We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Folia Apartments

Save Saved
You added Folia Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Folia Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40 % off room rate
Ranked #1 of 21 hotels in Agia Marina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great family run hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

Very enjoyable stay , lovely helpful hosts , nice breakfast , but also able to self cater as the room we stayed in had a kitchenette - not too far from the beach - would definitely return

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    30
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
77
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We have been to the greek islands dozens of times and i've got to say this was the best hotel we've stayed in. Very friendly and helpful owners (a lovely hardworking family run business), excellant cleaners that came every day, no problems borrowing items such as an iron (in fact told to keep it for the ramainder of the holiday in case we needed if again) if needed and best of all only 5 mins walk from lots of local restaurants, supermarkets, the beach as well the the bus stop to Chania. The hotel is located on a small hill though which is fantastic for views but may not be so great for people with mobility issues. Overall, fantastic break in a lovely relaxed environment.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Had a 4 day stay here in May. The weather was brilliant as was this hotel. It was very quiet. The owners were very nice and nothing was too much for them. The rooms were very clean. The floors were stone and good when it was warm. the views were stunning. Mountains to the back and a great view of the sea at the front.

A very short walk to the beach( which was stunning). Stay in Agia Marin rather than Chania. It is only a short bus trip and they are very regular. They even run every hours throughout the night at weekends. Although there is plenty to do here. plenty of bars and resteraunts....and all were very friendly.

I would go back again in a heartbeat.

negative points( and these in no way effected my trip)
It is up a hill so if you are very unfit or are older/not in good health take care
The swimming pool.........no, Olympic swimmers please ha ha. It is small but very nice to sit beside.

All in all a great holiday, helped by the comfort of the hotel and the lovely staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We have just returned from this lovley friendly family run hotel. very clean rooms, (which are also very large by greek standards) a double comfy bed, complimentary bottle of water in the fridge on arrival, a bathroom with bath and shower (again unusal for Greece) a nice size balcony with lovely views. Brothers Nickos and Giannis will do everything possible to make your stay a pleasant one so special mention to them and their family for such a great holiday, they work hard all day and night to keep everyone happy and the hotel in tip top condition. The pool is lovely, we never had a problem getting a sun bed whatever time we came down (often after lunch time). There are some lovely restaurants near by in the old agia marina area such as Manolis, Nymfi and Synaxis, all worth a visit. Supermarket just across the road, bus stop near by for a trip to Chania (a must). We paid 40Euros for a taxi from the airport to the hotel, but on the way back Gianni arranged this for us at just 35Euros. Dont bother buying water at the supermarket and carrying it back to the hotel in the heat, they sell it at the hotel for the same price 1.90Euros for 6 x 1 litre bottles. Greek Salad at lunch with takziki round the pool was lush, also very cheap drinks from the bar, 2Euros for a beer, just beware of Nicko's very strong cocktails at 5euros.. ;-) all in all a great location, great hotel, and friends for life... and we will be back ! Just sad we had to leave :-(

Room Tip: Book a sew view room at the front of the hotel... all rooms are very quiet so a good night sleep is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Me and my OT stayed here last week and it was perfect.
We stayed on a room only bases.
The room was very clean and large for Greek accom, there was a bath rather than a wet room. With a powerful hot shower.
There was a bottle of water already in the fridge, nice touch.
Free air conditioning and a free safe to use at reception.
A nice balcony overlooking the mountains and some of the bay.
The swimming pool was great there was hardly anybody around it all week so it felt very private. The sunbeds were great quality. And a beer of Mythos for €2 which was a great price.
It's was a 5 minute stroll max to the main strip and beach bars and restaurants and also the bus stop that takes you to Chania centre for €1.60 and takes approx 10-15 mins. The weather was great, 30 deg all week without a single cloud in the sky.
The hotel also sells excursions, car hire, beach towel hire and even water packs for your room and it's as cheap as the shop.
Full credit really has to go to Yannis and Nikos the brothers who run this family hotel, they are so friendly and will do anything for you. Oh and a great bonus for me was free wifi around the pool and reception area for checking my emails.
All in all I would definatly visit this hotel again without a doubt in the world. If you are reading this then look no further and book now. Many thanks for a great holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked into this hotel in April due to its excellent reviews on trip advisor.
We arrived at the hotel saturday am - greeted in reception by friendly and helpful staff Yannis and Nickos. Both these gentlemen continued to remain very helpful throughout our stay - also making us laugh alot, no problem would be too much for this pair, always keen to help. The breakfast we had included was continental and just what you need to set yourself up for the day, from 8-10.30. The hotel location is a little of the beaten track, not suitable for any one with walking issues, as most routes upto the hotel on are on a hill. The room was bright, clean and had everything we needed and a lovely balcony over looking the sea, cleaned and bed made every day also. Good value for money, lovely clean pool, will definately be going back to this hotel as soon as possible - cant wait for our next trip to this beatiful location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Clean, charming, calm and conveniently located. Great location to explore Western Side of Crete with friendly and dedicated staff. Would go there again in a heartbeat. Thank you Folia for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Seaside Apartments are particularly lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Folia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Folia Apartments

Address: Agia Marina, Crete 73100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Agia Marina
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Folia Apartments 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Folia consists 45 furnished and full equipped apartments with a nice view to the mountain, the sea and the city of Chania.The location of the apartments is ideal to explore the island. It is only 8km west of Chania Town. Agia Marina’s taverns and beach bars are within a 10-minute walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Folia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Folia Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Folia Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.