We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica in Style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Night & $100 Credit
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Herradura
Santa Clarita, California, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Costa Rica in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Great hotel, pools, spa, location. Would go back here every visit. Lots of options during the day, places to relax, swim up bar, kids pool and play area, rafts for rent, view of the ocean. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, one of the best places I have stayed. DId not want to leave this paradise.

Only two minor negatives - there is no 'night life' after dinner other than the view from the upstairs bar. If this place had a night club or dancing, it would be perfect. The casino leaves a lot to be desired. lots of slots, a strange game of 21 with rummy mixed in, roulette, no craps table. So if your looking to visit local attractions, swim at the various pools, eat great food, and crash or have a quite night cap, this is the place to be.

Room Tip: ask for a room on a higher level, better ocean views. Mountain views are nice, but worth paying a li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    281
    94
    41
    21
See reviews for
284
370
19
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

This property commands an amazing location and surround on the Atlantic coast of Costa Rica. It is a well appointed Marriott with amazing grounds, golf, pool (wow) and sea front. It is many things, but it is in no way Costa Rican. Asside the lushness of the hills surrounding, this could have easily been Phoenix, AZ. For our time there the guests were almost exclusively white American. Not even a balanced representation of the US, and certainly unusual for an international high end resort. For fabulous home away from home, this is your place. For 'experience the world', likely not. That said, the resort had a small (maybe 200 person event) conference center that would make for a very controllable but exotic meeting location. Nearest town is Jaco. A fair amount going on there but still highly US influenced. Rain Forrest, Cloud Forrest and volcanoes are far. Service an odly mixed bag for our group. Female staff were very warm, the guys generally less so. Exceptions to both of course. I got the sense that although US tourists seems to be the fuel for this particular resort, that distain is not far from the surface. American TV everywhere and all pricing in $ says it all. This could have been a cruise ship (all be it a very very high end one) for its insulation from the real country of Costa Rica.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This property is located in a gorgeous bay surrounded by lush trees and tropical flowers. The check in process was quite bumpy however. We received double beds the first night and was told we would be moved the next night to a king room. The next morning the other front desk agents did not know anything about the change so we had to wait another night. On the other hand, the restaurants were amazing and the food phenomenal! The buffet breakfast in particular was out of this world. I highly recommend the caramel with waffles. La Vista was our favorite restaurant. We especially had fun at the swim up bar where Karol & Marvin took care of us. The pool is beautiful at this hotel. We also loved sitting on the lounge chairs and watching the sunset....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Mariott is a beautiful resort along side the ocean, scenic views and with a top notch golf course. For those used to winter temps, Costa Rica can offer very humid conditions (47c week we were there in April). Rooms were clean, staff friendly and prompt service. On resort meals can be pricey depending on your budget. Buffet breakfast ran $55 for two, expect dinners to be $120+ USD. Wine selections are good. Beach is black granular, so if you like powder sand this won't be a pleasant walk. Memorable trip...definitely an option for those not looking to "rough it."

Room Tip: Rooms usually have an ocean view but could only have a cosmetic balcony. Rooms at the end of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was recommended by coworkers in country, who booked the reservation for me. When I checked in, I found my rate was for locals only. The rate went up $150 per night and I lost the $50 food & beverage credit plus free Internet. Who knew Marriott charged US citizens double? Breakfast was mediocre, but was was included. We had dinner there one evening, and recommend going elsewhere. The rooms are dated and in need of a makeover. The best part of this property is the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I just returned from Costa Rica yesterday. We were absolutely enchanted by the Marriott Los Suenos. The grounds were pristine, the service efficient and friendly, the room was large and well appointed. The beach was also pretty large however please be sure to wear water shoes or flip flops. There are a ton of rocks on beach and those with tender feet may have issues if they go barefoot. The only criticism that I have is that there are no free wi-fi hot spots and no free access to a computer. It costs $5.00 for 30 minutes on the computer and an additional .75 for each printed page. Now I understand that this is a resort and one should be relaxing, as we very much did. However, in the age of technology one must always check your bank accounts, to make sure your not overspending, check in for your flights and print your boarding passes, or simply write a review for Tripadvisor. In addition, the business center is located in the same room where the Swiss Travel tours are being booked. So you only have access to the computer until 6 pm unless you bring your own. There are plenty of activities in and around the property. I suggest you get out and do some exploring. Manuel Antonio is about an hour drive, Carrara is a few minutes down the road. You can also book a tour through Swiss Travel or Pico Travel. We chose Pico travel. They were located on the beach and the prices were good. I recommend the Tranopy Tour (zipline). It was pretty awesome and very close to the resort. Also take the time to enjoy Jaco. It's about a 10 min ride from the resort. Lots of restaurants, souvenir shopping and wide open beaches. Overall I was very pleased with this resort. I highly recommend it! Happy travels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Marriott and really enjoyed ourselves. The resort itself was beautiful, well maintained, and truly a great place to stay. Both the wife and I are extreme foodies and thought the food at the resort and marina were top notch. The staff was great and at your service at all times.

What truly made the trip special was running into Juan Carlos Murillo Picado on the beach (Marriott property). Juan Carlos is a tour guide and runs Los Suenos Travel. He was able to set us up with all of our tours (ATV Riding, Zip lining, etc.). He was there to pick us up at the hotel, drop us off on location, stayed there until we were finished, and then returned us back safely. You can certainly book your tours through the hotel, but you will pay 25% or more on every tour you book. At no point did I feel unsafe and I highly recommend you search him out for assistance. If you would like to contact him directly, you can e-mail him (murillojuancarlos@hotmail.com) or give him a call at (506) 8911-02-95.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Marriott Los Suenos
Los Suenos Marriott
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura
Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.