We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience, beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience, beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a family of 5, (2 adults and 3 teenagers). I used points for one garden room and paid for an ocean front room. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The hotel staff is amazing, friendly and accommidating. We dined at the hotel and marina restaurants and they all exceeded expectations. The casino on property is not good at all, (small/limited) but we did not come for that anyways. Beach is not the nicest, (black sand, rocks) but water is clean and surrounding area makes up for it. We used Pico Tours, (tent by beach) for a few adventures and he and his team were excellent. Their prices were 40% less than Swiss Travel (concierge) sponsored by hotel and they provide more tours and are much more accommidating. The only negative is on one day the pool ran out of towels but they scrambled to get us some that ended up being floor tub towels but based on everything else we really did not mind. Prices are high for food, water, etc. but no different than any other resort in a beautiful tropical setting. Definately recommend this place for a great location, central for all tours and adventures. One last remark for those travelling to Costa Rica. We rented a vehicle to get around ourselves; do not rent from Thrifty. We heard the same from 3 other people that used them as well while we were there. It took almost 2 hours from when we waited to get picked up by shuttle to actually get in our car. They force you to take insurance, ($220.00 additional) as well which was not on the initial reservation. Service was aweful, slow and disinterested. Avoid at all costs. Better options we heard were Hertz which has a counter at airport. Lastly, don't forget that you will pay almost $30.00 airport tax per person when you leave, many people at airport were unaware and upset when trying to get their airline tickets. Have fun.

Room Tip: Try to get 4th floor, (top floor) and definately ask for ocean view or ocean balcony rooms, even if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    321
    101
    44
    22
See reviews for
325
420
26
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This was my fifth stay at Los Suenos. The hotel and grounds are incredible and the service quite good. The pool area is fantastic and you can spend a sunny day swimming and lounging around for hours. The Marina and Golf Course help to make this property a world class resort destination. This is the perfect hotel for couples and families and is close enough to all Jaco has to offer. This property has everything you want and it is hard to find a reason to leave the premises but make sure and venture out to experience the real Costa Rica. I would stay here again in a nano-second and would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the central pacific area on a romantic or familiy holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went for a real vacation and it was. Amazing property on the west coast. Very friendly staff, locals, amazing grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of this fine hotel. One observation is that it is quite elaborate, especially considering the surrounding community. We found ourselves longing to be with the locals so took cabs into town to truly enjoy the local flavor.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want. If you want to take in the pool action, there are plenty of rooms that ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

My wife and I came to the Los Suenos Marriott after spending five days in the mountains in a small town called Atenas. I say this because our arrival at the Marriott, after living a truer Costa Rican lifestyle with local Costa Ricans, came with a bit of culture shock! Having said that, this is a fine American style luxury hotel complex and golf resort that is part of a larger planned residential community and marina called Los Suenos. It's located just outside of Jaco, a beach town that is fast becoming a Spring Break mecca right out of the pages of South Beach. The resort's staff is very very friendly and totally attentive to every need. The bars and restaurants are great and feature specials every night that are priced to make them hard to turn down. In particular, the Barbecue Night is a steal and the food is delicious. The adjacent marina, a short walk away, features a number of other restaurants to choose from while you're looking at the big white yachts!

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We have stayed at many Marriott properties over the years but found this one to be somewhat disappointing and very expensive. Our room was two queens with a view of the tennis court (not what we requested) and should probably be put on the remodel list. While the grounds and pool area are beautiful, the customer service was only so-so. There aren't a lot of choices for accommodations in this area so I feel 'stuck' if we were ever to return. Requested an early check-in but they weren't able to accommodate and didn't do anything to make the wait more pleasant. Restaurants were expensive, but we expected that. There are only 4 restaurants at the marina, which is a beautiful 10 minute walk away, but not a lot of choices.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

i have used trip advisor for years and felt compelled to share my experience.

Arrived @ 4:30pm and room wasn't ready. Anna at the front desk was super apologetic, walked us personally to the bar and comped our drinks. 10 minutes later our room was ready. Anna arranged for our bags to be brought straight up to the room. 10 minutes later we were lounging in the awesome pool.

Food was good. typical resort fare.

We highly recommend the Auto Mercado (grocery store) at the corner of hwy 34 and the turn off for Los Suenos. It is outstanding.

The beach is ok. Sand is super soft but the black sand makes the water look dirty.

The view of the Marina and the bay with an island in the middle is fantastic.

All in all great great great property.

ps. It is hot here. I mean really hot....90+ every day. Coming from Chicago it was a welcome change.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This is out second visit to Los Suenos Mariott the last visit being 6 years ago. We stayed for 6 days and overall it was an enjoyable visit. Like the title says the grounds are beautiful, and, the golf course is an amazing track. The rooms and decor are definitely showing their age and this property is in need of a rehab and I hope Mariott has that planned.

Breakfast was $50 and I'm glad we had that included in our room rate or I'd be very very unhappy about paying $50 for a buffet especially with the food quality that was served. Drinks are pricey as well. My wife and I do not have kids so it was rather annoying to go to the swim-up bar and find every seat taken by young kids.

We had a room on the fourth floor of the main building directly in front of the pool area so it was a very nice view and I recommend that if you have a choice. The beds are very comfortable and we had nice restful sleeps.

The staff is very very nice at every point along the way. Sometimes the front desk staff could be more helpful but overall the staff is very attentive and courteous.

High Speed internet access is very pricey her as well - I just don't get why resorts insist on that extra cost - I work in IT and providing that service is very cheap these days - they just use it as a revenue generator and Mariott is no different unfortunately.

The location is phenomenal and very close to the shopping and nightlife in Jaco if that is your thing and there are many excursions close by the resort.

In closing would we stay there again? Probably not until Mariott refurbs the rooms/common areas. On our next visit we will be staying at the Four Seasons Papagayo - little more money for a lot more luxury and I don't have to fight kids for a bar stool :) If you are looking for a couples/romantic property this isn't it - families far outnumber the couples.

Room Tip: Pick a room on the fourth floor in the main building if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.