We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Simi Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This property is located in a gorgeous bay surrounded by lush trees and tropical flowers. The check in process was quite bumpy however. We received double beds the first night and was told we would be moved the next night to a king room. The next morning the other front desk agents did not know anything about the change so we had to wait another night. On the other hand, the restaurants were amazing and the food phenomenal! The buffet breakfast in particular was out of this world. I highly recommend the caramel with waffles. La Vista was our favorite restaurant. We especially had fun at the swim up bar where Karol & Marvin took care of us. The pool is beautiful at this hotel. We also loved sitting on the lounge chairs and watching the sunset....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    333
    105
    45
    22
See reviews for
330
438
26
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Mariott is a beautiful resort along side the ocean, scenic views and with a top notch golf course. For those used to winter temps, Costa Rica can offer very humid conditions (47c week we were there in April). Rooms were clean, staff friendly and prompt service. On resort meals can be pricey depending on your budget. Buffet breakfast ran $55 for two, expect dinners to be $120+ USD. Wine selections are good. Beach is black granular, so if you like powder sand this won't be a pleasant walk. Memorable trip...definitely an option for those not looking to "rough it."

Room Tip: Rooms usually have an ocean view but could only have a cosmetic balcony. Rooms at the end of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel was recommended by coworkers in country, who booked the reservation for me. When I checked in, I found my rate was for locals only. The rate went up $150 per night and I lost the $50 food & beverage credit plus free Internet. Who knew Marriott charged US citizens double? Breakfast was mediocre, but was was included. We had dinner there one evening, and recommend going elsewhere. The rooms are dated and in need of a makeover. The best part of this property is the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My hubby and I just returned from Costa Rica yesterday. We were absolutely enchanted by the Marriott Los Suenos. The grounds were pristine, the service efficient and friendly, the room was large and well appointed. The beach was also pretty large however please be sure to wear water shoes or flip flops. There are a ton of rocks on beach and those with tender feet may have issues if they go barefoot. The only criticism that I have is that there are no free wi-fi hot spots and no free access to a computer. It costs $5.00 for 30 minutes on the computer and an additional .75 for each printed page. Now I understand that this is a resort and one should be relaxing, as we very much did. However, in the age of technology one must always check your bank accounts, to make sure your not overspending, check in for your flights and print your boarding passes, or simply write a review for Tripadvisor. In addition, the business center is located in the same room where the Swiss Travel tours are being booked. So you only have access to the computer until 6 pm unless you bring your own. There are plenty of activities in and around the property. I suggest you get out and do some exploring. Manuel Antonio is about an hour drive, Carrara is a few minutes down the road. You can also book a tour through Swiss Travel or Pico Travel. We chose Pico travel. They were located on the beach and the prices were good. I recommend the Tranopy Tour (zipline). It was pretty awesome and very close to the resort. Also take the time to enjoy Jaco. It's about a 10 min ride from the resort. Lots of restaurants, souvenir shopping and wide open beaches. Overall I was very pleased with this resort. I highly recommend it! Happy travels.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We just returned from a 6 day stay at the Marriott and really enjoyed ourselves. The resort itself was beautiful, well maintained, and truly a great place to stay. Both the wife and I are extreme foodies and thought the food at the resort and marina were top notch. The staff was great and at your service at all times.

What truly made the trip special was running into Juan Carlos Murillo Picado on the beach (Marriott property). Juan Carlos is a tour guide and runs Los Suenos Travel. He was able to set us up with all of our tours (ATV Riding, Zip lining, etc.). He was there to pick us up at the hotel, drop us off on location, stayed there until we were finished, and then returned us back safely. You can certainly book your tours through the hotel, but you will pay 25% or more on every tour you book. At no point did I feel unsafe and I highly recommend you search him out for assistance. If you would like to contact him directly, you can e-mail him (murillojuancarlos@hotmail.com) or give him a call at (506) 8911-02-95.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

took us 15 hours to get there but the staff made it worthwhile. They were courteous, efficient and made the whole stay relaxing. The food was superb and thanks to the bar staff at the swim up pool for introducing me to 'miami vice'. Delicious!
A special thanks to Melvin who was almost like a personal major domo, looking after our food and drink needs. I can't say enough about all the staff who always greeted us with a smile and 'hola!' It was a truly relaxing and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We came here for a 4 day 5 night business conference. When we arrived everyone was very nice and helpful. It is a great location for business but they are also very geared for kids. We found that housekeeping was very attentive and the service in all the restaurants were excellent though a little slower but we are there to relax so that's okay. For the events we attend they were very attention to detail. The conference/ball rooms had lots of space for small to large groups. Everyone helped us with our spanish, even in the town Jaco that is about 10 mins away. They have so great shops for gifts. We didn't try it but the spa at the hotel gave the most amazing massages... everyone we were with was go and gave great reviews. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! But I think the best part is the pool. Despite so many people it didn't feel like the pool was full and you can easily spend all day in it as the water is the perfect temp. (I don't like cold pools). There are so many places to go as it is all interconnected. There are more than enough lounge chairs and they even have hammocks for you to lay in and look over the ocean. We are planning on going back and taking the kids as they would have a blast there with all the activities they plan. We wanted to golf but with the timing of the business meetings and the temperature at mid day there was no way, it was way to hot (30-40). I found it is in great location to use as a base and do day trips. I just wish we were there longer to do more.

Room Tip: The rooms with the balconies have hanging chairs (4th floor and ground). I would have loved to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.