We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding from the moment we arrived!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Salem, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Outstanding from the moment we arrived!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Trip Advisor is a stellar platform for people to express their pleasure (or displeasure in some cases) for hotels and restaurants. I use it as a resource ALL THE TIME! How anyone could possibly criticize the Los Suenos Marriott in Costa Rica is beyond me! What a beautiful property. My husband and I stayed there 5 years ago and, to be honest, I totally expected our second visit to be a bit of disappointment. We suspected that, perhaps, the resort would present itself as being 5 years older and shows some signs of wear and tear. Well, that was not the case. The resort is taken care of with extreme concern about presentation and guest experience. It is beyond lovely in a country filled with beauty.

We actually sat on our deck (multiple times) and saw flocks of scarlet macaws fly by! I do recommend requestling a deck and paying the extra nightly fee for that - it really does enhance the room. The breakfast buffet was outstanding - never had a better one to be honest.

Special thanks to Alexander (Reception), David (La Vista for breakfast) and Melvin (pool bar). What wonderful representatives for the Marriott specificially and Costa Rica in general. Each of these stellar individuals contributed to an amazing vacation for my husband and I. We cannot wait to return to Los Suenos!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Request a balcony or patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    320
    101
    44
    22
See reviews for
325
419
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I am from Costa Rica and this is the second time I spent in this hotel. Let me tell you, it is absolutely beautiful! The pool is perfect because you can find shadow at all times. The food is good, although it could improve. The cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel in general is impeccable. The location is perfect and Los Sueños in general is a great place. The gym is very nice and clean. Also, you can safely take long walks outside the hotel and appreciate the beauty. Golf course is great. The only real problem I had was with service, especially at the pool bar, which has good food and good drinks, but lacks in service especially for local tourists. I noticed the difference when they attended international tourists and us. They should improve this. Overall it is a great hotel...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Full service, luxury resort on the ocean. Our room was on the nicer side of average with all the standard amenities (robe, TV, internet, balcony) but felt quick sparse due to the requisite clay/tile finishes. The resort has fabulous pool area with multiple pools/bars. Large beach but not super inviting to sit and sun. The ocean on this side of Costa Rica is quite silty due to volcanic activity. I did not get a chance to golf but there is a golf course beside the resort. Lots of little lizards around to play with. Close to beach/surf town Jaco.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed at the hotel, not the condos. The grounds were fantastic. The pool wound around with many beautiful seating areas, and there was wonderfull shade on the green area along the beach. The food was quite good too. Our room was very nice, but not the ocean view our reservation promised, and several in our party had the same issue. The one big drawback, and it was a big one for me, is that there was no balcony to sit in outside the room. That left you sitting in a very nice but ordinary room during any down time. There also were few English language TV stations. The main ones were said to be intermittant, but never were on in our 6 day stay. We watched old sitcoms in English ( Friends and 2 1/2 Men) and had fun practising out Spanish by reading the Spanish subtitles.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Also some people seemed to have had a breakfast included stay.We got a great rate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

First off, this trip was in 2001. This was our first time traveling out of the country and was right after 9/11. This was a gift (Bonus) from my employer and no doubt was very expensive. From the moment we arrived on the resort grounds to the minute we landed back in the US was a top notch experience. The grounds are stunning beautiful. Our room overlooked both the ocean and rain forest. The pool is expansive and well thought out. All the restaurants were top notch. Even the pool bar had great food. We did several excursions on this trip to include zip lining, Jaco Beach for a 5 star dinner and to watch the surfers, another 5-6 star restaurant to is known for the beautiful sunset scene. We also took a catamaran out to a private island for a day which was lovely and top notch food. Will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with both views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We went to Los Suenos to have my daughter's wedding. It was an amazing venue! The rooms were nice and a decent size. The pool is beautiful--the beach is not as nice as further south (Manuel Antonio--a must see) or further north (Guanacaste) but the wedding pictures here were incredible, especially when the son was going down! The food in the banquet room was exceptional!! Those who attended this wedding said they have never had such amazing food--and we have to agree! If you are considering a place for your wedding destination, this should be a consideration. The pictures were amazing--whether at the beachfront, on the grounds or in the lobby. We would highly recommend this for a wedding destination.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BAY SHORE
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Los Suenos is a beautiful resort on the Pacific Ocean. The rooms are lovely. The service is excellent. The pool complex is beautiful.
I would give it five stars except the food is at best mediocre. The restaurants are beautiful, but they all sell overpriced, disappointing food.
La Iguana golf course is challenging, but they need a ranger. I don't mind paying top dollar for resort golf, but I do mind being put behind a SIX-SOME. We skipped a hole to jump ahead and found ourselves behind a FIVE-SOME sharing golf clubs. This is unacceptable. We paid top dollar to play & quit two days in a row because of the pathetic pace of play. One ranger could resolve these infractions.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nicer, but at a price. If you don't get a complimentary upgrade, save you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.