We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff and an absolutely wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Swarthmore, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Staff and an absolutely wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Los Suenos last week. This was our first time in Costa Rica. The staff was just incredible and the hotel was beyond our expectations. Everyone was so friendly and made us feel at home. I'm thinking about coming back already. I can't say enough about this hotel.

Room Tip: Any room third floor and above provide the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    773
    400
    123
    50
    23
See reviews for
403
517
31
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I'm a Marriott Vacation Club owner who normally stays at The Ko Olina Beach Club in Oahu. This year I used the points to go to Costa Rica. The staff at this hotel raised the bar beyond my expectations. First of all everybody knew my name and pronounced it correctly- no easy task since it is French in origin. I live in the Midwest and my name gets butchered constantly. The location is central to the following activities: surfing, ATV exploring and deep sea fishing. A world class Marina is a 10 minute walk away. Jaco Beach is a great place to surf and is a 10 minute drive away. Same distance for the ATV experience. The concierge will gladly arrange the trips but my online experience arranging my own excursions worked very well and was much more economical. About the staff: we got really dirty doing the ATV trails. I was embarrassed as to how much we dirtied the room so I left a very generous tip for the maid. When I returned later in the day the room was immaculate but the tip was still there. I confronted the maid and told her that the tip was for her but she said she was just doing her job. Then I told her it was a gift from me to her so she gladly accepted it. I can't say enough good things about the staff here and Costa Ricans in general. My vacation club points included two 90 minute massages which were essential ways to end the two days spent on Jaco Beach surfing. I arranged my own charter fishing-make sure to tell the service to bring live bait otherwise you could spend valuable day light watching the first mate catch sardines. The hotel chef cooked my catch to perfection, added sides and made a great display for only $20/person.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This Marriott is very nice. The rooms are quiet and clean but for the price - they better be. The property is located on a cove so the ocean water is calm and pleasant. We just stayed one night and I am happy about that. You can rent a house on the beach with a pool for a lot less and probably be just as happy. Overall our experience at this resort was pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 4th floor - the views are nice and you can open your balcony door for the bree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Apañusco StyleWriter Marriott on the Pacífic Ocean with endless pools with beautiful waterfall and landscaped with lush tropical flowers and trees. With two restaurants to choose from and plenty activities available, you can relax and enjoy your time here at this resort. Marina walking distance with shops and more restaurants to choose from. All staff speak English and Spanish, very attentive and friendly

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This large Marriott property is perfectly located. On the Pacific coast about an hour from the airport, it has both a marina and a golf course, However, the best deal is to rent a condo on the Marriott property rather than stay in the hotel itself. I thought the Beach Club pool reserved for the condos was nicer than the hotel pool and the condos are definitely a better value if you are traveling as a family. Better price, more convenient, and nicer accomodations--and you get maid service daily just like the hotel.

The food at the various Marriott restaurants left us unimpressed, but it is a short walk along the beach to Playa Herradura. Try El Pelicano, right on the beach, for a nice local dining experience.

Los Suenos is a short drive to various activities--Manuel Antonio, zip lining, the crocodile river, etc. As everyone in CR seems to be in the travel business, you will have no trouble locating someone to book anything you want. For our family of 5 it was a "dream" vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Getting to the resort was an easy ride in our rented car; we drove from San Jose and stopped just before the resort to see the crocodiles under a bridge near-by; if you really want to convince yourself that those are crocodiles rather than floating logs, buy some raw meat at a merchant nearby (there are quite a few merchants right near the bridge) and toss it into the river! Be ready to see the crocodiles leap to get the food.
The resort is gorgeous. The swimming pool is meandering about as if it was a river, making it very pleasant to wonder about it in, going under waterfalls and eventually reaching the pool bar. The water is shallow (about 4 ft I'd guess), making it nice to take kids along - depending on their skills at swimming, they could swim across the width of the "river" or perhaps have floaties to help them along.
The hotel's travel agency can book tours for you, but a more affordable alternative for the same tours can be easily obtained from Piko Travel: a car or pick-up truck with the name of Piko Travel is almost always parked right on the beach, just off the Marriott property. We bought ziplining and Tortuga Island tours from them, both excellent.
The Marina is visible from the hotel and a short, pleasant walk. The Marina is not only a nice diversion, but also a different place to grab a bite or just have a stroll.
The Manuel Antonio National Park is an easy drive from the hotel. Drive all the way to (or just past) the entrance of the park and then park your car - there are plenty of places to park; don't let fake park "employees" trick you into parking on the street, way before the entrance to the park, just so they can try and talk you into a guided tour of the park. If you prefer to have a private guide, you can get one right at the entrance. We just walked around on our own and saw capucci monkeys, racoons (mainly at the beach), sloths, birds, tree frogs. The beach is very nice if you want to bring bathing suit and towel.
If you don't want to eat all meals in the restaurants, rent a small refrigerator for your room (about $10 for a few days) and shop at the nearby supermarket; it may seem pricey compared to your super market at home, but it sure beats restaurant prices for beer, wine, fruits, bread, etc. If you travel with kids, it's nice to have milk in the refrigerator and perhaps some snacks.
The beach at the hotel is not so nice for swimming - rocks hurt your feet. But the beach is nice for collecting pink shells, scouting for marine life, admiring the pelicans diving to catch fish.
If you'd like to spend a day at a beautiful beach, try Tortuga Island tour (Piko Travel charged $100 per adult, kids were free, and we climbed onto a tender right at the hotel's beach, got to the bigger boat in no time).
The hotel rooms are beautiful, comfortable, roomy, clean. The staff is very helpful. Take a walk to highest floor (I think it's 4th) and admire the view from the open staircase, overlooking the water - it's beautiful. At night, look up and sout for bats!
Although the areas outside the resort are not all very nice, the resort and marina are all very nice and very safe - a pleasure!
We had a great time!

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Los Suenos for 3 nights at the start of our vacation in Costa Rica. We had read many reviews on Trip Advisor, so we were thrilled when we were given rooms 446 and 447. We were traveling with our daughters (ages 14 and 11) and the rooms adjoin with a common area between (part of the 446 suite). We had 3 balconies overlooking the pool and ocean just above the lobby bar and one of the restaurants. As Marriott Rewards Platinum Elite members, we are provided a room upgrade based on availability. Needless to say, we were thrilled with the accommodations! Many thanks to Nicolas Sandoval for his help with the check-in process and for his willingness to answer our questions!

We did try the restaurants too. The breakfast buffet at Nuevo Latino offered a huge variety of foods (from traditional French toast to frittatas, breakfast burritos, and made to order omelets). The fruit was incredible and our girls loved the variety of pastries. The buffet was expensive, however we ate a late breakfast and then ended up skipping lunch so we felt it was worth the cost. We also had dinner at La Vista. Our waiter, Randall, offered excellent suggestions for our entrees and drinks. Lastly, we had a light dinner at the Puesta de Sol lobby bar. The flatbreads are huge and can easily be shared between two people.

Other reviews mentioned the distance off the main road you need to travel to get to Los Suenos. We rented a car at the hotel and did not have a problem heading off for excursions from here. Some places we enjoyed during our short stay were TacoBar in Jaco (ate there for breakfast one morning and loved it!), watching the sunset from Villa Caletas (go early to get a spot...truly a once in a lifetime experience!), and a guided tour of Manuel Antonio (about an hour and a half drive, but so worth it!) We highly recommend Mario Brenes with Costa Rica Jade Tours.

I must mention that we were most impressed with how the hotel reached out to us prior to our arrival. Susanna Flores arranged for our rental car. She definitely made us feel like Los Suenos wanted our visit to be flawless.

All in all, this is a beautiful resort with great amenities and a friendly staff! If you are looking to stay in this area, definitely consider it!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Otel, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.