We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful vacation at Los Suenos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation at Los Suenos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Awesome place. beautiful setting, top notch staff; friendly and efficient. Good food and very good options nearby too. Good value and everyone is so helpful and accommodating.
Comfortable, clean and attracts diverse clientele.
Availability of nearby adventures made very accessible and easy by hotel staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    323
    102
    45
    22
See reviews for
325
423
26
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I only visited the La Iguana course for a day golf outing. The staff was very friendly/helpful and tee times were widely available. [Tip: play in the morning as it frequently rains in the afternoons.] The course itself was a little water-logged in that it had rained heavily for two days prior. Nike SQ driver and irons are available for an additional $US60 (which includes 6 balls). Very scenic and challenging course. My chief complaint was with the greens: the type of grass used does not lend itself to close cutting. You really have to pound your putts, or they will stop 2 feet short!

Oh, and don't even think about searching for your ball if it enters into the surrounding flora/fauna. (Without leaving my cart, I saw iguanas (Duh!), a coati and plenty of signage for snakes and crocodiles.)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We were greeted by very kind and helpful bell hops. They not only assisted us with our bags, but made our experience a special one. Sergio was most helpful during our stay. The morning buffet is a must! The view from our room was spectacular. The hotel is in close walking distance to the Marina, where we would have dinner, cup of coffee or drinks. They also have a nice coffee shop right on the property. As a guest, you can enjoy the workout facilities that are located in the Spa area. They have state of the art equipment and everything you need, with refreshing cucumber water and fruit available. For $10.00 more, you have access to the spa for the day, which provides showers, locker room, relaxation areas, sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi and a coed lounge that overlooks the tennis courts. My guess is, this hotel would be the best on the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great property, great staff. Room was very comfortable. Wait staff in the restaurant was very nice. The casino isn't anything to take seriously but if you want a casino, go to Vegas. I look forward to staying there again someday.

Room Tip: Rainforest view will save you money. You can't see the ocean at night so why pay for it?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First time to Costa Rica so comparisons are difficult. Location, amenities, service, food, activities, etc. are all really nice. However, compared to other ocean and golf resort offerings around the world I have to rate as average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our stay at Los Suenos was part of a package trip to Costa Rica. We have no complaints of any type about the complex... which could have been in any country on any continent of the world for all we could tell. On the ocean side of the hotel, there is an elaborate set of swimming pools so no one is tempted to go visit the actual beach. You get the beauty of the setting without being bothered to actually use the beach, which frankly isn't very special. There are several fine restaurants in the hotel itself and in the adjacent yacht club/condo complex. And watching the kids chase the iguanas around on the grass. There is a casino on the property if you are into that sort of thing.

All in all, it was very nice but lacking a real feel for being someplace other than in the US.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

May, 2013: We flew into San Jose and took a 45 minute shuttle to reach to the Marriott in Los Suenos. First let me say it is a beautiful setting and property. The hotel has a hacienda/red tile roof feel. Since it is in the rain forest it is very lush with beautiful grassy areas, great pool with beautiful ocean views.

LOBBY
The lobby is beautiful and very big with lots of neat sitting areas. There is also a nice patio off the lobby which overlooks the pool area and you have beautiful views.

ROOMS
When we checked in we were placed in a standard room. The room was comfortable with everything we needed. However, my big disappointment is that MOST of the standard rooms have what is called a 'princess balcony'. Basically you can open your doors, but get literally about one foot on the balcony and nothing else. I was shocked that this hotel was designed this way. You have amazing views with these horrible princess balconies. My suggestion is to secure a room with a FULL balcony when you make your reservation. Because we were so disappointed with the balconies we did ask to get moved to a room with a balcony when one became available. To our surprise, we were moved to a suite with TWO full balconies. As far as I could tell, there were only two suites with full balconies, plus a presidential suite, but you would have to ask when making a reservation. This suite was great...we loved it. It gave us lots of room and if you're a family, the extra room will definitely come in handy. AND, the suite could be adjoined with a standard room next door, also with a balcony. So if we were to go back with our kids, we would definitely get a suite again. Other than the balcony situation, we had no complaints about the rooms...they were very nice. Also, you will want a room on either the 3rd or 4th floor. The lobby is actually on the 2nd floor and if you look out toward the pool you will see that the trees are blocking your view. If you're up on either the 3rd or 4th floor you will be above the trees and you will have a much better view.

POOL
The pool area was great. It's a decent sized hotel, but you don't have endless choices of chairs right next to the pool. However, there is a fabulous, HUGE grass area between the pool and beach with TONS of room to really spread out or accommodate a large group. In fact, we found it so hot right next to the pool on the concrete, but quite lovely in the grass area, as you got a nice breeze on hot days. And, there are lots of trees, so if you want shade you have shade from the trees. If you want to sunbathe, you just have to adjust your chair based on where the sun is. We loved the tree area...it was so wide open. And, our chairs were the first row of chairs on the grassy area, so you were only 10 steps away from the pool. They have wait staff that will bring you drinks and food so it was great.

BEACH
The beach was ok. If you're used to the beautiful white-sand beaches of the Caribbean or Florida, you will not be impressed with these beaches. The water was very nice and warm, but the water is not clear and the sand is dark. Plus, it is a good minute or two walk from the pool to the beach...it is a very wide space to the ocean. Since we were not very impressed with the beach we spent most of our time at the pool area and had a blast.

IGUANAS
We had a great time watching the iguanas that roam freely all over the property. However, if you are at the pool in the grass area, beware that the iguanas WILL take your food right off of your plate, WITH YOU SITTING THERE!! My husband found out the hard way. While he was taking a bite of one 1/2 of his sandwich, the other 1/2 half was snatched off of his plate by an iguana who ran off with it. Needless to say the rest of us were falling off of our chairs laughing as my husband was yelling choice words at the iguana. It was hilarious! Just make sure you "shoo" them away if they get too close.

FOOD
The restaurant selection at the hotel was good, but nothing that was out of this world.

Nuevo Latino - Their "fine dining" restaurant seemed like it was an after-thought as it is in this very small room with tables. We never ate there because there are no open-air tables...it is all inside, and it's tucked away behind the pool. Since we never ate there I have no idea what the food was like.

La Vista Restaurant - This is where we ate most of the time. You can sit inside or outside. It's great for families, has a very nice buffet, very comfortable and the food is very good.

Puesta del Sol Lobby Bar - This is adjacent to the front desk and it's a very neat place. It is a great place to have drinks and appetizers outside on the balcony. You will have beautiful views and it's a fun atmosphere.

Arrecife Bar and Grill - This is AT the pool with 'swim-up' pool seats. It's a fun place with good food and great atmosphere for hanging out by the pool.

CASINO (on the property)
Ok, for anyone who is used to gambling in Vegas, you will be sorely disappointed. First of all, they don't have true Blackjack tables. Only "Rummy" blackjack tables. Meaning, if you get 'blackjack' and the dealer gets 21, you push...you do NOT get paid the Vegas odds. You only get the better odds if you get a rummy (3 5's, 3 8's, etc). We saw about 15 blackjacks and NEVER saw a rummy They do have slots and a bar, however, you do NOT get free drinks. You must pay for each drink. They would get so much more business in the casino of they had true blackjack tables/odds and had a free drink policy. After our experience we never went back and every time we walked by there, the place was void of customers. It was fun to do once, but wouldn't go to it again.

MARINA (off-property, but a very nice walk)
The Los Suenos Marina is a nice 10-minute walk from the Marriott. The walk is on a nice winding path and any of the staff can direct you as to where the brick path begins. While walking you will pass through a lovely tunnel of trees. As you are walking through the tunnel FROM the Marriott TO the Marina make sure you look up when you are almost to the end of the tunnel (closest to the Marina). There is a family of bats that were hanging there when we were there. Once you reach the marina you will be amazed at the amount of beautiful yachts that this marina calls home. There is a private community called the Los Suenos Resort and included in the homes/fees is the marina. Great photo ops if you're into photography. There is a great place to have lunch there called, "The Hookup". It is upstairs with beautiful views of the marina and ocean. Very relaxed and casual with a fun bar and good food. There are also a few shops at the marina in the main courtyard...worth checking them out.

Overall we had a wonderful time and would definitely return to this hotel. The setting, the staff, the pool, etc, were great and we would highly recommend it. We look forward to our next trip there!!

Room Tip: --When making your reservation, be specific in telling them that you want a room with a FULL balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.