We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel shame about overbooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Marina Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Marina Plaza to your Saves list
Santa Marina Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Agia Marina
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel shame about overbooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just returned from Santa Marina Plaza and I must say the hotel is spotlessly clean, food is ok, sometimes it is not very warm which I think can be dangerous especially the meat. I would rate this hotel as 4* NOT 5* as I have been to some 5* hotels and this certainly isn't in the 5* bracket. I have worked in catering for years so I know what should be expected from a 5* establishment, now in saying that the al la carte meal was first class. The staff are mostly very nice especially Marina in the dining room she certainly knows her job and does it very well. There seems to be a re-occurring problem of over booking which should not be happening if bookings are being taken and recorded correctly, so lets just say be careful who you book with. I think it is better to book directly with the hotel. I would stay again, the hotel is nice, its quiet, the views are beautiful but the only thing that was really annoying was the amount of beach traders annoying you on the beach it was awful. I know this has nothing to do with the hotel but we were pestered with them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear ccmow777,

Thank you very much for taking time to review us on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel!

According to your notice about the temperature of our served food, the manager and the chef are already alerted, in order to adjust it to the needs of our guests.

Regarding your refer to the beach traders, we would like to inform that the beach does not belong to the hotel, it is although rented by the hotel and we are putting very strong efforts to reduce these incidences.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    72
    11
    10
    4
See reviews for
39
152
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The hotel is far from lovely Chania old town and harbour and also far from all the fun in Platanias. We visited early October, and Agia Marina was very quiet. If you wanted nightlife, you had to take a bus or cab. One thing I do not understand: why have an outdoor pool that is simply a decoration? The water was icy. And we had a room with a non-view: a roof and a wall, if you really stretched yourself you could spot the sea behind a tree.
The breakfast was nice. And so were the beds.

Room Tip: Do not accept a low number, 01 or 02
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Meiju M,

Thank you very much for taking this time to comment us on Tripadvisor.
The location of our Santa Marina Plaza is clearly on our official web site and on any web site that somebody can make a reservation from. It is 8 kilometres or 15 minutes drive to Chania city centre and about 2 kilometresor5 minutes drive to Platanias. We do not believe that is distance can be characterised as to be far. Anyway, we believe that you should choose a hotel to Platanias or into the city of Chania, and this is something that the hotel cannot take any blame of as it was your choice to visit Santa Marina Plaza which is clearly locatd in Aghia Marina.
The outdoor pool is not for a decoration. Any of our guest can swim and they actually do so until today. Maybe the atmosphere temperatures during your stay was not too high as it can be the case in autumn sometimes. Due to this fact, the temperature at water in the pool dropped down. In any case our swimming pool has fresh water and is not advertised as a heated one. So, again you knew about this in advance.

regarding your view from the room it is something that is quite objective. Some guest are requesting from us these rooms on the groundfloor. If you were not totally happy with the room, you could have given us a chance to change it, however we did not receive such an information from your side.

We would like to thank you once again for your comment and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Hotel.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Firstly, I would like to refer you to my review "Perfect Holiday" from my previous visit, 7th to 21st June of this year, please read this prior to continuing.

After reading the above, I can continue,in that, both my wife and I looked forward to a further two weeks holiday at the "Plaza" and we were not disappointed.

On our arrival at the "Plaza", on 20th September, we were greeted by the staff as if we were "old friends", who had been away and had now returned. They were wonderful.

I can only describe the "Plaza" as an "Oasis", for no matter what hassles there are at the front of the hotel, as you walk through the front door's, you walk into a quiet tranquil area with "friends" around you.

On entering our room, it was well presented and had a bottle of wine and fruit on the table to greet us. I must admit, at our request, it was even the same room which we occupied in June.

The meals again were very good, with choices from both Greek and an international cuisine.

The "a la carte" menu was still being served on the beach, which was wonderful, and the selection was superb. I believe that we attended one of the last to be served on the beach for this season.

Although there were many nationalities at the "Plaza" during our stay, their greetings were pleasant, even with the language barrier.

May I yet again, thank the management and "all" of the staff for their personal touches to make this another holiday to remember.

All in all, I can only say that this was another "Perfect Holiday"!!

Penny and Barrie

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Barrie S,
Thank you very much for comment again on Tripadvisor.
First of all, we would like to inform you that we are really happy when we are welcoming repeating guests to our Hotel.

The best reward for us is the satisfaction and the pleasure of our guests.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel next year.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. The best thing about this hotel is the service we received. Everyone was so helpful and welcoming and had a positive attitude which seemed so genuine and not fake.
We liked our room which had a lovely garden view and was so near the sea; the sound of the ocean was breathtaking and we had all the privacy we wanted.
We did a lot of walking and found the reception staff great at helping to organise a trip for us.
The cleaner was exceptional at keeping on top of our mess from the hiking.
The location is great with busses in all directions of Western Crete and the sea on your doorstep.
We liked breakfast and dinner; they do a dope roast chicken.
When things go wrong usually my husband writes the hotel review. This time he has got none to say hence I am stepping in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear CCB186338,
Thank you very much for your excellent scoring on Tripadvisor.
It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay and all of the facilities of our Santa Marina Plaza Luxury Boutique Hotel.
Thank you for all your compliments! We really appreciate it!

We are looking forward to welcoming you in our hotel on your next visit at Crete.

Best regards,
The management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Reading the recent reviews I can only say that we agree on the positive reviews: A very nice, quiet and tidy hotel.
A great effort was always shown from the staff to keep the hotel area nice, clean and tidy. This includes the restaurant, the beach area, the pool area and the rooms. The staff was very polite, friendly, helpfull - and smiling. The buffet had a good selection. We had at room with 180 deg seaview - and a spacious balcony. I find the beach to be the best in the area. The hotel is located in an area with a lot of small shops ( majority souvenirs) and cafes/ restaurants. A supermarket is next door. A bus stop is very close - it takes app 30 minutes to go to Chania

Room Tip: Rooms with seaview are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Bodil S,

Thank you very much for your review.

We look forward to seeing you again!

Best regards

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Östersund
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very nice Clean hotel, Lovely room with with wonderful sea view. The staff was allways helpful and very kind, as a guest you could feel the warm atmospher between the staff. Breakfast and dinnerbuffe had a good selesction and tasted very good. The dinner at the beach was wonderful and magical.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Eva Britt,

Thank you very much for your wonderful email. We feel very greatful for your recognition.

We wish you a nice winter! Hope to see you again soon!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolbotn, Norway
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the third time we are visiting Santa Marina Plaza, and it will not be the last time. The hotel is fantastic, all is very clean og the staff is very, very friendly. The hotel is situated near to the sea, and the beach is so excellent as possible. We were at the hotel in two weeks and we loved every day. We really are coming back to this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GiannoulisHotels, Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Plaza, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tone T,

Thanks once again for your visit to our hotel! All of our staff and the management really appreciate your wonderful words!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Best regards,

The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Marina Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Plaza

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73014, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agia Marina
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Santa Marina Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA PLAZA Hotel is built at the sun-blessed beach of Aghia Marina, at a mere 8 kilometers from the city of Chania. It’s looking forward to offering to every visitor of the island, an unforgettable stay in one of its 49 luxurious rooms and 2 Junior Suites.All hotel rooms have magnificent view of the sea and are equipped with a Mini-Bar, Air-Conditioning, Satellite TV, Radio, two direct dial telephones, wireless internet line, electronic safe, bathroom covered in marble and a hair dryer. In addition to the above, Laundry service, Childcare service, Room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Marina Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Plaza Hotel Agia Marina
Santa Marina Plaza Chania
Santa Marina Plaza Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Marina Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.