We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, beautiful views, excellent value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabello Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mirabello Apartments to your Saves list
Mirabello Apartments
Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
4.5 of 5 stars 84 Reviews
Wirral, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, beautiful views, excellent value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This was our first holiday to Greece and after reading the reviews we decided to book at Mirabello. We were pleasantly surprised as it was far better than we expected. Our itinerary specified an inland view but we got a room with a balcony overlooking the pool with a sea view! My husband and I had breakfast most mornings on the balcony enjoying the beautiful view.
We had room 9, which consists of a small kitchenette,dinning table, couch, two single beds pushed together and en suite shower room. The room was cleaned by the lovely Christina every day except for Sunday.
We have to also mention that Lefteris "Leftie" and Kostas were so warm and welcoming and made our stay that much more memorable.
The location is excellent as its a short walk down hill to the main street where all the hustle and bustle is. So the apartments are nice and quiet but not too far from the restaurants,shops and beaches.
We recommend trying the sight-seeing train tours. They aren't too long on average 3 hrs which doesn't take up the whole day. We also recommend going to the local travel agents for price comparison against the tour operator excursions. A trip to Chania and its old town is also recommended which is only a short bus trip away, about 10kms.
There is so much to see and do in western Crete, we will definitely be coming back for another holiday and stay at Mirabello. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: 2/3 bed studio apts normally have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We are a young couple who came across this on Olympic holidays and after reading reviews on here we booked it. The rooms are very spacious with a kitchenette and bathroom. We had room 3 and the description stated it had an inland view but it had a spacious balcony with a view of the pool and the sea beyond. The room was cleaned 6 out of 7 days and we had our towels replaced with clean ones in the middle of the week. There is a pool bar with a variety of drinks and the barman lefty offers amazing service and is always there to help. He made everyone feel very welcome, and one of the highlights of the merabello! He also held a traditional bbq one night with creten food that was delicious!! The accommodation was in an excellent location as it was just up a hill away from the main street so was quiet but it was a 2 minute walk down the hill to all the bars and restaurants. We would recommend a trip to chania as the old port is gorgeous night or day and is only 1.60€ for a single trip and takes about 15 mins from the bus stop at the bottom of the hill. It is a must see. There is a lot to do in the resort of agia marina for everyone from families to couples. The reason that we put 4 stars for the room as we had 2 single beds pushed together but don't let that put you off as it was still comfortable. One of the best holidays we have been on and we will definitely be returning next year as it is such good value for money!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was our second time staying at Merabello, I chose these apartments last June because of the excellent reviews and the location near Hania, brilliant find! They are such good value for money.... Agia Marina is a bit too commercialised for me but these apartments are a great base to discover western crete and for visiting the beautiful Hania. Everything you need is within easy reach from the apartments, only 5 mins to the local beach/restaurants, right next door to a supermarket and the bus stop to Hania at the bottom of the road...

We stayed in the villa block (villa 5) about 2 mins walk up the rd from the pool which was a very spacious 2 bed 1st flour apartment with a large balcony. There are fabulous views of the sea and coast reaching far to Hania and its a real sun trap having sunshine all day plus a large parasol for shade if needed....we loved it! I really needed some time out, a quiet/peaceful place to chill after having ongoing illness after an operation a couple of yrs ago and these apartments were perfect being just enough distance away from the main tourist area. I've stayed in many greek apartments and most are quite basic but i think these have to be the best of them all - the surrounding gardens were very beautiful - full of flowering plants and these plus the apartments and pool are very well maintained by the lovely owner Kostas.

All the staff are great, pool and bar are kept immaculately clean as are the apartments, even though i'm not really a pool person so didnt spend much time there - prefer to get out and about to explore different beaches and the local culture/villages. Aghia Marina beach is just accross the rd and is nice, most sunbeds & umbrellas cost 7 euros. Sebastians restaurant on the beach was lovely, great food/atmosphere and amusing waiters, they also have a greek music night on fridays. The most beautiful beach was Elafonissi with crystal clear waters and white & pink sands its about 1 hr 30 mins drive from Agia Marina, well worth the long drive, best get there before 12 as gets very busy or there are coach trips available each day (more expensive with the reps so best go to a local agent in Hania to check). Visted Falassarna beach too which was lovely and not so busy - about 1 hr drive, also drove to ancient ruins at Aptera (30 mins drive) over looking Souda bay which has wonderful views. Went to Agii Apostoli too this is on the way to Hania about 4 miles (i just asked the bus driver to tell me when at the right bus stop).....Iguana beach is pretty, there are 3 beaches to choose from all shallow waters so very good for kids, very sheltered being in their own coves. Alot of the locals from Hania visit at the weekends so gets very busy, best go during the week even though there are not many shops it has some good tavernas such as 'Andreas' for lunch.

I absolutely fell in love with Hania!.....Infact its one of the prettiest harbours i've seen and the sunset is stunning very romantic. Its so beautiful and full of charm, lovely venetian buildings and quaint narrow streets. The old town had the best restaurants, less expensive than on the harbour front some of them charge far too much for drinks. One of my favourate restaurants however was at the other end away from the old town called 'To Karnagios', very good quality food and slightly hidden away towards the venetian shipyards also known as Grand Arsenals. Palazzo Almare restaurant had good quality food even though not such a large selection on the menu, (this was on the harbour front past the turkish mosque which now shows exhibitons) - i checked this out on trip advisor before i went had v good reviews! Fabulous to sit there and watch the sunset. All the locals were very friendly and restaurants gave us free mini deserts at the end of our meals plus the usual toxic Raki lol .....it is supposed to help digestion i was told by a charming waiter but not mine!? A walk along to the lighthouse is a must too - i studied photography and design at university and took some amazing photos of the sunset and looking back towards the harbour.

Having visited many of the greek islands this has to be my favourite and would love to stay at these apartments again next year, booking two weeks instead of one hopefully, just not enough time to explore in just the one! A big thankyou to lovely Kostas

Sadie xx

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Fantastic place and people. Very clean, large villa, beautiful gardens.
Kostas was really welcoming and helpfull though out our stay, he went the extra mile to make your stay a good one.(don't rely on the Rep!)
Lovely pool area and bar, great food at BBQ. Big thankyou to Lefteris, Adatha, Kostas & the lovely cleaning lady. only had one week stay, needed more time to enjoy and relax next time we will book two weeks.
Real Greek restaurant in Aghia Marina has really good food. once again lovley people.
Thank You

Room Tip: The ground floor big 2 bedroom Villa, large gardens with patio areas, short 50m walk to the main app...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We couldn't recommend these apartments highly enough. They are very clean, well equipped and in a fabulous location. The pool is great...as is Leftris' bar, and the views from the apartments are fabulous.
The location of the apartments is ideal, a very short walk from the beach and resturants, and an even shorter walk to a supermarket, the bus stop less than a 5 minute walk away.
We couldn't think of a better place to stay in Agia Marina.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here late June 2014. First time. Rooms are basic but spacious and immaculately clean with the most fantastic views. All the staff are great, Kosta the manager, Agatha and Lefteris will make you feel at home. 5 mins to main road 15 mins to the village center. Many nice Tavernas in Agia Marina. Frequent buses to Chania. Easy to get to Meleme, Galatas and Souda for war cemeteries and battle of Crete (WWII).

Don't go to Edem travel agency right on the main road at bottom, they cancelled our Samaria Gorge trip at the last minute and said it was the weather for the next day (too windy for the boats). We checked next day and everyone else s trip had been successful. So to be frank - they lied to us when we went to get our money back even though we had checked on the web. Also they said they didn't have the Greek tourist agency complaint form which is illegal!

Room Tip: Top Floor fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Just returned from the Miabello. Second trip in 2 years, as we did last year we found it a brilliant place to stay. Good location,spacious rooms with all the facilities you need . Great pool and pool bar with fantastic service from Lefteris and Agatha not forgetting Kostas who made us feel so welcome. Such a great place with lovely people. Already making plans to revisit next year. A big thank you to Kostas. Lefteris and Agatha

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 3 & 4. Nice to overlook the pool and gardens .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Apartments

Address: Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Mirabello Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Mirabello Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabello Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.