We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
4th nt free in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
KINGMAN
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We just returned from this lovely place. Our room was great even had turn down service which is a plus! Loved the decor, the pool and the staff. If you are going for the beach--- don't. The beach is volcanic and not too pretty. The food was better than most hotels ( we did an all inclusive plan)
Beautiful grounds. Small casino -- my husband enjoyed that. 5 days was plenty. Not a lot to do unless you want to travel some distance. Had massage at spa it was awesome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    405
    125
    50
    23
See reviews for
409
532
31
108
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband, college son and I spent a week at this hotel and loved it. Having travelled extensively and stayed at many lovely hotels, castles and villas, we felt that this property had shed the chain hotel atmosphere that afflicts some places. The lobby has a lovely Spanish atmosphere with beautiful views of the ocean, cooling breezes and a pianist on some evenings. The pool is wonderful as it winds among trees and flowers and under bridges. Plenty of lounge chairs are available in small clusters that afford some privacy. [No problem finding a place to sit as the number of lounges seems to exceed the number of guests.] For those avoiding the direct sunlight, many lounge chairs are placed on the tree shaded lawn that separates the pool area from the ocean. The beach is not one for lounging or swimming but the pool compensates for that fact. If one travels to Costa Rica, very probably the various "adventure" trips are high on the list of activities. Accordingly, many people leave for the day on these rafting, hiking, fishing, boating and birding excursions. Returning to the hotel at the end of the day is relaxing. A swim, a cocktail or dinner is most welcome. The fanciest restaurant on the property, "Nuevo Latino," is really very fine. The three of us had excellent dinners there. For breakfast, the menu is extensive. We often chose to eat at the nearby golf club house for breakfast. For location, price, decor and cleanliness, this property deserves high praise.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms do not have two queens--a disappointment. No need to pay for an ocean view because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights and loved every minute. Rooms were clean, resort was just the right size and everyone was happy to help us out with anything we needed.

Spent each night at the relatively small casino and the folks there were just as pleasant as the rest of the resort.

Rented a car and enjoyed going into Jaco(Jaco Taco was the best) and also over to Playa Hermosa.

No complaints about on resort dining though we did eat over at the marina three nights, twice at the Hookup which had decent food and cold beer. The pool area had drink specials each day which helped offset the somewhat expensive food we had for lunch. Large grocery store as you turn onto the road to the resort with a pretty good selection of meats, bakery and dry items.

This area is so close to SJO but still far enough away that it does seem secluded and enjoyable.

I know some people complain about the town of Jaco but we really thought it was a great place to hang out with wide beaches and that surfing town feel.

You cannot go wrong staying here for a couple of days!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bainbridge island
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds, pool and beach. It is in a good area with lots to do. The same high prices you would find at most luxury resorts which was nice to have a car to drive out to local area spots. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they all spoke english really well. We had to keep calling for a wine opener because the housekeeping would take it away each day, and the glasses weren't cleaned. There weren' t bathrobes in the rooms which was strange for this level hotel. They mixed up our reservations and didn't think we were arriving until the next day, fortunately we had a printed confirmation. It still took the front desk about 45 minutes to get us assigned rooms which seemed longer at 1am and three tired kids. We had three rooms since we were traveling with friends and they had put us in different areas of the hotel. So the next day we had to move again to be closer to each other, which was important since the kids were sharing a room.
There is a casino which only takes american dollars in the machines, so its a good place to get rid of the extra coins on your last day.
There is a great breakfast buffet but it was about $35 per person and no champagne. We did it once but with a bunch of teens that don't eat alot it wasn't worth it to do each day. Right across the street from the hotel was a market we could get breakfast burritos and coffee which was great.
None of the negatives would prevent me from staying there, it was just surprising since it isn't what we have experienced with marriotts in the past.
If you are going to go ziplining, go into Jaco and see steve at AXR tours and rentals, he has the best prices on lots of tours. We drove up to the zip lining place at Los suenos and they wanted $65 and he charged $45. The hotel doesn' t have a concierge, they have a tour agency attached which helps organized tours but with additional costs added.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Felt pretty typical of a resort Marriott. Lots of big, muscular architecture and furniture in a vaguely of Spanish Colonial style. The overall feeling is way more Disney than authentically Costa Rican.

Room and restaurants were nice and completely predictable.

Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we heard people coming and going during daylight and early-evening hours.

One rather glaring annoyance: the hideous south-of-the-border style techno music blaring from the poolside restaurant actually drove us back onto the long veranda.

NB: This is a very, very, very family-friendly property. The extensive (and lovely) pool was continuously populated by kids and parents of all ages from about 9AM until dark. If you're looking for a quiet couple's getaway, this is probably not your best choice.

Room Tip: Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My buddy & I arrived here after our 2 hour trek from the San Jose airport. We didn't have hotel reservations since our prior engagements informed us that they were booked on the day of our travels (Thanks subpar 1 star Jaco resort). We had money to burn, so we chose this 4 star Marriot since it was on our our path South towards Quepos and Manuel Antonio. We made the right choice. This property is stunning to say the least. I will start by stating that the beach leaves a bit to be desired since it's vacant due to the seclusion of this resort. The patrons prefer the pool, although we loved the warm and calm ocean that rests in the comfort of the adjacent Los Suenos Marina and adjacent islands. This area is the equivalent of Avalon/Stone Harbor in NJ which speaks volumes to the money here. The grounds, massive snaking pools and hotel are phenomenal if you can swing $250-$300/ night minimum. I'm no high roller, but we split the expenses. The food here is also perfect, but I've had better transversing the country during my 3 separate trips down here. The staff is wonderful; the lobby/hotel is breathtaking & the pools/swim-up bars are stellar. You won't go wrong booking some time here, but if you want to see Costa Rica.....do yourself a favor and rent a car. There are volcanoes and scenery abound and our 2 days here were enough before venturing South. Guanacaste is awesome, but the Central Pacific is even better. Make Los Suenos your starting point after your trek from San Jose. Indulge yourself and prepare for the awesome adventure that awaits you due South.

I'd return to this hot, pleasant & goregeous resort in the future. We made a lot of great new friends & memories here, but this place doesn't define CR. Travel to Guanacaste or South towards Manuel Antonio.....you'll see all that CR has to offer :)

Room Tip: Book ocean front if you can; it's much more pricey, but worth your $$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Los Sueños Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort from Jan. 28th through Feb. 5th 2013. We stayed there twice before and will be there end of this year again. The food is always excellent. They have never missed beat. The service is first class with a special and personal friendly touch of the staff. There are three restaurants plus the the garden restaurant and golf clubhouse restaurant. The beach could be cleaned up better so the walking to and on the beach is better. Its a beautiful hotel resort with beautiful grounds with lots of sun and shaded areas and a great pool area. The rooms are great and clean, the beds are very comfortable. There is great excess to special places either with your car or with tours. Unfortunately, there is no Marriott concierge, though the staff is giving great advise on where to go for dinner or excursions. The sunset is great from most of the rooms or the lighthouse. The best sunsets are at the dinner restaurant at Villa Caletas, just spectacular! The Price - Value, service comfort is great. Worth while every time we go there, though we always have our own transportation to get around without going through a travel and tour agency. The country Costa Rica is a great place to be and worth while to explore. Daily visits at this time from Macaws brighten up the stay even more.

Room Tip: get a second floor or higher room with Balcony and ocean view or partial ocean view for great sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 328
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Marriott, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.