We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pura Vida in style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Palmer, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pura Vida in style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Possibly the best resort Marriott I've seen. The lobby is huge and open, the check-in line is always efficient. The people from the check-in to the room service, the car park valets are all very friendly. The rooms are a good size befitting resort quality place. The pool is a complex maze of passageways that travel under bridges. Those who start at the volley ball side are rewarded by finding the pool bar after the full course. There are several choices of restaurants. The location is near the busy town of Jaco and just south of a handful of parks and adventures. Perfect for those who do not want to travel far from the beach and pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    299
    95
    43
    22
See reviews for
304
395
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in an ocean facing room during the third week of April. This resort is part of the Marriott chain is one of their finer resorts. The hotel has a golf course and casino on site, as well as a restaurant and bar.

The location is roughly an hour south of the capital city of San Jose. The resort is ideally located in Playa Herradura and very close to Jaco (surf city) and the Tarcoles River (lots of American Crocodiles).

The resort has a number of interconnecting pools that can bring a smile to children and adults alike. The ocean in front is beautiful to look at but less desireable than other locations with a short drive.

The front desk attendants are not exactly first class. Our check-in was delayed for over an hour without a valid excuse or an apology. The housekeepers were good but had to be reminded to change the sheets during our stay. The bellmen were very helpful and entertaining.

I would definately return to the resort, as it is close to Manuel Antonio, Dominical and all points south, as well as San Jose.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 8 wonderful nights at Los Suenos 4/10-4/18. We can't say enough great things about stay. The service was top quality, EVERYONE very friendly and attentive. David at LaVista consistently went out of his way, even when we were not in his section. Adolfo and entire staff at golf course were great, beautiful course!! I would definitely recommend Piko Travel (under the tent on the beach) see Gerald or Valerie. We did the trip to Manuel Antonio National Park, great half day tour. Ronald was our driver great and gave us a lot of information on the area. If you go PLEASE request Danny Garcia as your guide- he was amazing, we saw sloths, monkeys, deer, lizards, iguanas, and a viper. Many of these we never would have even notice just walking through on our own. He is very passionate about his job and it shows! As far as a transfer to and from the airport we strongly recommend Toucan Limo. Please contact Luis and Rosie, extremely nice couple. Our flight was over 2.5 hours late due to an medical emergency on board and an unexpected stop. We were so relieved that Rosie was still waiting for us!! If anyone has any questions I would be more than happy to see if I can help you :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 3 times and I feel more relaxed each time! My son married a Costa Rican so Costa Rica is on the agenda for many visits. This resort is family friendly and the service is great. The access from the airport in San Jose is easy and the drive to Manual Antonio National Park is also easy. The people are so friendly and helpful. Near the hotel are many shops and restaurants so you feel like you are in a little village.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the ocean and the beautiful pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our visit was well above our expectation. We are a frequent stayer at Marriott - first time to Los Suenos. The property is first class - as usual at Marriott - wonderful setting in Herradura (Horseshoe Bay). What stands out is the staff - they did a first class job - from arrival to meals, pool, fitness center - everywhere. Service with a smile and desire to do a first class job.

We spent most of our time enjoying the property - but ventured out to see two National Parks with a private tour guide. We saw Carrara and Manuel Antonio - both very worthwhile.

Susanna Flores works as a concierge of sorts and will arrange activities. We contacted Susanna before our arrival and asked for her guidance in all our daily activity planning - she is a real gem.

If you spend some time at the Arrecife Pool Bar - be sure to see Indalecio Rocha Ibarra - he is full of life and delivers great service. Try the grilled chicken salad pool side for lunch. The food was outstanding in all restaurant facilities.

Finally - if you are going on tour - ask for Adrian Calderon Gonzalez of the Swiss Travel Group (on site tour operator at Los Suenos). He has a degree as a Naturalist and a real passion for sharing the sights and insights of the Costa Rican ecosystem - we had a great day together.

We love the Marriott - own timeshare on Hilton Head, SC - and given the choice - always stay with Marriott. Los Suenos Marriott is a great example of why we choose Marriott.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worthwhile - sunrise and especially sundown - worth the additional cost. The balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This resort has just about everything. This resort also has apartments and villas for rent. Has a nice golf course and a world class marina. Its very well maintained. The pool area is very cool. There many things to do in the nearby areas as well. I will be looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel, pools, spa, location. Would go back here every visit. Lots of options during the day, places to relax, swim up bar, kids pool and play area, rafts for rent, view of the ocean. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, one of the best places I have stayed. DId not want to leave this paradise.

Only two minor negatives - there is no 'night life' after dinner other than the view from the upstairs bar. If this place had a night club or dancing, it would be perfect. The casino leaves a lot to be desired. lots of slots, a strange game of 21 with rummy mixed in, roulette, no craps table. So if your looking to visit local attractions, swim at the various pools, eat great food, and crash or have a quite night cap, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher level, better ocean views. Mountain views are nice, but worth paying a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.