We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort with Amazing Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort with Amazing Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights recently on a business trip and was very impressed with the hotel. Though rather expensive, the rooms were large and clean, the service was very friendly, and the swimming pool was amazing. You could stay in it for hours and wander around. Beach disappointing. Go to Manuel Antonio national Park for a white sand beach.

Conference facilities here were also very beautiful with Spanish style and huge chandeliers. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    553
    302
    96
    44
    21
See reviews for
308
398
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

The property was very nice and I would certainly come back again. I only have a few complaints. First, our stay was very quite until about day 5 when someone checked into the room next door which was connected to ours with a lockout door. We could hear the dad coughing at 7 a.m. and then the kid crying at 8 p.m. No bueno. Second, on our first night we were not yet oriented to the area and asked the front desk for a dinner recommendation. They sent us to the worst, over-priced restaurant in Jaco. They sent us to El Hicaco where we fell into the first night tourist trap of a $70/person buffet that was not even near worth the price. Bottom line, you can't expect guests to eat at the hotel every night and it would be nice to make good recommendations. Lastly, prices for food and drive are certainly higher than off-property options but I've come to expect that to be the case.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had never been to Costa Rica. This resort was beautiful. The grounds, hotel and pool were very clean. It was quiet, not congested and a perfect place if you just want to relax. My husband and I would highly recommend this hotel. We have stayed at Marriotts all over the world and felt this was one of the nicest we have ever visited. There are less guests during the week. Many people come for just the weekend. We would definitely stay there again. Sherry S.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My fiance and I had a great time at the Los Suenos Marriott hotel. Upon checking in, we were upgraded to an ocean view room with a balcony, which was fantastic. The rooms are spaceous, quite clean and the beds are comfy.

The food in the hotel was quite pricey but we expected that going in so no suprise there. We did order food twice and they were good. We would have been disappointed if we paid so much for blah food. But we were quite happy with what we got. Service was quick and eveyone we came across were very friendly and spoke good english. There was one day I forgot to lock the safe in our room. When we got back, there was a note to check with the front desk since the cleaners called security informing them it was unlocked. Security came up and opened the safe for us and had us check everything in there - - and everything looked ok. Engagement ring, passports and cash. It's good to know that the staff is honest, so 5 stars to them for that.

The best part of the hotel is their pool area. Lots of space and lots of chairs everywhere. Landscape was great. There's a sunken bar in the corner and that was our favorite place. We would go here after whatever activtiy we had planned for the day to relax and cool off. Funny thing is that there are iguanas around the pool area which was really interesting.

The Marina was close enough for us to walk. (10 min. walk maybe) There are a number of restaurants there you can go to so don't feel that you're stuck with hotel food.

The hotel has a shuttle service to the nearby town (Jaco) - $4 one way which was pretty reasonable. You can also exchange your money at the front desk. We used the tour operator located in the hotel to book the Manuel Antonio tour. Not sure if it was expensive but we were happy with it.



All in all, this was a great hotel and we truly enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent the day yesterday at La Iguana golf resort and despite the humidity(no fault of Los Suenos), I truly enjoyed the course. Just well groomed and everyone was more than friendly. There are some challenging holes that makes you think strategically about your approach. The Clubhouse has everything you need in case you forget something on your travels. Just enjoyed every moment! You will too!

Room Tip: I only came for the golf. I did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Because I had paid more than I usually do for a vacation hotel I had very high expectations for this resort. Fortunately I was not disappointed. Everyone we encountered was very nice, friendly and helpful. We had booked just the standard room, but still it was large, clean and had everything we needed. While it didn't have the ocean view, the view out our window as still nice and green. We ate at the restaurant several times and the food and service were always nice, and the breakfast buffet was wonderful. The fitness center was also nice with a lot of cardio machines and weight machines to choose from. The pool was clean, beautifully landscaped and fun as well. While the resort was at the top end of our budget, I would be happy to return and would recommend it to anyone who wants a high-end resort experience in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A major attaction with this resort is their world-class La Iguana golf course,
highly manicured through tropical palms, challenging carries, and lots
of water. 17th hole and 18th T-box, right on the oceanfront. Truly a
magnificent play while enjoying the lively enviroment.---mucho varieties of
tropical birds and animal sounds.
Service on and off the course was impecable. Rentals were all top quality,
and a very complete pro shop.
Very nice outdoor cantina for breakfasts and lunches right on location
If you golf--don't miss this one.
Caddies are available and all support equipment.
Early morning T-off puts you smack in the middle of nature.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.