We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for Vacation or Conference” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great place for Vacation or Conference”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

While the rooms vary on the availability of balconies, we were lucky to get a room with a lovely balcony looking out over the bay for a partial ocean view price. The service staff for the hotel rooms was great. The service at the outdoor cafe was not as good. They seemed bored with their jobs - service was slow once food was ordered, tables were not completely set and it was hard to get the knife, fork, spoon or salt shaker that was needed.

The pool is a delightful S curve that can be floated in or swum. We did laps from one end to the other. Of course at one of the far ends is the swim up bar - a nice reward.

The spa was a good experience- actually my first mud bath. Definitely glad I did it and I was quite exfoliated afterwards.

Wild life abounds on the grounds but does not seem to get into the hotel. Nearby are entrances to parts of a rain forest and a small town - Jaco.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    319
    101
    44
    22
See reviews for
325
418
24
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful stay and would go back in a heartbeat. The staff was attentive, helpful, and friendly and the location is terrific. There are attractions close by and the marina area offers a delightful assortment of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and a balcony. You won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilamoura, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Travelled March 2013 to Los Suenos,Reserva Conchal and San Jose to play golf with 6 friends.
Los Suenos and Reserva Conchal are great resorts with excellent golf courses with accommodation conveniently located near the golf.Staff,food and accommodation of a very high standard.The Costa Rican people are most welcoming.
Special thanks to Fabio Solano at Costa Rica Tee Times who arranged everything and took care of our every need. Great job -thanks from all the guys. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a family of 5, (2 adults and 3 teenagers). I used points for one garden room and paid for an ocean front room. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff is amazing, friendly and accommidating. We dined at the hotel and marina restaurants and they all exceeded expectations. The casino on property is not good at all, (small/limited) but we did not come for that anyways. Beach is not the nicest, (black sand, rocks) but water is clean and surrounding area makes up for it. We used Pico Tours, (tent by beach) for a few adventures and he and his team were excellent. Their prices were 40% less than Swiss Travel (concierge) sponsored by hotel and they provide more tours and are much more accommidating. The only negative is on one day the pool ran out of towels but they scrambled to get us some that ended up being floor tub towels but based on everything else we really did not mind. Prices are high for food, water, etc. but no different than any other resort in a beautiful tropical setting. Definately recommend this place for a great location, central for all tours and adventures. One last remark for those travelling to Costa Rica. We rented a vehicle to get around ourselves; do not rent from Thrifty. We heard the same from 3 other people that used them as well while we were there. It took almost 2 hours from when we waited to get picked up by shuttle to actually get in our car. They force you to take insurance, ($220.00 additional) as well which was not on the initial reservation. Service was aweful, slow and disinterested. Avoid at all costs. Better options we heard were Hertz which has a counter at airport. Lastly, don't forget that you will pay almost $30.00 airport tax per person when you leave, many people at airport were unaware and upset when trying to get their airline tickets. Have fun.

Room Tip: Try to get 4th floor, (top floor) and definately ask for ocean view or ocean balcony rooms, even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my fifth stay at Los Suenos. The hotel and grounds are incredible and the service quite good. The pool area is fantastic and you can spend a sunny day swimming and lounging around for hours. The Marina and Golf Course help to make this property a world class resort destination. This is the perfect hotel for couples and families and is close enough to all Jaco has to offer. This property has everything you want and it is hard to find a reason to leave the premises but make sure and venture out to experience the real Costa Rica. I would stay here again in a nano-second and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the central pacific area on a romantic or familiy holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went for a real vacation and it was. Amazing property on the west coast. Very friendly staff, locals, amazing grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this fine hotel. One observation is that it is quite elaborate, especially considering the surrounding community. We found ourselves longing to be with the locals so took cabs into town to truly enjoy the local flavor.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. If you want to take in the pool action, there are plenty of rooms that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I came to the Los Suenos Marriott after spending five days in the mountains in a small town called Atenas. I say this because our arrival at the Marriott, after living a truer Costa Rican lifestyle with local Costa Ricans, came with a bit of culture shock! Having said that, this is a fine American style luxury hotel complex and golf resort that is part of a larger planned residential community and marina called Los Suenos. It's located just outside of Jaco, a beach town that is fast becoming a Spring Break mecca right out of the pages of South Beach. The resort's staff is very very friendly and totally attentive to every need. The bars and restaurants are great and feature specials every night that are priced to make them hard to turn down. In particular, the Barbecue Night is a steal and the food is delicious. The adjacent marina, a short walk away, features a number of other restaurants to choose from while you're looking at the big white yachts!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.