We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Rhode Island
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Spent 8 wonderful nights at Los Suenos 4/10-4/18. We can't say enough great things about stay. The service was top quality, EVERYONE very friendly and attentive. David at LaVista consistently went out of his way, even when we were not in his section. Adolfo and entire staff at golf course were great, beautiful course!! I would definitely recommend Piko Travel (under the tent on the beach) see Gerald or Valerie. We did the trip to Manuel Antonio National Park, great half day tour. Ronald was our driver great and gave us a lot of information on the area. If you go PLEASE request Danny Garcia as your guide- he was amazing, we saw sloths, monkeys, deer, lizards, iguanas, and a viper. Many of these we never would have even notice just walking through on our own. He is very passionate about his job and it shows! As far as a transfer to and from the airport we strongly recommend Toucan Limo. Please contact Luis and Rosie, extremely nice couple. Our flight was over 2.5 hours late due to an medical emergency on board and an unexpected stop. We were so relieved that Rosie was still waiting for us!! If anyone has any questions I would be more than happy to see if I can help you :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    342
    110
    45
    22
See reviews for
337
447
26
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at this resort 3 times and I feel more relaxed each time! My son married a Costa Rican so Costa Rica is on the agenda for many visits. This resort is family friendly and the service is great. The access from the airport in San Jose is easy and the drive to Manual Antonio National Park is also easy. The people are so friendly and helpful. Near the hotel are many shops and restaurants so you feel like you are in a little village.

Room Tip: I like the rooms facing the ocean and the beautiful pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our visit was well above our expectation. We are a frequent stayer at Marriott - first time to Los Suenos. The property is first class - as usual at Marriott - wonderful setting in Herradura (Horseshoe Bay). What stands out is the staff - they did a first class job - from arrival to meals, pool, fitness center - everywhere. Service with a smile and desire to do a first class job.

We spent most of our time enjoying the property - but ventured out to see two National Parks with a private tour guide. We saw Carrara and Manuel Antonio - both very worthwhile.

Susanna Flores works as a concierge of sorts and will arrange activities. We contacted Susanna before our arrival and asked for her guidance in all our daily activity planning - she is a real gem.

If you spend some time at the Arrecife Pool Bar - be sure to see Indalecio Rocha Ibarra - he is full of life and delivers great service. Try the grilled chicken salad pool side for lunch. The food was outstanding in all restaurant facilities.

Finally - if you are going on tour - ask for Adrian Calderon Gonzalez of the Swiss Travel Group (on site tour operator at Los Suenos). He has a degree as a Naturalist and a real passion for sharing the sights and insights of the Costa Rican ecosystem - we had a great day together.

We love the Marriott - own timeshare on Hilton Head, SC - and given the choice - always stay with Marriott. Los Suenos Marriott is a great example of why we choose Marriott.

Room Tip: Ocean View is worthwhile - sunrise and especially sundown - worth the additional cost. The balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Isles Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This resort has just about everything. This resort also has apartments and villas for rent. Has a nice golf course and a world class marina. Its very well maintained. The pool area is very cool. There many things to do in the nearby areas as well. I will be looking forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel, pools, spa, location. Would go back here every visit. Lots of options during the day, places to relax, swim up bar, kids pool and play area, rafts for rent, view of the ocean. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, one of the best places I have stayed. DId not want to leave this paradise.

Only two minor negatives - there is no 'night life' after dinner other than the view from the upstairs bar. If this place had a night club or dancing, it would be perfect. The casino leaves a lot to be desired. lots of slots, a strange game of 21 with rummy mixed in, roulette, no craps table. So if your looking to visit local attractions, swim at the various pools, eat great food, and crash or have a quite night cap, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher level, better ocean views. Mountain views are nice, but worth paying a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This property commands an amazing location and surround on the Atlantic coast of Costa Rica. It is a well appointed Marriott with amazing grounds, golf, pool (wow) and sea front. It is many things, but it is in no way Costa Rican. Asside the lushness of the hills surrounding, this could have easily been Phoenix, AZ. For our time there the guests were almost exclusively white American. Not even a balanced representation of the US, and certainly unusual for an international high end resort. For fabulous home away from home, this is your place. For 'experience the world', likely not. That said, the resort had a small (maybe 200 person event) conference center that would make for a very controllable but exotic meeting location. Nearest town is Jaco. A fair amount going on there but still highly US influenced. Rain Forrest, Cloud Forrest and volcanoes are far. Service an odly mixed bag for our group. Female staff were very warm, the guys generally less so. Exceptions to both of course. I got the sense that although US tourists seems to be the fuel for this particular resort, that distain is not far from the surface. American TV everywhere and all pricing in $ says it all. This could have been a cruise ship (all be it a very very high end one) for its insulation from the real country of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This property is located in a gorgeous bay surrounded by lush trees and tropical flowers. The check in process was quite bumpy however. We received double beds the first night and was told we would be moved the next night to a king room. The next morning the other front desk agents did not know anything about the change so we had to wait another night. On the other hand, the restaurants were amazing and the food phenomenal! The buffet breakfast in particular was out of this world. I highly recommend the caramel with waffles. La Vista was our favorite restaurant. We especially had fun at the swim up bar where Karol & Marvin took care of us. The pool is beautiful at this hotel. We also loved sitting on the lounge chairs and watching the sunset....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.