We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been twice and will probably be back again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mirabello Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Agia Marina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mirabello Apartments
Save
You added Mirabello Apartments to your Saves list
Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Been twice and will probably be back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We've just returned from another great week at the Mirabello having spent a week there last year around this time. And it'll probably be the first apartments we check next summer as well. The reason? Well, the apartments are a good size, clean, well located ..... and excellent value. If you just want to sit around the pool or on the beach all day, and eat out in the evening (which is what we did most of the time), then it's fine. If you want it as a base to get around western Crete, then that's fine as well. It does what it does well, and at a great price. One minor niggle, though : the noise. As well as the incessant cicadas in July and August, traffic can be a bit noisy at times. (This may be because we were in the room closest the road this year; last year we were the other side of the apartments and I can't remember it being an issue ..... but then I had forgotten the cicadas as well LOL). And, of course, there's Lefteris.

Room Tip: Room #1 is next to the road and traffic noise is noticeable, unlike our room at the other end of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
53
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic holiday in Crete!! We stayed at the Mirabello Apartments for one week from the 21st July. We went with our two children (3 and 8 yrs) and my partner's brother, wife and their 2 year old. We were all in the Villa's which were clean, with large bed rooms, lovely balconies and great garden area. I was very impressed with the Villa's and although perhaps a bit too hot at night the entire holiday went without a complaint. I am fussy about where I stay and had been told the apartments can be quite basic in Crete, so was not expecting much. The Mirabello, however, was lovely and nicer than many places I have stayed in Spain. Pool area was very nice and 'Lefty' was very funny and very good at his job! I would highly recommend a trip to Elafonisi Beach - so beautiful. The Old Town in Agia Marina is also worth a walk to and we had our best meal there. Previously we have holidayed in Lanzarote, Teneriefe, Menorca etc but I have to say that Crete would be my destination of choice for sometime to come. Loads to see and do and 7 nights was just not long enough. The only thing I would advise is buy lots of bug spray and plug in things as the mozzy's are small but deadly - we were bitten every night!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Sorry about the in joke in the title but once you have been there you'll understand
My wife and I visited the Mirabello for two weeks from the 7th to the 21st June and they were truly excellent. Our studio was clean and spacious, with the basics required for self catering. The cleaner came in every other day and linen and towels were changed on Tuesdays and Saturdays. The pool and pool bar area were always clean and never crowded, Kostos the owner was around most days if you needed anything. As other postings have mentioned the pool bar is run by Lefterres, a very hard working and friendly guy. He offers good quality snacks and its a great place to relax after your evening meal with small groups of people gathering for a chat before retiring for the night. Lefterres has many catchphrases that you will come to know the most commonly heard being 'Excuse Me' and 'I love these apartments'. He is a real and genuine character and is always willing to help.
There are two supermarkets within a few yards of the apartments and both offered good value and most thing you would need. One blessing is that the water is safe to drink (we only used it for teas and coffees etc0 and that cuts down the amount you need to buy and carry.
The apartments are on the eastern edge of the resort up a slight hill (if you have serious walking difficulties then with the hill and the stairs up to the apartments I would say to look elsewhere) just follow the road beside the pool (despite a previous posting this is not a main road and is quite quiet) down to the main road and turn left for Agia Marina or cross the road for the beach. Agia marina centre is around 10 minutes walk but the beach is only about 2 or 3. If you want a bus to Chania or Melema the stops are at the bottom of the hill either side of the road and you can buy tickets at the adjacent supermarkets or on the bus.
We tried several local Tavernas during our stay and never really had a bad meal or poor service. The Cretans like to take their meals slow so don't expect to be rushed (the staff are not ignoring you they just want you to enjoy your meal in piece) but some of the less traditional places run at a slightly faster pace. The best food, without question is in the old town (turn right outside the back of the apartments and follow the road) at Manilos, very Cretan and very nice. A typical two course meal meal (one starter between two is normally more than enough) at most places with a drink each was around 25-35 Euros but lower cost options were also available for those on tight budgets. Of the Tavernas on the main strip through Agia Marina Raeti did excellent pizza and local draft beer while Lottos on the opposite side of the road did a very nice steak. The Aletri (turn right at the garage and its on the right hand side) also served good quality traditional food. We were disappointed with Mythos taverna however, as we had seen some good reviews, the starter and meat were very good but it was the only place we were served frozen vegetables rather than fresh. Closer to the hotel Tempo, run by Bulgarians, offered some nice different dishes at reasonable prices.
For places to visit Chania tops the list with a simple bus ride (1.60 Euros each way) and buses every 15 minutes during the day and 30 minutes after 5pm. Don't eat or drink at the harbour front its not that good and it's expensive, wander around the back streets or into the newer parts of the town and you'll find better food and prices. I would recommend a car (we booked ours with the rep 125 Euros for 3 days, there are cheaper deals to be had but make sure you get full insurance) rather than taking trips, driving is simple as long as you pay attention. We visited Sphakia on the south cost, a lovely scenic drive and the option of taking some boat trips from Sphakia if you like. Elafonissi is a great beach but get there early as it gets very busy after lunch ( there is also a bus from Agia Marina, ask at the supermarkets near the bus stops for times/costs, which some people used it goes down in the morning and I think comes back after around 4 hours).
The military cemeteries at Souda (allied) and Maleme (German) are very moving but remember while around 4000 soldiers died during the battle for Crete over 8000 Cretan civilians were killed during the occupation and you will see memorials to them in many towns and villages.
A drive up into the mountain villages will reveal lovely scenery and some nice tavernas for a light lunch or just a quiet drink.

The only blight on our holiday was I'm afraid some of our fellow travellers on the way home. We travelled with Olympic who used Tor Air for the flights, having not been able to agree terms (I guess that means prices) with Monarch. The flight out was fine and there was more leg room than normal on the aircraft, the staff were friendly and all in all it was a good flight. However the flight home was delayed by 14 hours due to mechanical problems with the aircraft at Manchester before it flew out. We were initially advised it would be a five hour delay but this gradually crept out to 8, 10 and eventually 14. Now the reps did their very best to keep us informed with the information they were given from the airline via the local handling agent. The airlines information was to say the least poor but this was not the fault of these individuals. Mechanical problems with aircraft are not always a quick fix and it was a case of make the best of it. Now the delay was bad but bearable, however what really, really drove us mad was the loud chest beating tantrums of a few passengers who seemed determined to make the reps and the the poor guy from the handling agents personally suffer. These individuals strutted around and badgered the reps at every opportunity. Helpful phrases like 'my aunties a travel agent and she says..', 'I know my rights' and 'I told you this would happen, didn't I' were heard loud and often. We had all had a very long day (the reps and the guys from the handling agents included) we were tired and it was not the way I would have chosen to spend the night but it was made so much harder by the behaviour of those few individuals who eventually reduced the rep to tears. They achieved nothing, they got nothing and like the rest of use if they wish to make a claim they will have to contact the airline or Olympic but like loud bullies the world over I'm sure they are very proud of the way they behaved.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

We stayed here 24/5/2011 to 7/6/2011 and LOVED it!

It has 15 apartments split (I think) between 10 in the main building and 5 in a separate villa approx 100 yards away.

We stayed in the villa in a 2 bedroom apartment.
Our room was at the front and it had a front sea view and great side views along the bay towards Chania. It gets early morning sun.
The balcony was massive, you could have probably fit half a dozen sunbeds on it as well as the marble topped table and 4 chairs.
It was about 20’ x 10’ with a further wide path that led up from the entrance steps.
It was very private and not overlooked.
(Oi! Audrey – what were you doing on our balcony looking at the view? LOL
Sorry we never got chance to have a glass of wine together.)

A central entrance led into a kitchen with a table, fridge, combi microwave/oven and 2 ring hob.
There seemed to be plenty of plates, cutlery & pans and a kettle and coffee-maker.

The bedrooms were on each side of the kitchen, both had a wardrobe, large chest of drawers and 2 bedside cabinets.
It’s one of the few places we’ve stayed where there was more than enough drawer space.
The best bedroom had patio doors onto the large balcony plus a side window with views of Chania.
It also had a small safe deposit box which cost a reasonable €10 per week.

The bathroom was clean with a half bath and shower curtain so probably the only place we’ve stayed in Greece where the bathroom floor didn’t get wet through.
There was always more than enough hot water and good water pressure.

We found the rooms very quiet, no road noise at all.

Bedding/towels were changed twice a week, with the loo bin being emptied 4 times a week (I think they missed Tues/Wed and Sunday).
They also provide loo rolls which in our experience is unusual for self catering accommodation.

There is a supermarket next door which was cheaper than one we found on the main road so definitely worth using.
They have fresh bread daily.

The main apartments have a pool and pool bar.
It was very clean and Lefteris who runs the bar keeps it clean, mopping the area regularly
Lefteris is one of the nicest people you could ever hope to meet, nothing is too much trouble to him.
They do a BBQ on Saturdays, the first week we were there it was cancelled as the weather wasn’t too great and the 2nd week we’d already planned to eat in Chania but by all accounts, it’s well worth the €15 per person.
Kostas, the owner/manager was always out and about the properties so if you did have a problem, it would be sorted out quickly.

We never struggled to get a sunbed, regardless of what time we went to the pool and there didn’t seem to be any ‘getting up early to bag your sunbed’ which was nice.

It was about a 5-10 minute walk down to the main road and across to the beach.
There’s a bus stop right at the bottom of the road.

We found the location to be perfect for us, close to the old village where there are some really good tavernas.

We’d most definitely choose to stay here again, in fact I’ve already been looking.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Just spent two weeks at the lovely Mirabello Apartments in Agia Marina in the Villa room 3. comfortable and quiet and fantastic views from top balcony. Few minutes walk from Apartments. small supermarket close for all needs. Would entirely agree with comments of previous two reviews. We had a wonderful time and made it all special.We were among the people who had such a pleasant time due to the friendliness of all the people who congregated in the evening at the bar for a drink and a chat.many laughs despite fact that I was a bit below par. Lefteris is a laugh a minute [Excuse me] and looks after everyone as does the owner Kostas who is always pleasant and helpful Last week we all missed our new friends. We met two seasoned travellers staying at the Villa and enjoyed meeting them Kostas is working hard to keep up to date with the times and the lovely Lefteris, realising I was a bit breathless was ever concerned for my well.being.Lots of success in the future. Audrey8003

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Myself and my friend have just got back from here and is was awesome. Were both 25 year old females so we thought the lack of night clubs may ruin the holiday but we were blessed with a great bunch of fellow holiday makers and also a great bar man (Lefty). I was sad to leave as it was a pleasure to spend the holiday with such good company.The apartments were small and had a very homely feel to them, the size enabled every one to bond which would not have happened in a hotel or large apartments. I would reccomend these apartments to any one who wants to relax on their holidays. The apartments were wonderfully clean, with a cleaner every day coming around. Would reccomend though to take an extra towel and a toaster. Missing the apartments and the friends we made here very much.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

Good quality accommodation with fantastic views over the bay and island from your bedroom and balcony.
We stayed in apartment 5 opposite the pool. O.K. so the bacony doesn't get the sun until late afternoon, so sit in front of your apartment for breakfast in the sun!
Yes, Lefteris' Greek salads are very good, but whatever you do, DON'T miss his breakfast on your last morning if your flight time permits. You will certainly leave with a smile!
He really provides a good atmosphere around the pool (Excuse me!*) and is a lovely caring man.
Can't fault this accommodation or resort in any way. Kostas, the owner is very friendly and will sort out any problems you might have.
A good taverna is Manolis in the old town, although you would struggle to find poor service anywhere.
We were lucky to share our week with an excellent gang of holiday makers from around the North West of England. They were the icing on the holiday cake.
*You need to visit to get the "Excuse me" gag.

Room Tip: All bedrooms are of equal quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mirabello Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Apartments

Address: Ioannou Kapodistria & Voukoleos, Agia Marina, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Agia Marina
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Agia Marina
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Mirabello Apartments Hotel Chania Town
Mirabello Apartments Agia Marina, Chania, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mirabello Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.