We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort enjoyed it along with the surrounding areas” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% Off in Paradise
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Castle Rock, Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort enjoyed it along with the surrounding areas”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for five nights and loved every minute. Rooms were clean, resort was just the right size and everyone was happy to help us out with anything we needed.

Spent each night at the relatively small casino and the folks there were just as pleasant as the rest of the resort.

Rented a car and enjoyed going into Jaco(Jaco Taco was the best) and also over to Playa Hermosa.

No complaints about on resort dining though we did eat over at the marina three nights, twice at the Hookup which had decent food and cold beer. The pool area had drink specials each day which helped offset the somewhat expensive food we had for lunch. Large grocery store as you turn onto the road to the resort with a pretty good selection of meats, bakery and dry items.

This area is so close to SJO but still far enough away that it does seem secluded and enjoyable.

I know some people complain about the town of Jaco but we really thought it was a great place to hang out with wide beaches and that surfing town feel.

You cannot go wrong staying here for a couple of days!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    548
    300
    95
    42
    22
See reviews for
304
394
22
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bainbridge island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This hotel has beautiful grounds, pool and beach. It is in a good area with lots to do. The same high prices you would find at most luxury resorts which was nice to have a car to drive out to local area spots. The staff was friendly and helpful, and they all spoke english really well. We had to keep calling for a wine opener because the housekeeping would take it away each day, and the glasses weren't cleaned. There weren' t bathrobes in the rooms which was strange for this level hotel. They mixed up our reservations and didn't think we were arriving until the next day, fortunately we had a printed confirmation. It still took the front desk about 45 minutes to get us assigned rooms which seemed longer at 1am and three tired kids. We had three rooms since we were traveling with friends and they had put us in different areas of the hotel. So the next day we had to move again to be closer to each other, which was important since the kids were sharing a room.
There is a casino which only takes american dollars in the machines, so its a good place to get rid of the extra coins on your last day.
There is a great breakfast buffet but it was about $35 per person and no champagne. We did it once but with a bunch of teens that don't eat alot it wasn't worth it to do each day. Right across the street from the hotel was a market we could get breakfast burritos and coffee which was great.
None of the negatives would prevent me from staying there, it was just surprising since it isn't what we have experienced with marriotts in the past.
If you are going to go ziplining, go into Jaco and see steve at AXR tours and rentals, he has the best prices on lots of tours. We drove up to the zip lining place at Los suenos and they wanted $65 and he charged $45. The hotel doesn' t have a concierge, they have a tour agency attached which helps organized tours but with additional costs added.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Felt pretty typical of a resort Marriott. Lots of big, muscular architecture and furniture in a vaguely of Spanish Colonial style. The overall feeling is way more Disney than authentically Costa Rican.

Room and restaurants were nice and completely predictable.

Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we heard people coming and going during daylight and early-evening hours.

One rather glaring annoyance: the hideous south-of-the-border style techno music blaring from the poolside restaurant actually drove us back onto the long veranda.

NB: This is a very, very, very family-friendly property. The extensive (and lovely) pool was continuously populated by kids and parents of all ages from about 9AM until dark. If you're looking for a quiet couple's getaway, this is probably not your best choice.

Room Tip: Tip: our room was located on the main floor, not far from the porte cochere and bell station, so we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape May Court House, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My buddy & I arrived here after our 2 hour trek from the San Jose airport. We didn't have hotel reservations since our prior engagements informed us that they were booked on the day of our travels (Thanks subpar 1 star Jaco resort). We had money to burn, so we chose this 4 star Marriot since it was on our our path South towards Quepos and Manuel Antonio. We made the right choice. This property is stunning to say the least. I will start by stating that the beach leaves a bit to be desired since it's vacant due to the seclusion of this resort. The patrons prefer the pool, although we loved the warm and calm ocean that rests in the comfort of the adjacent Los Suenos Marina and adjacent islands. This area is the equivalent of Avalon/Stone Harbor in NJ which speaks volumes to the money here. The grounds, massive snaking pools and hotel are phenomenal if you can swing $250-$300/ night minimum. I'm no high roller, but we split the expenses. The food here is also perfect, but I've had better transversing the country during my 3 separate trips down here. The staff is wonderful; the lobby/hotel is breathtaking & the pools/swim-up bars are stellar. You won't go wrong booking some time here, but if you want to see Costa Rica.....do yourself a favor and rent a car. There are volcanoes and scenery abound and our 2 days here were enough before venturing South. Guanacaste is awesome, but the Central Pacific is even better. Make Los Suenos your starting point after your trek from San Jose. Indulge yourself and prepare for the awesome adventure that awaits you due South.

I'd return to this hot, pleasant & goregeous resort in the future. We made a lot of great new friends & memories here, but this place doesn't define CR. Travel to Guanacaste or South towards Manuel Antonio.....you'll see all that CR has to offer :)

Room Tip: Book ocean front if you can; it's much more pricey, but worth your $$!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at the Los Sueños Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort from Jan. 28th through Feb. 5th 2013. We stayed there twice before and will be there end of this year again. The food is always excellent. They have never missed beat. The service is first class with a special and personal friendly touch of the staff. There are three restaurants plus the the garden restaurant and golf clubhouse restaurant. The beach could be cleaned up better so the walking to and on the beach is better. Its a beautiful hotel resort with beautiful grounds with lots of sun and shaded areas and a great pool area. The rooms are great and clean, the beds are very comfortable. There is great excess to special places either with your car or with tours. Unfortunately, there is no Marriott concierge, though the staff is giving great advise on where to go for dinner or excursions. The sunset is great from most of the rooms or the lighthouse. The best sunsets are at the dinner restaurant at Villa Caletas, just spectacular! The Price - Value, service comfort is great. Worth while every time we go there, though we always have our own transportation to get around without going through a travel and tour agency. The country Costa Rica is a great place to be and worth while to explore. Daily visits at this time from Macaws brighten up the stay even more.

Room Tip: get a second floor or higher room with Balcony and ocean view or partial ocean view for great sunset...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed for 9 days at Los Suenos Marriott and had a very good time. This an upscale property with really good service. Yet there a few things missing with this hotel.
first, the positives:
Absolutely beautiful grounds and excellent pool area. There is a small swim bar, good convenient restaurant and friendly waiters to take your drink orders by the pool.
The entire 1,100 acre property is attractively maintained and very lush.
Every staff member was courteous, helpful and provided good advice.
The room with the balcony had a partial ocean view. I would recommend getting a room with a balcony to be able to sit and enjoy the sun setting on Herradura Bay.
The room is big, comfortable with a good shower and tub.

What we found missing from this resort,
There is no
Marriott concierge at this luxury resort. Every guest service is contracted out to an site travel and tour agency.
We could not find a directory or map of the property. There are four restaurants but we only found three of them. We had a hard time finding the casino which is not connected to the hotel.
Travel to a close by marina with nice restaurants involves a long walk in the dark. The hotel doesn't provide a shuttle service.
You cannot get a cup of coffee after 8 pm because the coffee cafe closes at that time.
There are wild iguana all over the property, especially by the pool area.
Finally, where's the beach? The mud and dirt that exists on he beach area just beyond the hotel property is not what you'd expect at a luxury resort.

Costa Rica is a very beautiful country and offers gorgeous sights and ran forests, The Marriott Los Suenos could use some improvements.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This is probably the most beautifully landscaped Marriott property I've stayed at. The grounds are spotless and filled with what look to be native trees and flowers, as well as a large, shaded grassy area with lounges on the way to the beach. The pool is unusual in that it is mostly shallow and winds through seating areas rather than being one central swimming area. Arched walkways over the water provide welcome shade and it was very pleasant to swim. We used the pool quite a bit. There were more than enough lounges, umbrellas and chairs the entire week and the swim up bar is more spacious than most resorts (the drinks were very good). We saw a few people with children and I noticed they have a sandy area for kids and an indoor play room. The property's architecture is quite lovely, with a Spanish influence in style and colors, and the interior common areas are as nice as any I've seen. Our room was a ground floor King with a small patio that we used a lot - note that most of the rooms do not have balconies, so getting a room with a patio was a real treat. The room was large, comfortable and had a very nice bathroom. Everything was in perfect condition and the housekeeper was fantastic. We ate breakfast in the restaurant nearly every day and except for one day, the service there was friendly and fast - the food was good all the time, though pricey as resorts tend to be. We also ordered drinks and food from the outdoor cafe, which was better than other Marriott resort pool dining we've had. The most memorable thing about our stay was the frequent visits from scarlet macaws (they call them Lapas). They are gorgeous and truly spectacular to see. The beach is brown sand, clean, a bit rocky and the waves are small. It is a nice place to walk but at one end it crosses a fresh water brook, so if you don't want to get wet you need to turn around there. If you do cross it, you end up off the resort property at a great spot to watch the sunset in an area of Jaco that has a bar and two restaurants (we ate excellent dinners at Pelicanos there). The marina is a 20-minute walk up the hill and it's interesting to see the boats and talk to the folks who go fishing (from what we learned, the marina boats are substantially more expensive than the boats that go out from Jaco). There are restaurants there but we only ate at the bakery, which was very good. Because my preference is a beach with a long stretch of white sand and big waves, I reluctantly give this resort 4 stars instead of 5. But we will almost certainly stay there again in the future and I recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to a room with a balcony or patio, it's worth it. We used our patio a lot an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.