We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
pinehurst, nc.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2007

We just returned from Marriott Los Suenos - beautifuil hotel. We are senior citizens and celebrated ouir 55 wedding anniversary. We did the zip line tour, Manual antonio national state park and also the crocodile tour. They all were arranged by the hotel.

Suggest getting transportation from airport through Marriott-we took a local van which did not have air conditioned. iTS a long hot bumpy
ride from San Jose - 2 hours. We had several meals at the hotel - all
were good. The hook at the Marina serves breakfast, lunch and dinner and it is really nice with a beautiful view and only a short distance
from the hotel. There is also an Italian rest. jap rest and a fine dining rest, which we didn't try. Had anniversary dinner at Adventure
Dining at the Tree House - about 15 minutes away. Jack only takes 15 people and the sunset is really supposed to be beautiful, but it rained all the time during dinner and after dinner. We didn't see sunset. Dinner was delicious We didn't play golf $120 per person plus s$40 to rent clubs - it was too muggy and hot - Nobody on beautifuil golf couirse. Casino was small but interesting -

  • Liked — rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    297
    95
    42
    22
See reviews for
299
392
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2007

We flew to San jose and stayed at the Marriot in san Jose for the first night. The next day we went to los Suenos Marriot and stay three days there. The pool area was very clean and keeped up.A number of pools that went into each other with a water falls as you come out of the Hotel. There breakfest was very good. there Rest. were also good. Charter a boat and went fishing out of there with a local fisher man , in a 24 foot boat . We did very good in shore. We are planning another trip there next year. They meet your every need with out a complaint. Tours were great from there . They treated you like a king and queen there.

  • Liked — they took care of anything that you wanted
  • Disliked — little expensive
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, WV
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2007

Long flight and 2 hour bus Ride from San Jose make getting here difficult, but the beauty of this Hotle makes it worth it. Beautiful warm pool is very inviting. The grounds are spacious and full of flora. It is also full of gecko's and iguana's. One got so close to my wife that she had to count her toes. The breakfast in the morning is one of the best breakfasts I have ever had. The cheese were woderful, The omelettes outstanding, and the fruit is unbeatable anywhere in the world. The guacamole is the best that I have ever had. They use lime in it and it is a hit. Over all I thing that this hotel has many plusses and if you have to pick on anything, it could be the small casino, the humidity, or ????. I can't really think of any problems. Highly recommend

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2007

Have been to CR 11 (eleven) times and found this hotel to be overpriced and overhyped. I wanted to see what was behind all the ads that I saw for this place. I payed $571 for a deluxe ocean view room- figured I'd splurge. What I got was a room with a view of ocean, but mostly you see pool (which is gorgeous), but all you can hear is loud waterfall, and smell chlorine. There were bugs in the room by the mini-bar, rooms could use renovation (last happened in 1999), and no AC anywhere but in room. I have been all over CR and honestly this is the least value for your money-Punta Leone and Villa Caletas nearby are superior options. Don't get me wrong, the San Jose Marriott is perhaps one of the best run hotels in CR and one of my favorite-but this one is no different than any resort in Florida and going to FL may be a whole lot easier and cheaper and more fun.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Although it has been some time since I visited Costa Rica, I came across the reviews for Los Suenos, and wanted to share my opinion. Our vacation to Costa Rica is one that is still fresh in my mind. The main reason for this is how amazing Los Suenos was.
The hotel ALL around is just beautiful. The service we received was excellent from the minute we walked in to the minute we left. We never had a bad meal at any of the restaurants. We did venture off the resort to eat one night but it is not even worth it. In the evenings, we hung out at the bar and had some of the best mojitos ever. The pool is what initially caught our interest when we saw it online and it is just as beautiful as the pictures. There is not much of a beach but we are pool people anyways, so this did not bother us. Our room was fabulous, it overlooked the ocean. It was clean and spacious.
We booked a jungle tour thru the hotel and had a great time. We hiked, went horseback riding, and swam in some waterfalls.
When the time comes to revisit Costa Rice, we will definitely be staying at Los Suenos again!

  • Stayed January 2003, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Fl.
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2007

We had 2 rooms and stayed 4 days. The hotel is nice, great pool but not much else to do. Beach is not all that, rocky and brown, muddy. If you want to do anything you must travel to other ares. The only thing around is the marina.The food at the restaurants was good, much better than local spots we visited throughout the country. Unfortunately, we had lots of power outages shortly after we checked into our rooms Dec. 31. Therefore the a/c stopped working everytime and we were very hot while trying to get dressed for New Years Eve party on premises. Little did we know that the night would just get worse. The ballroom that was reserved for this elaborate party-which had a huge assortment of food and beautiful decor did not have a/c either when we arrived at 8pm. Apparently the back up generator broke and we were all in this room without a/c. The party was not cheap either nor were the rooms for this time of the year, we were charged a premium for the night of Dec. 31. The people that work at the hotel are very nice and tried very hard to please us. But it was grueling hot and NO A/C for about 3 hours! It was a shame if not for power problems it would have been a huge success. Too expensive for what you get, much nicer hotels elsewhere.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2007

This is a magnificent hotel, with spectacular lobby, very nice rooms and great public areas. The pool is truly special and beautiful . The beach is not a beach, it is only an area of soil that is unappealing.The ocean is however very pretty to look at, and sunsets are great. The food is somewhat overpriced and mediocre but there are many great restaurants around. There are beaches as close as 15 minutes away which are very pretty albeit black sand. Costa Rica is very pretty with terrible roads. Do not consider driving yourself from the airport at night. Take the hotel van. It is worth it. The major downside of this hotel, is that it does not have a concierge. They instead have LS tours which is a tour service providing everything from restaurant reservations to tours. It is housed separately in the same area as the internet connection. This tour company is absolutely awful. They lied to me on several occasions and misled me, so that I would be discouraged in going myself to certain attractions. These were in fact, easy to get to with a rental car. The tour company was charging tremendous amounts of money for tours that were 1/3 to 1/2 if you went yourself. They were also discourteous. Some were more helpful for dinner reservations, but I resorted to asking the bellman and had great success. So enjoy the hotel, rent a car and go on your own to attractions. If you are looking for a beach resort at the hotel, this is not the place for you.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Jetsetter, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.