We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value Crete hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Folia Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Folia Apartments to your Saves list
Folia Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 23 Hotels in Agia Marina
troon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good value Crete hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

we went to Crete in September for a week and although it was the end of the season with few guests in any of the hotels it was a pleasant relaxing time with the hotel being in easy reach of the beach and plenty of good restaurants. The staff were helpful and the room and pool clean and tidy. if you can get a front facing room - as we did - it is much better with a good balcony and stunning views as the hotel is set a couple of streets back from the front.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    43
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
116
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twise.Both times our room was a nice room with nice room also.Generally our staying here was pleasant.You can't always park inside but it's not a big problem.The owners are friendly as they should.Clean and located.in a nice place with a panoramic view the front rooms overlooking the pool and the Santa Marina beach.If you are young and wanna party it's worth staying at folia because its 15 min on foot from hotel to the famous clubs.one thing I didn't like was the fact that they were spayed with pesticides the olives trees during our stay and the smell was awfully .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

I came to the Chania area for work purposes and chose this hotel for its excellent value and reviews. I was not disappointed. I was presented with a large spacious room with excellent views of the ocean and Chania city. The room was cleaned every day and bedding and towels changes every other day - fab service. Great parking facilities if you have a car. The pool was lovely and most days I had it to myself as I visited during the later summer months. Being a family run hotel gives Folia such a wonderful atmosphere. The owners' mother even let me try some traditional Cretan food she was cooking or her sons' lunches. I hope I can come back to the area next year for work and I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Munstereifel, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The stay here is absolutely advisable !!!!

We I stayed at Folia Hotel in Agia Marina near Chania from 8th to 16th Sept., 2012.

The location of the hotel in the village Agia Marina is very quiet and ideal to relax. The hotel rooms are comfortable and well designed. On the hotel premises there are parking facilites.
From the hotel rooms you have a fantastic view over the area. The special thing about this hotel is the pleasant swimming-pool and the opportunity to be served drinks there.

And you can reach the beach easily in 12 minutes. The sandy beach is wonderful in Agia Marina. The shops and services on Main Street are situated within easy reach from the hotel.
There is a public bus service for people who want to visit Chania. The buses run regularly and are cheap.
The Milonakis family is very friendly and helpful .You should not miss the rich offered breakfast: British and continental.

Erika and Marius Schulten Bad Münstereifel Germany

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Folia is foremost a hotel of great value. For a modest price customers receive a comfortable and timeless atmosphere. The design of the hotel in my opinion is of its strongest suits, being beautiful to look at both inside and outside the guest room, with a great architectural plan from the outset, being on a hill, and the great view from our room, overlooking the buildings towards the sea.

The pool area includes a small bar, many lounge and seating chairs, tables, it is close to the reception, which is always accompanied by someone eager to help. The design of the pool area allows for great sun tanning, but also allows shaded areas to relax comfortably.

The breakfast is buffet style, so you can get your fill before starting the day, for a reasonable price.

This location I appreciated for multiple reasons, however to sum it up, it is close enough to any endeavours you might have on the western side of Crete.

Folia is an excellent hotel, a great choice when staying near Chania. We recommend all travellers in Crete to stay at Folia, we will hopefully be back someday in the near future.

Room Tip: See if you can get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Just back from 2 wonderful weeks staying at the Hotel Folia. First time for us at the Chania side of the island (normally travel to Ag Nik or Elounda) so wasnt sure what to expect. Neednt have worried as Folia was a great choice of hotel and Agia Marina was a great place to visit. The apartment we had was perfect. Free air con was fantastic as was the free wifi at the pool. The rooms were spotlessly clean and towels/sheets were changed every few days. Kitchen area had everything we needed for lunch and the village had lots of great tavernas - Taverna Horiatiko being our personal favourite closely followed by Kouroupis Taverna. The hotel is run by a lovely family. The pool is excellent and the pool bar very reasonably priced for drinks. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel. Book - you will not be disappointed. We're already looking at a return visit for next year. Thanks again to the family for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the left of the building near the driveway as they have the sun on your balcony al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just returned after spending a week at Folia Hotel with my girlfriend and we thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The positive comments about the hotel pretty much reflect our experience. The hotel was very clean, provided a good breakfast, had free internet and was close to all the facilities. We travelled to Chania, Balos, Elofinissi and Samaria Gorge very easily from there. The hotel is also very near to the beach. The family who run it are great, really nice people who assisted with any requests we had and ensured our stay was a pleasant one. In all, very good value and I would have no hesitation in recommending or going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Folia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folia Apartments

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
#1 Family Hotel in Agia Marina
#2 Best Value Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Folia Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Folia consists 45 furnished and full equipped apartments with a nice view to the mountain, the sea and the city of Chania.The location of the apartments is ideal to explore the island. It is only 8km west of Chania Town. Agia Marina’s taverns and beach bars are within a 10-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Folia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folia Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Folia Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.