We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Costa Rica Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Save Saved
You added Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Denver, Colorado, United States
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Costa Rica Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Went to this hotel over the Christmas Week. Friendly Staff, Nice Pool, Comfortable Clean Rooms and everyone was helpful. No hidden charges and I would stay here again in a minute. The beach in front of the hotel is good for boating or jet ski, but not swimming. Kind of muddy sand. Go up the road to Villa Caleta to see the sun set. Million dollar view. Manuel Antonio National Park was awesome. Be adventurous and rent a car...the only way to get around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    320
    101
    44
    22
See reviews for
325
419
25
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This resort is set in an upscale development in Los Suenos ,Herradura, Costa Rica. The environment is gorgeous and the hotel lobby is tastefully decorated in a Latin hacienda flair.
I used my Marriott points to trade our 2 nights stay (Dec 30- Jan 1). The 2 rooms assigned to us were pretty standard with very comfortable bedding and clean bathrooms. The sliding glassdoors MUST not be opened due to many tiny flying insects. The tile floors need refurbishing.
Service is fair..not always sure if we were understanding each other (English). You will feel captive there as there' not much choices available. We only ate at the hotel (breakfasts, lunches and dinners) and the food really was not to die for. Did I say the food/drink was expensive? One Imperial Costa Rican beer can costs $6 at the bar. A very small package of Oreo cookies (4 pieces) in the room mini bar was $3. We rented 3 tennis rackets at $10 each for an hour and a half. There was a handful of ordinary looking shops and restaurants (will only take reservation, no walk ins) at the adjacent Marina Village. Not to be outdone by Marriott, the prices were also sky high. We went to church about 2 miles away..cost of shuttle is $18 (party of 5) round trip plus tips. Tour company that is located at the side of hotel operates independently and the staff member (male) was not not friendly at all.
The beaches here are dirty..lots of river rocks and not very well-kept. Florida beaches are better. Cannot come close to Cancun beaches as well.
Unless someone else is paying for my trip here, I will probably not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojochal,
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked into this resort for 2 nights and stayed for 5 nights! We travelled to the southern zone of Costa Rica and wanted to explore the central zone. Once we settled into Los Suenos Marriot we decided not to go further - felt relaxed there - pool is amazing, friendly staff in all areas, great service, food was excellent, golf course was in great shape considering the rainy season just ended. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try to get oceanview if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived late afternoon from a flight into Liberia. We expected this to be a one night stopover on our travels farther south. We left the next morning and headed south. When we arrived at our next destination we found the accommodations to be unsatisfactory. Since we enjoyed our one night at Los Suenos, we decided to return there for our next three nights.

The Marriott Los Suenos is replete with all of the Marriott resort features you would expect – golf, tennis, large pool, etc. We stayed in a Garden Terrace room. This is a first floor room on the ocean side, with a nice covered patio with table, chairs and a hammock.

There are many oceanside rooms (floors 2-4) that have what would be best described as a Juliet balcony (sliding doors with a railing, but no accessible floor space on the balcony). Then there are some rooms that have true balconies. With the vegetation growing between the hotel and beach, I would think that you need to be on the 4th floor to have a good view of the ocean.

The pool is expansive and has many routes to explore. Beach access requires either some tough feet or sandals/surf shoes. While there is nothing exceptional about this beach, there is not a strong surf, making it very swimmable. Like many Costa Rican beaches, the water is clean, but turbid. The sand is soft and a variegated dark brown, let’s call it mocha, and has many pink shells.

The resort is well maintained, and the staff is friendly. The breakfast buffet is very good, with many options, including omelet and waffle stations. The French toast is excellent – try it without any syrup or other topping – it is that good. There is a marina next door offering sport fishing trips. Also there are several other restaurants at the marina.

There is a small strip mall on route 34 where you turn to Los Suenos (about 1 mile from the hotel) where there is a nice grocery store, a Radio Shack, some clothing stores, a Subway and Pizza Hut Express.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Georgeous setting. Ok beach. Very friendly and helpful staff. Very expensive for all food. We enjoyed ourselves at one of the nicest hotel pools we have ever been to. Piko travel right on the beach not affiliated with the hotel arranged all of our outings. He was great.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I has an unplanned 2 night stay. He became ill mid-trip and I wanted a place that had a/c and room service where he could rest. The Marriott was the closest option. We had been staying in more "Costa Rican" places - e.g. Hacienda Baru, Agua Dulce ... so entering the Marriott bubble was almost a physical shock for me (husband was too sick to notice). The hotel is located in a development which could be anywhere USA. On the windows are notices: don't open the windows because you will let humidity and bugs in. It is very much a generic resort. Nothing Costa Rican about it. The pool is large and beautiful, though it doesn't have much in the way of features - e.g. waterslides. The building itself strikes me as a bit brutal in style. The bed was wonderful - good combination of firm and soft. Room was pretty standard Marriott, on the large side. Big flaws: very limited very overpriced food choices - you need a car if you were to stay here for any length of time. The fruit salad in the gift shop, though overpriced, was a life saver. And NOISY corridors. The floors are tiled. Every noise echoes. The housekeeper's cart sounds like an earthquake. One small child's voice can be heard floorwide. All in all - it fit the bill for what we needed, but I wouldn't plan to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The rooms were standard for Marriott - though it's category 7, the room quality is about the same as category 4 or 5 in the US. The facilities are well groomed and the property is quite luxurious in a gated community. The benefit of this was that you didn't have to worry about anyone breaking into your car, which apparently is a common thing.

Herradura doesn't have much, but Jaco is only 5 minutes away by car, and has much more to do and many places to eat. It was fairly easy to find Los Suenos with a GPS, despite it saying to go down an "unpaved road".

We ate in the restaurant our first night because we didn't have the energy to leave the property. The calamari was excellent, but the entrees were so-so. Overall, it was overpriced, but that's not surprising for a Marriott.

The beach isn't a swimming beach, it's more of a marina. Pretty to look at, but not exactly a beachfront resort with activities the way you would normally expect from a resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort

Address: 800 mts West from Herradura Entrance | Playa Herradura, Central Pacific, Herradura 5024005 , Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Herradura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Herradura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Travel & Leisure magazine readers as one of the "World's Best," the Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort is a luxury Costa Rica resort hotel nestled between the warm waters of the Pacific and a 1,100 acre tropical rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean And Golf Resort
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Hotel Herradura
Marriott Los Suenos Ocean Hotel
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort Costa Rica/Herradura

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.