Nice views but perhaps a bit expensive, however all in all ok. Tickets can be bought on boots on main street.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent and priceworthy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Lot´s of to see for little money. For children too. About seven routes to choose. Be prepared to have good time with "slow" speed :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Fun Train also viewed

Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
Agia Marina, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Little Fun Train? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Little Fun Train, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Little Fun Train to your Saves list